Hyundai Creta 1.6D SX(O) Ownership Review: "It Came, I Saw, We Conquered"

Your welcome sir, 13-14 Kmpl in city is a good mileage for a 1.6L, 126 Bhp engine. And may i know what mods have you planned for the creta.

And what is the most favorite thing in your creta for you.
Just completed a month owning Creata. my first tank approx. says its 13KMPL, will post you after 1st service and yours looks 16KMPL is very kool. hope i get too after 1st service but i drive at kolkata. one of the worst place for traffic.

I didn't add any accessories (really didn't find tym). just added a Silicon Key cover from ebay.

Congrats on your new ride Karthik. A good decision on going for the top end. To answer your questions:

1) Yes, it's there in my car too. I have had aftermarket projectors in all my previous cars and havent noticed this in them.

2) The tank is 55L as per the company. But even I was able to fill around 58L. Is it because of the fuel pipe from the fuel lid to the tank? That can easily accommodate coupe of litres right? But do check this from a different petrol station. Cant trust these stations nowadays.

Hope you are enjoying your ride. And pen down that ownership report so that you can update your progress. [;)]

Thank you Mr. Naveen,

Yeah! just filled with another tank it filled around 58L (the last line is not blinked)

Headlamp sound from where its coming? have you figured out? i felt like something bursting.

I liked your idea of Parcel Tray, even i was thinking that something is loosy at the back. i too figured out the parcel tray noise. i kept the cleaning cloth both side and ridged. i can say that the kulprit is Parcel Tray. i feel Hyundai should comeout with something to fix this.

Hey Guys!

Any one tried Google Auto or Apple Car Play in Creta?

Also while streaming Wynk Music from my iPhone to my car via Bluetooth i am not getting the artiest image... any suggestion/solution????

Thread Starter #123
1st Anniversary update:

Crossed 1 year on July 29th and it's been an awesome 15500 odd kms. Have driven through the length and breadth of Kerala and covered couple of other states too and this alone can substantiate my previous comment ("awesome" driving experience).

Have taken through different terrains (thankfully plenty in our country) and the car didnt even break a sweat.

No fancy upgrades to the car for the first anniversary but give it a deserving wash which was pending for almost 2 monthsand renewed the insurance (struck a pretty good deal - close to 25k).

Here's how it looked like:

IMG_20160729_091941.jpg

And during my drive to Blore:

IMG_20160718_104445.jpg

A proper wash took off few kilos of muck :biggrin:

IMG_20160806_174836.jpg

IMG_20160820_171913.jpg

Pending items:

1) Replace wiper blades - Surprised that it lasted over a year with only one or two streaks occasionally. 2) One quick polish session
3) AVN map updateAll my observations, likes and dislikes have been mentioned after all my trip logs. Didnt want to repeat it again here.

One quick weekend drive:

Completed a 400 km weekend drive to Varkala. Took a different route this time.

Vyttila - Ettumanoor - Manarcad - Puthuppally - Karukachal - Mallapally - Kozhencherry - Adoor - Kottarakkara - Chadayamangalam - Parippally - Varkala

Road was good throughout but narrow at some sections. Ladies didnt appreciate the winding roads though.

My last drive to Varkala consumed 25% of the tank but this time it gulped 50% (the entire trip). A bit longer and not an arrow straight highway like the usual route.

Here are some pictures.

DSC_0023.jpg

DSC_0030.jpg

DSC_0037.jpg

DSC_0048.jpg

DSC_0075.jpg

DSC_0076.jpg

DSC_0080.jpg

DSC_0093.jpg

To sum it up - I am right in saying, "It came, I saw and We conquered: THE ONE"

To sum it up - I am right in saying, "It came, I saw and We conquered: THE ONE"[/QUOTE]

This says it all. Nice photos Naveen. Which resort is this in Varkala?

Crossed 1 year on July 29th and it's been an awesome 15500 odd kms.
Congratulations. Creata is a good vehicle. I like specifically the large head unit.
I attended the Creta Sales Inaugurations of SS Hyundai at Pathanamthitta. They invited me for a test drive.

Completed a 400 km weekend drive to Varkala. Took a different route this time.
Vyttila - Ettumanoor - Manarcad - Puthuppally - Karukachal - Mallapally - Kozhencherry - Adoor - Kottarakkara - Chadayamangalam - Parippally - Varkala

Road was good throughout but narrow at some sections. Ladies didnt appreciate the winding roads though.
When comparing the road conditions from Cherthala to Alleppy, this road is better. NH from Cherthala to Alleppy is horrible. I tried the coastal road (Alleppy sea side road) to bypass this segment. That road is very narrow. Next time will try this route. Road works going on from Chenganassery to Thiruvalla. Thiruvalla-Chengannur is again some road maintenance work going on. You might have covered my place on the way from Kozhencherry to Adoor. Me, located at College Junction, Pathanamthitta.

Thread Starter #126
This says it all. Nice photos Naveen. Which resort is this in Varkala?[/QUOTE]

Thanks a lot. This is Krishnatheeram Ayur resort at Varkala.

When comparing the road conditions from Cherthala to Alleppy, this road is better. NH from Cherthala to Alleppy is horrible. I tried the coastal road (Alleppy sea side road) to bypass this segment. That road is very narrow. Next time will try this route. Road works going on from Chenganassery to Thiruvalla. Thiruvalla-Chengannur is again some road maintenance work going on. You might have covered my place on the way from Kozhencherry to Adoor. Me, located at College Junction, Pathanamthitta.
Ya. Roads are lovely but few sections are narrow and time consuming. But a better alternative.

1st Anniversary update:

Crossed 1 year on July 29th and it's been an awesome 15500 odd kms. Have driven through the length and breadth of Kerala and covered couple of other states too and this alone can substantiate my previous comment ("awesome" driving experience).

Congrats on the anniversary update [clap] Good to know your car is going on well. How is the service experience from Hyundai? And.. can you please compare Creta with your previous cars Vento and Ecosport?

When comparing the road conditions from Cherthala to Alleppy, this road is better. NH from Cherthala to Alleppy is horrible. I tried the coastal road (Alleppy sea side road) to bypass this segment. That road is very narrow. Next time will try this route. Road works going on from Chenganassery to Thiruvalla. Thiruvalla-Chengannur is again some road maintenance work going on.
Driving through the coastal highway is a pain because of poor width roads and overspeeding bikers. Road from Arthunkal Church to Kanichukulangara junction is wider though. Instead of going through the coastal road, go via Mannancherry Muhamma road. It is better to divert from Kalavoor. Roads are good and traffic is somewhat lesser. But be cautious of the cyclists.

Best regards,
Harikrishnan

Thread Starter #129
Congrats on the anniversary update [clap] Good to know your car is going on well. How is the service experience from Hyundai? And.. can you please compare Creta with your previous cars Vento and Ecosport?

Best regards,
Harikrishnan
Thanks Hari. 2 services done. Rates are pretty reasonable and a bit cheaper than Ford (this is the free service). I have compared creta vs ecosport on the first page. Vento stands out in pure german quality and that's it. I wouldnt be the right person to compare sedans to SUVs since I always prefer SUV's. [:D]. BTW, we sold the vento in a year. Replaced that with a Verna AT.

Hello, naveen sir. Newbie here. I hope your creta is serving you well as always.

I need to seek your guidance, and as i cant send you a message, sorry for highjacking your thread with my query.
After going through your Creta ownership thread here and whole 19 pages on T-BHP, i feel you can guide with my conundrum with ease and no bias.

I have two vehicles in mind. They are costing me almost same with max difference of 50 grands. Budget stretched to 11 lacs, earlier it was 9.5 for Trend+ -

Ecosport Diesel Titanium - Fully loaded, powerful diesel, SOLID build quality, driving dynamics, good looks, economical than creta (mileage and maintenance), Keyless entry Go, Lumbar support, Alloy wheels, parking sensors.

Not as spacious as Creta, looses the premium tag/bragging rights (top variant - 11 lacs), jarring ride at low speeds, less plush interiors ( is it? I didnt feel as such), diesel engine new to me.

and, Creta Petrol E+ - has an air of premiumness (price-wise, top variant - 18 lacs), plush interiors? (Didnt feel myself), looks handsome, spacious (rear and boot), familiar with Petrol engine (family owns a Santro), has touchscreen (not a big deal)

E+ doesnt have basic features like Seat-height adjust, telescopic steering, parking sensors, rear defogger, rear wiper, DTE and mileage options in MID, expensive to run (mileage and maintenance), poor steering, iffy driving dynamics over triple digits (bounciness quoted in T-BHP review), poor lumbar support (from reviews), loses out on all Creta USPs - no leather seats, projector lights, navigation system as in top end.
[Parking sensors and Alloy wheels can be had aftermarket but not the other stuff]

From your threads i could conclude that the thing you like the most in Creta is its 1.6 CRDi engine and 6th gear, of which former is not applicable in my scenario. So what do you advise.. Is 1.6 Creta Petrol as capable as 1.5 Ford Diesel or atleast 90% of it?

When we travel long distances, lumbar support becomes an important factor. I have driven my santro (with firm compound) from Bhopal to Nashik (650+ kms) in a day and wasnt tired throughout the journey, though couldnt get up the next morning as it was my first trip, but once did Agra to Gwalior trip (<150 kms) in an i10 (soft compound) and my back was very badly aching at the end of the journey.

Also, I have plans to travel a lot more ala Ladakh, Leh trips so ES torque figures seemed comfortable for that.
So my questions are-
1) Will Creta petrol be as capable for Leh, Ladakh adventures?
2) Is E+ variant worth considering over Titanium?
3) Do people give you way when driving Creta? ..and when you drove Ecosport?

Extremely sorry for so many queries.

Hello, naveen sir. ...
.... ....
Also, I have plans to travel a lot more ala Ladakh, Leh trips so ES torque figures seemed comfortable for that.
So my questions are-
1) Will Creta petrol be as capable for Leh, Ladakh adventures?
2) Is E+ variant worth considering over Titanium?
3) Do people give you way when driving Creta? ..and when you drove Ecosport?

Extremely sorry for so many queries.
I would like to chip in here. My answers:

(1) Petrol Cars should not have breathing trouble at Leh. Few of my colleagues told me they had seen Alto cars in and around Leh. Some diesel cars were found to be stranded there while other diesels didn't have any such problem. BTW, are you going to drive to Leh, every month ??? No need to restrict your choice based on an odd event, IMHO.

(2) I am not the correct person to answer this 2nd Q.

(3) I wanted to answer SPECIALLY for this Question. PLEASE do NOT buy a vehicle with THIS in mind. Now to the answer. I feel that 80% Indian drivers don't have the concept of yielding; they don't care to look at the Mirror and feel, "I am not in a hurry, how can YOU have an URGENT task than me ?? Just follow me". The remaining 20% drivers yield irrespective of the vehicle you are driving. Having said that, I had observed that most 2W, Autorick and Taxi drivers are afraid to cut in front or come too close to a Scorpio / Safari / XUV type of vehicles (tough build). To some extent, I have seen them driving clear of Duster (could be the outward wheel arches). I haven't seen these (2W, Autorick & Taxi) drivers giving a dime for an EcoSport or a Creta.

BTW, they stay clear of any vehicle that costs upwards of 20 Lakhs or old vehicles like Sumo, Tata Estate etc and any vehicle with dents and scratches [;)]

I would like to chip in here. My answers:

(1) Petrol Cars should not have breathing trouble at Leh. Few of my colleagues told me they had seen Alto cars in and around Leh. Some diesel cars were found to be stranded there while other diesels didn't have any such problem. BTW, are you going to drive to Leh, every month ??? No need to restrict your choice based on an odd event, IMHO
Not Leh, every month. But there are lot more places too to visit. Isnt Torque an important parameter for rides in hilly terrain? Sorry for noob question.

(3) I wanted to answer SPECIALLY for this Question. PLEASE do NOT buy a vehicle with THIS in mind. Now to the answer. I feel that 80% Indian drivers don't have the concept of yielding; they don't care to look at the Mirror and feel, "I am not in a hurry, how can YOU have an URGENT task than me ?? Just follow me". The remaining 20% drivers yield irrespective of the vehicle you are driving. Having said that, I had observed that most 2W, Autorick and Taxi drivers are afraid to cut in front or come too close to a Scorpio / Safari / XUV type of vehicles (tough build). To some extent, I have seen them driving clear of Duster (could be the outward wheel arches). I haven't seen these (2W, Autorick & Taxi) drivers giving a dime for an EcoSport or a Creta.

BTW, they stay clear of any vehicle that costs upwards of 20 Lakhs or old vehicles like Sumo, Tata Estate etc and any vehicle with dents and scratches [;)]
I won't ask a point if i didnt find it meaningful in real life. Since i have myself experienced highway-bullying, i consider this a factor too.

And not 2W, Autorick, Taxi giving way but uneducated bullies in their fortuners, scorpios and xuv are what i was hinting towards.

Not Leh, every month. But there are lot more places too to visit. Isnt Torque an important parameter for rides in hilly terrain? Sorry for noob question.

I won't ask a point if i didnt find it meaningful in real life. Since i have myself experienced highway-bullying, i consider this a factor too.

And not 2W, Autorick, Taxi giving way but uneducated bullies in their fortuners, scorpios and xuv are what i was hinting towards.
At high altitudes, the thin air comes into play; less oxygen, more problem for certain Diesel engines. I am unable to pin-point why some Diesel engines struggle while others perform better at high altitudes. Petrol engines find it easy at high altitudes. For normal hill climbing, irrespective of Torque & Car, one will end up shifting between 1st, 2nd and 3rd gears, as other vehicles will bring the speed down.

On highway, many do not bother to give way. Truck drivers (good boys, most of them are) keep to the left and the "lousiest small cargo tri/four-wheelers" prefer to be on the right lane (at 50 kph [frustration] ). Also, many car drivers will stick to the 80 kph legal speed limit. Hence, we need to keep zig-zaging around vehicles. EcoSports (both P&D) has good enough power/torque for this. Once one EcoSports Diesel gave me (& a BMW, I think) company at speeds in excess of 150kph.

BTW, Scorpios will stop bothering you once you cross 120 kph. Most XUVs are driven within 140 kph. The Fortuners ... ... ... they are in a different league. I think you do not need to worry about a Fortuner [;)]

If you are in a < 10 Lakhs car, Fortuners are gone by the time you say 'Fortuner'. I generally drop speed so that the Fortu is gone for good. Mostly the occupants look like they belong to some Political party and the drivers don't enjoy being overtaken. You'll need a proper C-segment sedan like a Verna or City or the likes to outrun a Fortu. But it will catch up in time; 160kph ? No problem for a Fortu. Only when I know the road has some curves, I take on a Fortu. Maja aata.

As you are considering a compact SUV, pls drop Fortu out of your equation. If you still want to force your way forward with shear presence, better get a Duster or a Safari or an XUV or a Fortu.

If you prefer compact dimensions with good engines, go for the EcoSport.

If you want more comfort and one heck of a diesel engine, get the Creta Diesel. You will not be disappointed. Good luck.

Thread Starter #134
From your requirements, I feel it's better to go for the ecosport. It offers better lumbar support and NVH. As you said, Creta offers better comfort than Ecosport but not by a huge margin.

1. It should be capable.
2. I would always suggest the top variant to everyone.
3. Strange question - Havent noticed this and wasnt in my list of requirements :-)

Thread Starter #135
300 km Weekend Drive:

Did a 325 km drive to Vagamon last week. The route and the resort was finalized in August, soon after our Varkala drive so the entire trip was hassle free. The reason why we booked this place.

resort feedback.jpg

The only “not so good” comment was the road to the resort and the ordinary food. And it turned out to be true. The staff, hospitality/service was excellent. The owner was there for the weekend and he too personally took care of us. Wonderful to see such amazing service. Expect us to be see our faces again.

This is the road that we took.

Vytilla – Pala – Erattupetta – Vagamon – Resort

route 1.jpg

Stopped at Eden gardens, Kanjiramattom for breakfast. The place looked pretty new and it was pretty good though expensive. Highly recommended for food, ambience. Service is a bit slow.

eden garden 1.jpg

Source - Google Images

Reached the resort by 1pm. The approach road wasn’t all that bad and I should say, they have invested a lot. The entrance road was a bit rocky but then it was good all the way up to the resort. There were 5 hairpin turns and it was clearly marked with boards, reflectors (along the entire stretch) and a safety convex mirror at each blind curves. Appreciate the owner for doing it.

Some pictures of the resort and the road.

road1.jpg

road2.jpg

road3.jpg

road4.jpg

road5.jpg

roads6.jpg

res1.jpg

Reception and BBQ area

reception and bbq area.jpg

Our home for the weekend and a dedicated parking for both our cars

ourroom.jpg

View from balcony

balview.jpg

Friends Fiesta

fiesta.jpg

The next day took us to Mottakkunnu, Suicide point and Kuttikanam. Decided to skip Pine forest as it was crowded. Some pictures

day1.jpg

day2.jpg

day3.jpg

day4.jpg

day5.jpg

day6.jpg

day7.jpg

day8.jpg

day9.jpg

day10.jpg

day11.jpg

day12.jpg

day13.jpg

day14.jpg

day15.jpg

day16.jpg

day17.jpg

Our return drive was through Muttom – Thodupuzha which was amazing.

route2.jpg

Here are some pictures of the route.

return1.jpg

return2.jpg

return3.jpg

return4.jpg

return5.jpg

return6.jpg

And like always, few parting shots

part1.jpg

part2.jpg

part3.jpg