Maruti Suzuki Baleno Premium Hatchback Now Launched

re: Suzuki's New Premium Hatchback Baleno Coming Up!Now Launched

If this is the official brochure , how are the mileage figures given as "TBD"?[:)]
Should be a version made before official figures were announced or they never really meant to reveal the efficiency figures before public launch.

[:)] first of all thx for the brochure buddy , i thought of booking jazz cvt , [roll] but then i have seen baleno in Frankfurt auto show , and some said that even cvt is available in baleno with air bags and abs as default( as my budget is around 8.8 L for which i can buy s cvt jazz does not come with airbags) , i kept jazz on hold and went to nexa showroom and pre booked it , i pre booked it because some of my frnds told that there are only two nexa showrooms in hyderabad and you may have to wait for a long time to get vehicle if vehicle is a hit , after talking to relationship manager about booking amount that is 11k , and also about refund if i don't like the car ( he said he will be issuing cheque on the name of booking person if i don't like the car)

But now i think i made a mistake , first of all cvt is only available in delta variant [frustration] , no driver seat height adjustment , and lot missing , but most annoying thing is with head Lamps , there are no projecter lamps even i thought replacing stock lamps them with projecter lamps ( it costs additional 34 k , as s cross projecter lamps are 17 k each and i think it will be almost same for baleno) , i called them they have no idea when these projecter head lamps will be available in accessories department , they said that it may take at least 40 days from the date of release of the car

At least they have released CVT in higher variant , i think i am going to cancel my booking if projecter lamps are not available

[:)] first of all thx for the brochure buddy , i thought of booking jazz cvt , [roll] but then i have seen baleno in Frankfurt auto show , and some said that even cvt is available in baleno with air bags and abs as default( as my budget is around 8.8 L for which i can buy s cvt jazz does not come with airbags) , i kept jazz on hold and went to nexa showroom and pre booked it , i pre booked it because some of my frnds told that there are only two nexa showrooms in hyderabad and you may have to wait for a long time to get vehicle if vehicle is a hit , after talking to relationship manager about booking amount that is 11k , and also about refund if i don't like the car ( he said he will be issuing cheque on the name of booking person if i don't like the car)

But now i think i made a mistake , first of all cvt is only available in delta variant [frustration] , no driver seat height adjustment , and lot missing , but most annoying thing is with head Lamps , there are no projecter lamps even i thought replacing stock lamps them with projecter lamps ( it costs additional 34 k , as s cross projecter lamps are 17 k each and i think it will be almost same for baleno) , i called them they have no idea when these projecter head lamps will be available in accessories department , they said that it may take at least 40 days from the date of release of the car

At least they have released CVT in higher variant , i think i am going to cancel my booking if projecter lamps are not available
True, baleno delta cvt variant looks like a bloated swift. It doesn't get any of the looks which alpha variant has not even as an accessory. No projectors, no color MID, no touch screen ICE. These 3 are the highlights of baleno. I think they should price baleno cvt at around 6.75-7.00 lakh ex showroom. I liked the looks of alpha but, I want an automatic. I might have to look back to my enthusiast choice of gt tsi, if Suzuki doesn't give even projectors as accessory. By the way 34k for projectors seems like a lot to me.

See! Maruti has got it wrong. I saw the Maruthi executive speaking yesterday and overemphasizing on value. He was speaking that to drive volumes and provide better pricing they are offering the automatic only in the delta variant and later if will be upgraded to better variants. Roni's comments emphasize the sentiments of almost all prospective CVT buyers. They are in the market to get an automatic premium hatchback and they want all the features in the car and they very well that costs will go up a bit because of the CVT gearbox and they don't mind paying some more money for the features when they are already paying a lot of money for the car ! People are wrll informed Maruti ! Whom are you trying to fool by offering the CVT on a lower variant anf showing that prices are less ? Why are they not understanding this ? Ridiculous it is!

Here is the executive speaking about value.
Maruti wheels in Baleno - Bloomberg TV India

It feels like the baleno would definitely look much better and non swift like when we see it in flesh. Those projectors are a must though for that.

Maruti-Suzuki-Exterior-58901.jpg

Source: CarWale

Motown India First Drive Road Test review

Only premium vehicles are to be sold through these Nexa outlets and the first one to plonk itself there was the S-Cross. The S-Cross is premium when it comes to features, road handling and driving ease, but when it comes to styling it’s a bit on the “wanting” side.

On the looks front, the Baleno is appetizingly awesome. The design is fresh, smart and absolutely stunning. By Maruti’s standards, it’s a major leap forward. The design of the Baleno is based on a concept that is termed “Liquid Flow”. Does that ring a bell? Of course, Maruti’s closest competitor Hyundai has a design concept known as “Fluidic Design” for its cars. This is “Liquid Flow” and it’s equally compelling.

The design of the Baleno is extremely refreshing, whether it is the exterior or the interior. The curving lines, the bold shoulders and the overall flowing design of the Baleno give it a very dynamic and energetic look and feel. Premium-ness comes naturally to this car.

I got to drive all the three variants. Each of them impressed me. The CVT, I presume is for those interested in safe and easy driving. It does not have the bull power like the others in terms of driving. The CVT eases your acceleration but gives you tremendous comfort while driving in thick of traffic.

The interiors are uncomplicated with a premium black shade with silver ornamentation. The dashboard is clutter free and its looks are enhanced by the multi-information speedometer display. The 4.2 inches colour TFT displays information like clock, average speed, the engine’s torque and power, fuel efficiency, etc. Then there is the SmartPlay Infotainment system with a 7-inch touch screen display that accommodates what is known as an Apple CarPlay system.

Once seated you become aware of the space that has been created for your comfort. There is ample shoulder room and a lot of leg room. The boot space is incredible with 339 litre of storage. As for other storage space for your bottles and other knick knacks, there is plenty of it built all along the doors as well as the central armrest.

Coming to the exteriors, the Baleno has been built on an all new generation platform which is lighter and stronger, almost 100kg lighter and 10pc stronger than the existing one in this category.

Safety too has been given a lot of priority in this car. With this new generation platform, one can be rest assured of better strength, rigidity, crash performance and NVH. Built on Suzuki’s Total Effective Control Technology (TECT), the Baleno comes with crumple zones which absorb energy in the event of an impact, while the body frame disperses the impact energy away from the cabin. As standard fitment there are great features like dual airbags, seatbelts with pre-tensioners and force limiters, front disc brakes with Antilock Brake System (ABS) with Electronic Brakeforce Distribution (EBD).

The driving experience too was very satisfying. With both the petrol as well as the diesel powertrains, I could experience the right power and torque as we drove along straight and winding roads. The acceleration is good and at higher speeds, the vehicle stability too is remarkable. The NVH levels have been perfectly fine tuned because despite the potholes and bad roads, the quiet cabin conditions were impressive. When it comes to the CVT, it may feel a tad slow on the take but then CVTs are supposed to work that way, providing a jerk free acceleration and a smooth ride. As it automatically shifts gears and moves ahead, the car picks up speed with considerable ease. If you are looking at very zippy rides then the petrol and diesel manual mates are good. But if you are looking for a more hard core city driving through a maze of traffic every day of your life, then it’s definitely an automatic for you. The car feels well planted on the road even at high speeds and the steering is adequately responsive and does not snatch away the fun of steering, despite it being an electric assisted one. As for the sharp corners and turns and even the potholes, the car handles smartly and the McPhersons and torsion beams balance things well. With ABS and EBD being a standard feature, one can be assured of good and effective braking. Every which way, the Baleno is bound to impress you and could perhaps be the game changer for Maruti Suzuki when it comes to premium vehicles.

Source: Maruti Suzuki Baleno First Drive Road Test review - Motown India

The Nexa Baleno page has been updated with a 360° view of the car in the Ray blue colour.
Nexa - Baleno 360° view

its time hyundai should feel some competition as they have been increasing the prices like anything because they know there is no real competition.

my friend bought the i20 last year when it was launched at 7.66(Asta diesel)ex showroom chandigarh
now the same variant is priced at 8.08 lakhs ex showroom(this translates into 42k increase since its launch on 22 September 2014)

now further prices have been increased.if the new maruti suzuki baleno does make some dent on elite i20 sales then hyundai will be forced to give some discounts on the elite.

considering baleno is a MARUTI it will be a hit only if maruti does not price it premium which seems to be the theme of the year as hyundai creta and maruti scross both were the biggest launches of the year and both of them have disappointed us with the pricing.

its time hyundai should feel some competition as they have been increasing the prices like anything because they know there is no real competition.

my friend bought the i20 last year when it was launched at 7.66(Asta diesel)ex showroom chandigarh
now the same variant is priced at 8.08 lakhs ex showroom(this translates into 42k increase since its launch on 22 September 2014)

now further prices have been increased.if the new maruti suzuki baleno does make some dent on elite i20 sales then hyundai will be forced to give some discounts on the elite.

considering baleno is a MARUTI it will be a hit only if maruti does not price it premium which seems to be the theme of the year as hyundai creta and maruti scross both were the biggest launches of the year and both of them have disappointed us with the pricing.

ya , but maruthi suzuki did atleast couple of mistakes in baleno brother , like swift like looking lamps for 3 variants , see nobody is going to pay extra lakhs to drive away swift like looking car from front , atleast not me and my frnds , Trust me looks play a vital role , take jazz for a 8 lakh car he managed to design head lamps that almost look like honda city where honda city is like 2 to 3 lakhs more than jazz , atleast it looks good outside even though it lacks some features inside it , where as in baleno case which falls under same 8 lakhs segment he took lamps from a swift car which is lower than baleno ,

So for same 8 lakhs i better drive honda city like looking car that is honda jazz with H badge , rather than swift like looking car with S badge that is baleno , on 26 th of this month i will see it in flesh because i pre booked it and if projecter lamps are available then i may consider it

i am considering CVT in jazz or baleno [:)]

ya , but maruthi suzuki did atleast couple of mistakes in baleno brother , like swift like looking lamps for 3 variants , see nobody is going to pay extra lakhs to drive away swift like looking car from front , atleast not me and my frnds , Trust me looks play a vital role , take jazz for a 8 lakh car he managed to design head lamps that almost look like honda city where honda city is like 2 to 3 lakhs more than jazz , atleast it looks good outside even though it lacks some features inside it , where as in baleno case which falls under same 8 lakhs segment he took lamps from a swift car which is lower than baleno ,

So for same 8 lakhs i better drive honda city like looking car that is honda jazz with H badge , rather than swift like looking car with S badge that is baleno , on 26 th of this month i will see it in flesh because i pre booked it and if projecter lamps are available then i may consider it

i am considering CVT in jazz or baleno [:)]
Even I'm in market for an automatic and I feel y should consider zest AMT along with jazz and baleno automatic. Zest is a diesel automatic with AMT

Here is the video of which we saw shoot pictures last week. It's actually a product description video and Maruti has done a classy job here with this one!

Baleno product video - Nexa experience

Baleno first drive review - Motown India
Motown India

Baleno first drive - CarDekho
CarDekho

Baleno walkaround - IndianAutosBlog
Indian Autos Blog

Motor Trend India review
While styling is subjective there is no doubt that the Baleno is an attractive design and pretty much the best we have we have seen yet from the car-maker. A premium hatchback has to look the part and the Baleno does that with a design that is a tad conservative but classy nevertheless. What also goes in favour of the Baleno is that in the flesh it looks a bit bigger than its direct rivals and has lots of presence.

A big talking point in the new Baleno is the fact that it has the new platform which makes it lighter and stronger plus we may add that in terms of build quality it feels the best from Maruti with both paint finish and overall build being very good.

The responsive touchscreen display and the various functions mentioned earlier is reason enough for us to say that the top-end trim level is the best buy.

There are no rear ac vents but the cabin is cooled down quick enough to not warrant them.In terms of space Maruti Suzuki needs to be lauded as the Baleno is incredibly spacious at the rear with excellent legroom with decent headroom and also at the front the seats are quite comfy.

n the city, the CVT is very smooth and responsive which is what matters but pile on the revs and it gets a bit noisy but as said earlier people who would buy would do for the convenience that it offers.

Enthusiasts will like the petrol manual though and that is also our choice as this engine is a delight. It is a fact that Maruti knows a thing or two about making punchy petrol motors and this is no different plus as said earlier the new platform makes the Baleno lighter than the Swift. Thus it feels agile and eager with the 5-speed manual being precise and quite slick in its operation which means you do not mind working the gearbox to extract the best out of this motor.

So what about the diesel? The engine is of course the much loved 1.3 diesel but sans the SHVS tech so it is the Swift diesel engine which is no bad thing as again the weight factor comes into focus. The characteristics are similar like a bit of turbo-lag at the start and then the strong mid-range which does give the Baleno strong performance which enables it to get to triple digit speeds with ease. However we do think that the Baleno could do with a 6-speed gearbox. In terms of handling it is nearly as much fun as the Swift which is very good indeed. The steering is light but direct and there is not much body roll. More good news is the excellent high speed stability and the ride. Yes, in the area of ride quality the Baleno is a big leap forward from current Maruti hatches as it swallowed the bad roads with ease.

Maruti needs to give it aggressive pricing and given that the Baleno has everything in its arsenal to be the king of the premium hatch space.
Close up front

Pearl arctic white baleno in focus

Source: Maruti Baleno review - Motor Trend India

An interesting article from CarDekho
Exactly the same thoughts that i had. Honda is able to give the 100 PS engine and still manage 27.3 KMPL mileage on the Jazz. Ford also gives a 100 PS engine with even more torque than the Honda but still manages 25.83 KMPL on the Aspire. Even the bigger Maruti Ciaz managed 26.21 KMPL from the 90 PS 1.3 diesel engine before SHVS being incorporated. So coming to Baleno with the all new lighter platform and stuff, Maruti extracting 'just' 27.39 KMPL from the 75PS motor is actually not any big engineering achievement, is it? In comparison, we have to conclude that Honda and Ford and even Maruti themselves have better engineered cars! Is it not ? [surprise]

Why Maruti Why? Why No 90 PS for Baleno!
Okay! so there isn’t much time left for October 26th, the day Maruti Baleno will be launched. We have driven the car and the world already knows the specifications of the car. The car is offered with the 1.2-litre petrol from Swift, as expected, but strangely get the same 1.3-litre 75PS diesel instead of the 90PS one. It has come as a shock to me and to probably many others. I mean, when the whole world is powering their vehicles with stronger engines Maruti decided to go for a less powerful one. And why take the fun away, from a car that carries the name of a 1.6-litre-ed petrol propelled rally car (at least for India).

Is it for Mileage Sake?

To start with, Honda Jazz has a 100PS i-DTEC diesel that is adequately powered and comes with a 6-speed manual, yet it manages a tremendous fuel economy of 27.3 kilometers per litre. Next up, Elite i20, ok the mileage is less at somewhere around 22.5 kmpl, but the torque stands at segment best 219 Nm again with a six-speed stick shift. Climbing down a step, we meet Ford’s Figo diesel, powered by a 1.5 litre TDCi producing 100PS of max power, 215 Nm of torque and 25.83 kmpl, a nick lower than both Jazz and Baleno, but I can live with that for 100PS.

Coming back to Maruti, before plonking the SHVS mild hybrid technology, Ciaz gave a nick over 26 kmpl with the 1.3-litre 90PS that too with a heavier body. Baleno, which is based on a very lightweight platform, would have automatically extracted better mileage than Ciaz from the same engine. And even if it hadn’t extracted better mileage, 26kmpl is still good. Also, Baleno’s 75PS engine is mated to a 5-speed gearbox, rather than 6-speed like the other two in this segment.

Is it for Price’s sake?

Maruti is well known for pricing its car right, a recent example is the Ertiga facelift that has been launched at INR 5.99 lacs (Ex-showroom New Delhi). Speaking of Baleno, it is also expected fall in an impressive price bracket, but if it is at the cost of less power, then India’s largest car manufacturer needs to take another look at it. I mean how much would have it costed for a Variable Geometry Turbo that is in the 90PS one.
Source: CarDekho

I don't think that Maruti Suzuki has done anything wrong in putting 75ps diesel engine in Baleno. They will put 90ps diesel engine in Vitara Brezza which will be the next car to be sold via Nexa showrooms. It will be positioned between Baleno and S-Cross. It is also a sub four meter car so it won't get 1.6 litre engine so 1.3 liter engine with 90 PS will be used for that car. It will give an edge over Baleno. It is also a necessity if you think from product strategy perspective. Maruti Suzuki does not have any other diesel engine in this range as their own diesel engine is still under development and Vitara may get launched in Jan-Feb 2016. So if we apply this logic then 75ps for Baleno is justifiable.

Guys, Anybody has any experience with servicing the S-cross at Normal Maruti Showrooms? Can you get the Baleno and serviced efficiently at Maruti instead of Nexa? Can you expect them to have all the parts required? Any Maruti owners, can you please confirm, it the Maruti Mechanics were trained officially on the Nexa cars? You dont want them doing Hit and Trail on your car. Maruti showroom is 8 kms and Nexa is almost 25 kms from my home.

[:)] hi buddy , i raised the same question to relationship manager nexa , Answer : Sir servicing for nexa showroom cars can be done in any maruthi suzuki servicing centres through out india , and done by separate trained professionals [roll]