Honda Brings Mobilio To Take on Maruti Suzuki Ertiga (Details From Pg.18)

I upgraded horn from the dealer itself, Roots vibrasonic. I'm a bit sceptical about headlamp upgrade, worried about warranty.

I doubted that about City, I had a oncoming city with high beams on. Vento's headlamps are also just average, but when i switched on high beam, City's headlamps wasnt a bother to my eyes at all, which happens very rarely for me with other vehicles.

I guess Honda's doesn't do good reflectors. I would rate Toyota at the top, first it was Qualis and then Innova and I hear that Etios also has good headlamps.

The Honda Mobilio

Hi everyone,

As some of you may know I've been out of the country for a couple of months now. Since I haven't been able to keep abreast of this myself, I just wanted to know: How is the Honda Mobilio doing in the market? I know quite a few people back home who are still interested in that car but were waiting for the market response first.

Thanks!

Re: The Honda Mobilio

Hi everyone,

As some of you may know I've been out of the country for a couple of months now. Since I haven't been able to keep abreast of this myself, I just wanted to know: How is the Honda Mobilio doing in the market? I know quite a few people back home who are still interested in that car but were waiting for the market response first.

Thanks!
It is doing well at the moment selling about 5k units each month. Expect it to continue the momentum and will sell at constant 4-5k units each month IMO. Ertiga & Innova are also selling 5000 units/ month. Negatives of Mobilio will not stop people from buying it because it too has some very positives like Efficient Engines, Good Drivability, Space, Snob Value, Good ASS.

Re: The Honda Mobilio

Hi everyone,

Thanks!
As rightly said by nishant, Mobilio is touching 5k every month in sales. But the last month sales figure shows a decline for its sale for various reasons. But despite poorly built with non-premium interiors, it will sell purely because of 'H' badge on it [;)]

Though being a City owner and a Honda admirer, I wanted that the Mobilio failed in the market if they had to price it like that (into the City territory). The Brio platform and the built is acceptable upto an Amaze (even that reaches 8.5lacs OTR easily) as cost is a more important factor there but when they priced the mobilio like that I just wanted to see it fail so that Honda maintains its quality in the next product that it launches. Honda is a premium brand and vehicles with such kind of build is not acceptable in a Honda at that price point (no doubt that the mobilio is good in itself and that reflects in the sales as well). It doesn't take very long to lose loyalty and brand following in a ever-changing market like India.

Very true indeed!
Honda is downgrading the quality & premium factor (Amaze, Mobilio) it was known for these years. New City looks premium but is not strongly built like Vento or Rapid.
At other end we have Tata (Zest, Bolt, Storme), Mahindra (XUV, New Scorpio), Maruti (Ciaz) improving their quality & making their new cars more premium, which may change fortunes for them in next few years.

Wake up Honda!!!

Is the Mobilio build quality that poor? I wasn't expecting that from Honda! Since Honda was historically famous for solid build quality, I guess this will seriously affect their reputation!

Mobilio is based on Brio platform which is not a premium hatch and sits below Swift/Polo/i20 etc. Had it been priced lower (say 1.5 lakhs variant to variant) , this quality was somehow acceptable. But, they have priced it insanely and commanding premium only for the 'H' badge [frustration]

^^ Even I was wondering, how people paying such money accept such an product from a leading brand. Initially I was keen on getting Amaze, but after looking it at flesh, I dropped my plans. I felt like I am sitting in my Alto again. Too bland and bare for the price they demand. And I was even more shocked when I see they carry over this trend to mobilio, where Ertiga and even Xylo is kicking ass.

Ouy Xylo E6 Anniversary Edition costed us 10L. But mobilio with not much space and options, comes closer and even cross this. I seriously think people should teach Honda a lesson, by boycotting Brio-platform based low quality cars, so that they come to their senses and give us some good options.

Had it not been for thin metal sheet, I was so close in buying City/Amaze, but ended up with Xcent, which has enough bells and whistles to keep my happy.

Will be booking my Mobilio Idtec E by this week end
Congrats for your purchase. But one question, do you seriously consider buying this by thinking it can accomodate 7 people? Or any particular reason?

If to accomodate 7 people, you can get Xylo 2014 D4 model at same price. Just an opinion.

Congrats for your purchase. But one question, do you seriously consider buying this by thinking it can accomodate 7 people? Or any particular reason?

If to accomodate 7 people, you can get Xylo 2014 D4 model at same price. Just an opinion.
I think the Xylo is no match for Mobilio in terms of Dynamics & Fuel Economy. And Xylo is a UV and Mobilio is MPV. Mobilio has some very good positive's (Space, Ride& Handling, Space, Fuel Efficiency, Outstanding Engines, Features) these are enough to make buyers tempted to get one. SandeepJohn is also one of them.

Light Build aside (which Japanese car has heavy/tough build ?) the Mobilio is a very decent package IMO. I am seeing a lot of them on road particularly RS versions. RS version costs around 14 lakhs in Karnataka and some might say why not add another 1 lakh and get Mid Spec Innova ? Here the question is not about getting a better product, its about getting the best product(Having maximum Pro's) in you're price range.

One thing is for sure, amongst all cars we have bought, Toyota & Honda have been the most reliable. Maruti isn't the No.1 according to our ownership experience.

Its mostly for 4 adults and 2 kids, with long drives for vacations abt 1500km per trip.

Will be booking my Mobilio Idtec E by this week end
Congrats! Hope you have driven it by now and you know all Pros & Cons. Each individual has different choice and if you liked Mobilio, go with it.

I think the Xylo is no match for Mobilio in terms of Dynamics & Fuel Economy.
And Mobilio (98 BHP, 200Nm torque) is no match for Xylo (120 BHP, 280Nm torque) when it comes to performance.
Also Mobilio is no match for Xylo when it comes to space inside.
Both cars have their respective strengths, and its up to the individual to choose the one, as per requirement.

Mobilio has some very good positive's (Space, Ride& Handling, Space, Fuel Efficiency, Outstanding Engines, Features)
When did the 'Decent Engine' become 'Outstanding Engine'? so, what should we call to Mhawks & Aria engines? 'Super-Outstanding' may be?

And Features? Which features are you talking about? Do they justice in a 13 lakh car?

Light Build aside (which Japanese car has heavy/tough build ?)
Really? What about Fortuner? Corolla? and even SX4? Are they poorly built?

the Mobilio is a very decent package IMO.
Agree that Mobilio is a decent package but prices really went wrong. I for sure am not ready to spend 13+ lakhs on a Brio based MPV., when I have better options in the market.

One thing is for sure, amongst all cars we have bought, Toyota & Honda have been the most reliable. Maruti isn't the No.1 according to our ownership experience.
Agree on this. Toyota stands as a most reliable brand but not sure about Honda as there are many recent recalls & issues with their cars.

Note: I'm not against Honda, in fact I was huge fan of their cars like City, Civic, Accord & Jazz due to quality, comfort & premium nature that they possessed. But, its unfortunate to see the same manufacturer compromising on those parameters in some of their new cars (but no difference in the cost) and I fear the trend may continue[cry]