Ford EcoSport Review & Pictures

Re: First Drive: Ford EcoSport Test Drive Review

I am also surprised that so many people are commenting & giving importance to the "looks" of the car.. & we always thought we are a nation of people who asked "kitna deti hai" or how many people the vehicle ferried? At least MS thinks so in their ads!

Everybody reading this thread should also read this article --->>> http://articles.economictimes.indiatimes.com/2012-09-16/news/33863861_1_suv-craze-suv-makers-scorch-indian-roads

Disclaimer: I don't agree with everything the above article or author says.[;)]

Oh wow! ES did make it to the top 10 selling cars in July. Very interesting!

Thanks for writing a detailed review DJD [clap]

ABS will help in this way?
AFAIK ABS will not help in this situation. ESP will be a savior in this type of situation i guess.

Excellent write-up DJD! Very balanced and neutral. Did you try driving at triple digit speeds in your car ? How does the engine feel in comparison to your Manza
thank you mate. My car is 1.5 D trend. Due to run in, so far i have driven till 90 kmph. And i must say that engine is silent at this speed. The passengers will not able to judge whether it is petrol or diesel. My earlier car Manza was petrol. And you will not believe Ecosport diesel is super silent at highway speed compared to the petrol manza.

Thread Starter #2,598

I’m driving the diesel avatar of this exciting car for a weekend. Do watch this space for our review. Any questions regarding the car are welcome in the meanwhile.

Ford-Ecosport-Diesel-Titanium-Grey.JPG

I’m driving the diesel avatar of this exciting car for a weekend. Do watch this space for our review. Any questions regarding the car are welcome in the meanwhile.

View attachment 103643

350Z, Does the ecosport petrol(1.5) has a different upholstery colour than both the ecobost and diesel variants especially for regular titanium variants?

Wow! this is the longest probably one of the most hotly discussed thread I have seen on this forum! few members also seem to have been banned for their overly passionate comments![;)] Even Range rover discussed along side ES, Ford must be proud [lol]

Almost makes you think that ES will be in the top 5 selling cars in India [:)] but again ... maybe thats the whole idea ... here .. to get it there???

Why did the dealers stop booking of ES btw? or after XUV has this become a trend to stop bookings & show that the car is in very high demand. reality could well be the plant capacity not prepared to scale up anytime soon.
Yes you are right, from the information I got Ford should be damn proud and the dealers should be scrutinized seriously, the Ecosport has crossed 50000 bookings all over India,I think this car has the awesome wow factor that makes Indian go crazy for this looks,technology,mileage and power combination as well, Ford has put a huge nail on Indian hearts, its not a desi brand but its proving its mettle as a global power manufacturer.

1.5 P cars bookings will be closed within a few weeks of time all over India since Ecosports exports are hugely 1.5 Petrol and Ecoboosts for actually reduced the shipment of 1.5 petrol and ecoboost to Australia and Thailand and some other countries significantly to meet Indian demands, but sadly the 23+ crore population of India has booked Ecosport so aggressively that Ford India couldnt hook up the demands of Indian customer so Ford is trying their best to meet local demands after making a good stock much more than what they have in their stockyard as of now.

I am also surprised that so many people are commenting & giving importance to the "looks" of the car.. & we always thought we are a nation of people who asked "kitna deti hai" or how many people the vehicle ferried? At least MS thinks so in their ads!

Everybody reading this thread should also read this article --->>> Why you should think before buying an SUV - Economic Times

Disclaimer: I don't agree with everything the above article or author says.

Oh wow! ES did make it to the top 10 selling cars in July. Very interesting!
I kind of expected this anyway I think if the pace of booking dosent slow down waiting periods will go upto 6 months for real. As of now actual waiting period is just 3 months and the useless hungry Ford dealers of India are just exploiting Ford India and customers equally, so its their fault,Ford India is doing their best to cover up the lack of proper supply chain and they are yet to find a solution to control the dealers of Ford.

View attachment 103643

350Z how is the suspension setup in diesel and I heard a lot of reviews telling that diesel Ecosport is stiffer than the petrol one, but is this something thats worth a difference or is it mild enough to be neglected.

Finally "My Dream Car" Got Delivered Today - [cheers]

Moondust Silver

Titanium (TDCI) [drive]

Here's snap of "Puja" done by my "Little Angel[angel] " during delivery -
Hey sankalp congrats and wish you miles of happiness ..

View attachment 103643

Hey 350z please try to find the achievable top speed With the car and compare it with other top hats of the segment.

guys took delivery 14 August evening - 1.5L petrol titanium. Delivery process was rather long but no grumbles - after all Ford has taught me the virtue of patience!

ES sweetheart feels awesome to drive. At least I didn't feel like I was driving a hatch. My parents hadn't seen the car until delivery and they were mighty impressed. They also felt ingress and egress was comfy.

Unfortunately, my drive so far has been through heavy traffic so havent got a chance to spread her wings. This sweetie is getting lots of looks, saw several ppl driving other cars slowing down to take a look. One person even knocked on my window to ask about the car etc. Sure this beauty is attracting all the attention! And it deserves it.
20km/l or is it 20km/hour. it's the overall average speed you drove. check again and congrats

Hi all, its great to have such informative exchanges and i have gained immensely from your earlier postings.

I have booked a 1.5 P Titanium and delivery is expected around sept end / early oct. however, i am a little concerned about the mileage this car will give in a city like Mumbai. Hence, i am thinking whether it makes more sense to go for a trend diesel instead of petrol titanium (will have to spend around 40k more). The diesel engine seems to be a proven machine with so many of you getting a mileage of 18 kmpl or more in city use. Requesting those who have got delivery of the 1.5 P variants to post their mileage data, will be comfortable if it gives 12 kmpl in city use.

I also did some r&d on the ecoboost, but global user reviews seem to be mixed. Just google "ford ecoboost engine reviews" and you will see that ford is fighting law suits in USA on the same. Users have sued ford on the same, as the ecoboost is not delivering better mileage as claimed.

Looking forward to your responses.

Guys, I am going to swap my OEM tires(205/60/r16, they will be either Goodyear or MRF, probably Goodyear) as I am going for Bridgestone MY02 205/60/r16. Anybody on TAI looking for these OEM tires do let me know by Sunday as I will be getting my Ecosport on Sunday or Monday max. I would be happy to give the tires to a TAI'N at reasonable price instead to the tyre dealer.
I am not planning to up-size as the OEM tyre configuration is enough to satisfy my requirements and the MY02 does offer awesome wet and dry performance with their ''lightening groove'' type tread pattern. Pic attached.

Finally "My Dream Car" Got Delivered Today - [cheers]

Moondust Silver

Titanium (TDCI) [drive]

Here's snap of "Puja" done by my "Little Angel[angel] " during delivery -
Congrats on getting the car. :) Wish you many happy and safe kms with your new ride.

View attachment 103643

@350Z
1. How easy/difficult is it to replace a fuse in passenger fuse box in Ecosport? 2. Can you also note at RPMs does 70 ,80 , 90 and 100 kmph are attained if it is possible?
3. Is it very difficult t replace the headlamps by the car user in the event if it gets fused?

Update from Hyderabad dealer Vibrant Ford. Stopped taking booking for all Petrol models and Titanium O Diesel. And my promised delivery of August is getting pushed to September. My booking number is 1 :(. The reason is unavailability of Blue in Ecoboost

Whoever is going to cancel their EcoSport bookings. They can go for the below models.

1. Maruti Ertiga
- It has ABS+EBD
- 7 Seater
- 22.77 kmpl (ARAI)
- Cheaper maintenance
Cons:
- Ground Clearance 185mm

2. Duster
- It has more space; enough 5 seater
- More boot space
- 22.45 kmpl (ARAI)
Cons:
- No special features

2. New Toyota Etios Liva
- It has more space; enough 5 seater
- 23.59 kmpl (ARAI)
Cons:
- Maintenance cost
- Groud Clearance 175mm

BTW, I have a question to all TAI members, why peoples are not willing to take MRF tyres?