Honda Brings Mobilio To Take on Maruti Suzuki Ertiga (Details From Pg.18)

Mobilio Display at LULU Mall Edapally, Ernakulam.

A Mobilio show cased at LULU Mall, Edapally Ernakulam. They provided detailed information about the vehicle, and quiz on product specification etc.

20140718_143328.jpg

I had the opportunity to check out the Mobilio at the Maharastra Times auto expo at Pune over the weekend.
My overall impression is that Mobilio is really not an MUV, it is really an "Estate" version of the Brio/Amaze. If you look at it from THAT perspective, the shape and the dimensions feel ok.

But the moment you compare it with an Ertiga, then the things go wrong.

The Ertiga is taller, wider and has definitely a MUCH BETTER build quality than the Mobilio. The Mobilio seats in the 2nd and 3rd row are purely utilitarian, and I dont think they will provide any comfort to the passengers other than legspace in the 2nd row. But then again, think of Mobilio as an estate version of Amaze and you wont feel too bad.
Boot space with 3rd row folded and rolled up felt actually quite poor to be honest. They talk about 520 litres, but it feels a bit hemmed in because the dimensions get even narrower in the rear, and the 3rd row armrests intrude into the lateral space (width).
And I would seriously think twice before putting in heavy luggage in the boot, I am sure the sheet metal would strain under the load, thats how wafer thin it feels.
And to demand 2lakh over Ertiga on this one is seriously a JOKE. The Salesperson from Honda said," its a Honda brand sir" !!..and the look from me and another gent , on this statement, had him scurrying for cover to avoid us.

The Ertiga is taller, wider and has definitely a MUCH BETTER build quality than the Mobilio. Boot space with 3rd row folded and rolled up felt actually quite poor to be honest.
And to demand 2lakh over Ertiga on this one is seriously a JOKE. The Salesperson from Honda said," its a Honda brand sir" !!..and the look from me and another gent , on this statement, had him scurrying for cover to avoid us.
The Ertiga is wider, taller no doubt. But, Mobilio being shorter will have its part to play on Dynamics front with less body roll. The one you might have seen is the media stage car, the production version which i saw in showroom did not have any bad finishes that we saw in media cars.

Sheet Metal is thin because to increase efficiency. It doesn't mean that car will not survive crash. Sheet metal will not save people, but its the crumple zones and other internal bits which saves. Again having owned so many cars, i will say that Fit & Finish of Honda cars are better then its rivals. Majority will not agree on this unless they buy a Honda car. Criticizing is easier while justifying is tougher and has more meaning when done.

Now coming to the premium pricing. Maruti Suzuki will price its products lower compared to rivals always. When that happens, the new car when launched(Mobilio) seems overpriced. I will fully support Honda for its pricing. In coming months, I'll can see Ciaz being priced considerably lower then City. When that happens, people will say that City is very expensive without even bothering to have a glance at it. This is Indian's mentality. And to get a product successful, Maruti must price the cars lower then it rivals. If it doesn't then that car is a flop(Ex. Estilo,Astar,Ritz,Versa,SX4,Kizashi,Baleno,GrandVitara,).

Yesterday saw it for the first time, from the first despatches on road.White mobilio.
Overall looked smaller compared to Ertiga.Did not appealed from outside.
Didnt had chance to see the interiors and space.

Indian mentality is to accept average design cars just because of the brand. It happened with Maruti, now Honda.
Internationally Honda cars are terrific.I have owned both a Civic and an Accord abroad. Mobilio or City are nowhere in terms of build quality , fit finish. Only Jazz, i thought, was a well built car.

Now coming to the premium pricing. Maruti Suzuki will price its products lower compared to rivals always. When that happens, the new car when launched(Mobilio) seems overpriced. I will fully support Honda for its pricing. In coming months, I'll can see Ciaz being priced considerably lower then City. When that happens, people will say that City is very expensive without even bothering to have a glance at it. This is Indian's mentality. And to get a product successful, Maruti must price the cars lower then it rivals. If it doesn't then that car is a flop(Ex. Estilo,Astar,Ritz,Versa,SX4,Kizashi,Baleno,GrandVitara,).
Buddy, nobody would have questioned overpricing if the quality was at par for Mobilio. Had Honda used the city interiors and the features, these prices could have justified the reasons being costly. But unfortunately, Honda has produced a poorly built Mobilio(comparing City/Jazz standards) and charging it like a premium MUV which it is not. Just because it is Honda doesn't mean it has to be premium. Brio, Amaze & Mobilio are not premium range of cars unlike City or Jazz.
And remember, Honda City's pricing was spot on and justified with a long feature list and the overall styling thus it is pulling numbers.

Excuse me, but I personally feel that the City itself isn't good enough to be a Vento/Rapid rival.
It had too much cost cuttings for a 13 lac C segment sedan, just to increase the list of equipment.
The Mobilio too has the same problem. Being, almost 3 lacs costlier than ERTIGA, why does it have so much cost cuttings and why so less equipment? All SA saying the same reason, "It's a Honda and premium brand image". If they are so premium, why can't they give better quality? Why can't they justify their pricing?

The Ertiga is wider, taller no doubt. But, Mobilio being shorter will have its part to play on Dynamics front with less body roll. The one you might have seen is the media stage car, the production version which i saw in showroom did not have any bad finishes that we saw in media cars.

Sheet Metal is thin because to increase efficiency. It doesn't mean that car will not survive crash. Sheet metal will not save people, but its the crumple zones and other internal bits which saves. Again having owned so many cars, i will say that Fit & Finish of Honda cars are better then its rivals. Majority will not agree on this unless they buy a Honda car. Criticizing is easier while justifying is tougher and has more meaning when done.

You'll just say anything to defend honda. "Sheet metal is thin to increase mileage", what company will do this. I guess chinese cars would have double the mileage figures if what you said is true.

About the pricing point , you didn't explain why honda is charging a premium but you said maruti will always launch car at lower prices. What does this have to do with mobilio's pricing ?

If you can guess that this is a maruti strategy to sell more cars , don't you think honda have some great minds as well to think of this.

It clearly looks like Honda thought they can get a premium based on the engine and design, there seems no other reason why one should not chose Ertiga over Mobilio. Not much seem to stack in favour of Honda

Got my first car delivered, SMT-iDtec . Drove straight away 800kms in my first trip. Achieved 23kmpl mileage mark. Average of 22kmpl sounds good. Feels well balanced. Easy maneuverability. 90% satisfied. 10% for not providing the 6th gear to achieve the above figures in 100kmpl.

Congrats Kalkis. You might be the first TAIger to own this MPV.
Between, how was the A/C usage during your drive? Do you mean to say engine felt strained above 100 speed and that the 6th gear would have helped?

Congrats Kalkis. You might be the first TAIger to own this MPV.
Between, how was the A/C usage during your drive? Do you mean to say engine felt strained above 100 speed and that the 6th gear would have helped?
Thanks AutoRock. I didn't mean exactly that. I felt that it would have helped to cruise @ 100kph in the highways and make more interesting to drive. Just to keep the rpms well below 2000rpms. The engine felt OK. At 80kmph. AC was ON for 90% of time.

Congrats on your new ride Kalkis.

We are awaiting for your thread which would include the complete episode with price break-up and dealership experience.

Meanwhile, do post some interior pics, and your initial feedback, especially on the NVH level.

Enjoy your ride. Safe drive and seat belts on! Happy Revving.