Renault Kwid Now Launched @ Rs.2.56 Lakh

Maybe tata should cut zest prices as much as possible ?
Tata Zest ? Is it a rival to the Kwid ? One is a Compact sedan and another one is hatch, one costs 2.5-3.5 lakhs, other costs 5.5-7.5 lakhs yet they are compared. I can't believe the statement quoted above in context to the actual car in this thread.

Tata Zest is , perhaps the best compact sedan there is in the market, Figo Aspire and its 14in wheels notwithstanding. Now, to compare it with the new K(w) id on the block, well!!
But glad to know that Renault has a pleasant problem of 25000 bookings , for a change. They should not mess up on this build up and deliver a well performing product in the A-segment.

Tata Zest ? Is it a rival to the Kwid ? One is a Compact sedan and another one is hatch, one costs 2.5-3.5 lakhs, other costs 5.5-7.5 lakhs yet they are compared. I can't believe the statement quoted above in context to the actual car in this thread.
i meant what Tata can do to sell zest like hotcakes [frustration]

even if they reduce the price it will not sell like hotcake. i understand that the kwid might be far better looking than Alto or Alto 800 or it may also be far better in looks compared to EON but lets not compare it with the sedans. that would be an overkill

Guys yesterday I visited the Renautlt dealership of Gurgaon just to have a look at Kwid. For 4 lac rupees, asking anything more than what Kwid offers will be greediness.

1) Awesome cabin space and space management for the size
2) Good ergonomics and the touch screen looks appealing, fit and finish is also well acceptable; so is plastic quality (It's a 4 lac car)
3) Doors, bonnet and boot; all seem to be acceptably well built; better than Alto for sure
4) BOOT - its so big that I guess only Jazz can better it. One detail I noticed, when you open the boot then the black part of tail lights where the bolts are placed; it has Renault written over there and looks really nice.

All in all, a brilliant entry level family car for a family of 3-4 medium sized adults.

Seats are good and well padded and so is seating space as well as headroom and legroom.

Still if this car fails then; no offence to anyone but Indians then deserve the Maruti only.

IMPORTANT POINT:
Maruti Suzuki sales people (Mostly untrained; heck,they seldom know about the car they sell) are habitual of showroom flooding with customers and hence you won't find them arrogant or ignoring. But such instances do run into the head of the sales people of brands like Renault.
When I reached dealership; literally no one came to greet or even ask what the hell I was there for. Approached the reception and told them that I am here to see a Kwid (Recently I and my cousin saw Figo and Polo; believe me, those guys treated us like kings) and the girl said "bahar khadi hai, jake dekh lo..ladka bhi wahi hai (Its parked outside, go and see. Saled guy is also there)". Ignoring her, I went to see the Kwid (I am more interested in car, not the girl of guy or their attitude after all) and the guy was resting inside the car :biggrin:
Soon he showed me the car and said "sir book today only else the bookings will close". There is tremendous response and you will get the car in 4-5 months. I asked "Yaar Maruti sells more Alto car every month than the umber of bookings you have, still 5-6 months and bookings closure". H was like "sir badhiya gaadi hai, hath se nikal jayegi (Sir its a good car, book now else you may not get one)". Ignoring him, I saw the car and left the place.

Vipul sir ! I am looking forward for a test drive review with pics from you. And, the behaviour of sales guys vary from showroom to showroom. I went to a local Renault showroom, they treated me totally very well, though they were yet to get a display car.

Thanks for sharing the sales experience @TSIVipul. Statements like "sir badhiya gaadi hai, hath se nikal jayegi" are just utterly unwise and shows that the sales person is trying to sell it by hook of crook. What is it... share market? It also shows that how is that showroom's ASS is going to be. Renault Engineers have done their jobs in their cabin.. Now the management should get out of their cabins and hit the road to improve on their Sales and ASS.

@Udit:
Saarji no need of 'sir', that makes me feel a part of oldie gang.
I have clicked only two pics of the Kwid and none of them came right :biggrin:

1. Boot - I know I have to be on front right seat but this boot is the biggest USP of this mini family car IMO.
  2. Front seats: I am having a medium or maybe slightly lesser build with 5'10.5" height. The front seats felt well padded and supportive to me. In fact it won't be overdone IMO if I call the front seats better than Celerio or i10 (not Grand). The seat base, bolstering and shape; all felt just fine.
  3. Although I haven't hit the roads but the driving position felt really good. No doubt that the all round visibility of a Maruti 800 is still missed (in every car, that little giant had its low placed dash and window line near perfectly set for visibility , be it close or far)
  4. Steering looks good and feels fine to hold (sorry guys but I have littleexperience of cars from this segment) but is designed well, is chunky and well shaped too. Horn pad I liked, I don't think it will be out of reach for even the smallest thumbs despite of being centrally focussed. The thick rimmed wheel won't need anything more than a fine leather outer cover and it will start feeling special I can bet.
  5. Legroom, legroom and legroom. I have been into the rear seats of Polo, Swift, Wagon R, A Star and Alto K10 Auto(an awesome hatchback I must say, super practical, easy to drive and super chuckable) but with the front seat adjusted to my driving position; the rear legroom was well comparable to what I got in Polo, Swift DZire, Wagon R, maybe it was not better but it wasn't lesser either. Renault deserves a thumbs up for the seating arrangement.
  6. The center console is upright set (ala SUVish) and the touchscreen seems to be perfectly placed. Some may call it an overdone but I found the placement of the touchscreen better than that of my Corolla. It's located at near perfect height and I really doubt if anything is uncomfortably placed.

Some Details I liked:
1) I liked the volume control button on the touch screen. It works with a very positive feel.
2) Those A/C vents felt really nice. Unique design but feel upmarket. Still I guess those are a bit flimsy built.
3) Variant badging on the rear door looks quite good. I personally liked it.
3) The bonnet opening lever felt nice. Nothing like that age old and flimsy built bonnet opening levers.l as we get to see in Maruti, Hyundai etc in which I am always sceptical if it will open the bonnet or get wrecked :tongue:
4) cubbyholes and gloveboxes, a lot of 'practical' storage space in cabin.
5) Power window buttons are well positioned. They are on the center console but are not oddly placed like in Mahindra SUVs. They are really easy to reach and anyone habital of driving with one hand on gear lever will find them just 2-3 inches away from his fingers.

Suggestions to Renault:
1) In the interior pack, please add a chrome Renault steering logo + a nice thin leather steering cover.
2) A new leather wrapped gear lever tip will make for a wonderful option.
3) Hide the rear suspension mounts in the boot with the carpetting or some other way. They look a bit odd and this is something that won't cost even 500 bucks.

Who should buy:
1) College students, I really cant think of a reason for why thus car won't suit them.
2) First time buyers, a good alternative to Alto and Eon offering more bang for buck.
3) A second car for city runabouts
4) Tight budget poor road hero, I guess its GC is really high. A short wheelbase will just add more to effectiveness.

Rest going by my experience, a price hike of anything between 20-30k will be following soon. Why so? I am still unable to digest the too end variants. It seems to be to good to be true actually.

@Sarkar:
IMO Renault needs to work on the sales staff now. No matter how good the car is, but some people are let off by this attitude only. Others are a stubborn breed like us though, who believes in living with the car; not the sales guy (I won't write 'or girl' here) :biggrin:

Checked out kwid today. The white colour gives it a nice road presence and doesn't look economy class at all. This particular car had minimum accessories like chrome on grill and around all the lights. The doors close with a decent thud and they sounded more like wagonR's. The clutch seemed very light with a short travel and the gear movement was very smooth with no play.

The single wiper unit was the only thing I didn't like on the Kwid, Is anyone checked the functionality of the single wiper, in Etios/Liva it is doing the duty well.

TSIVipul, would you suggest Kwid as an upgrade from the Alto, even the engine size is same though

@Rakesh:
Sirji that is one of the toughest question I have ever faced. Alto is a steady steed which is already well proven too. Good FE, low maintenance and a very competent A.S.S.

I have driven an Alto LXi for around a complete week back in 2012. In fact even took the Alto on a long drive too (highway + hills). Of course the vehicle feels under powered at times and really needs some throttle inputs to keep the vehicle moving. Still on the highways I managed to get 20+ kpl FE on the highway doing 70-90 kph for whole time.

Kwid may look promising (more promising) but as an upgrade from Alto, IMO it won't fit. I remember driving a K10 AMT that costs around 4.2 - 4.3 lac OTR. Alto K10 now gets a better interior, a better all round visibility (Kwid has thicker pillars and a rising window line), internally adjustable ORVMs, 1000 cc potent engine and above all is an auto tranny. I really doubt if Kwid can match this one at the price.

A better upgrade from Alto for 25-50% budget rise IMO can be a K10 VXi or K10 VXi AMT or a Celerio. Kwid can be an option of Alto but not of K10, rest a TD will confirm.

Checked out kwid today. The white colour gives it a nice road presence and doesn't look economy class at all. This particular car had minimum accessories like chrome on grill and around all the lights. The doors close with a decent thud and they sounded more like wagonR's. The clutch seemed very light with a short travel and the gear movement was very smooth with no play.
Thank you for sharing the pics ksdr, this vehicle in these pics itself looks more upmarket as you describe, can't wait to see it on the roads.

Can we safely assume this a winner like duster?

The single wiper unit was the only thing I didn't like on the Kwid, Is anyone checked the functionality of the single wiper, in Etios/Liva it is doing the duty well.
The single wiper though it stays "Single" The wiper blade is huge enough to clear the viewable area as I'd seen in a colleague's liva, not really a thing to worry about.

TSIVipul, would you suggest Kwid as an upgrade from the Alto, even the engine size is same though
This is a practical upgrade if the budget is set <4.5-5 lakhs, if it's more than 5, suggest you look for other contenders with bigger engines. Because performance wise I don't see this a winner in front of Alto.

Kwid may look promising (more promising) but as an upgrade from Alto, IMO it won't fit. I remember driving a K10 AMT that costs around 4.2 - 4.3 lac OTR. Alto K10 now gets a better interior, a better all round visibility (Kwid has thicker pillars and a rising window line), internally adjustable ORVMs, 1000 cc potent engine and above all is an auto tranny. I really doubt if Kwid can match this one at the price.

A better upgrade from Alto for 25-50% budget rise IMO can be a K10 VXi or K10 VXi AMT or a Celerio. Kwid can be an option of Alto but not of K10, rest a TD will confirm.

Alto AMT doesn't come at that price. In Pune, it costs around Rs.4.7 lakhs onroad, that too without Music system. I think the Kwid makes for a good Alto replacement. It offers much more space than the ultra-cramped Alto. The Top-end has decent features too. Kwid's 800cc engine is more powerful than Alto's 800 cc unit & with higher power-to-weight ratio, performance could be better too. All this along with the terrific looks for just under or about Rs. 4 lakhs is a terrific deal.