Toyota Etios Liva V vs Maruti Suzuki Swift VXi (O)

I would suggest either Liva Diesel or Etios Cross 1.5 Petrol. No way, i would suggest you to buy Swift. Maruti feels worse than a tin can with substandard reliability. Toyota will be very rewarding in the long term. It would cost you peanuts to maintain a Toyota. Even if it is 1.2 Petrol, then i would still suggest Liva or Jazz. But definitely not Maruti. I have no personal grudge on Maruti. But personally owning 2 Maruti cars over a decade, i have seen a big decline in built quality. And Maruti engines are no way as reliable as Toyota or Hondas

I beg to differ, 1.3 MJD is a fine, reliable engine and I see you have owned 2 cars with the same engine as have I
What issues have you faced?
I agree about minor rattles etc and Toyota and Honda fare much better in this regard

Cant comment much on K series since I havent owned a K series engine but I can totally vouch for the 1.3 MJD, its a fine, punchy and reliable engine thats peanuts to run and maintain

Liva 1.2 petrol is too sedate , 1.2 K series and 1.2 IVTEC are punchier, still much better than Hyundai 1.2 VTVT
Though I feel diesel versions are more fun to drive in this segment

If I were to buy another car for city use in this segment, itd definitely be an MJD engine

I beg to differ, 1.3 MJD is a fine, reliable engine and I see you have owned 2 cars with the same engine as have I
I agree about minor rattles etc and Toyota and Honda fare much better in this regard

Cant comment much on K series since I havent owned a K series engine but I can totally vouch for the 1.3 MJD, its a fine, punchy and reliable engine thats peanuts to run and maintain

Liva 1.2 petrol is too sedate , 1.2 K series and 1.2 IVTEC are punchier, still much better than Hyundai 1.2 VTVT

If I were to buy another car for city use in this segment, itd definitely be an MJD engine
I too love the MJD engine with a surge of power on demand but most manufacturers have moved to synthetic oil compared to toyota making the maintenance charges (periodic oil changes especially) costly.

Of course it is a reliable engine but not as reliable as a Toyota 1.4 D-4D or 1.5 I-Dtec. I have driven more than a lakh kms on 1.3 MJD. The same engine in Fiat behaves very differently. I haven't had any issues with Fiat Punto 1.3 MJD until I sold it at 70k kms. But in Swift Diesel, the clutch plates wear out very soon, say between 35-40k but you can sedately drive and use it upto 50k. Those rattles in a Maruti cannot be taken lightly, it shows the built quality and how Maruti ignores such minor details.

Suspension and wheel bearings also wear out very fast. My water pump and TGR pipe failed during 2nd year of ownership, leaking coolant. But the car never gave me any issues in the middle of the road.

And during 6th year of ownership, engine relay failed and the car refused to start. But luckily after a few cranks the car started and I could immediately give it to service. And the cost to fix all the above mentioned problems is not expensive, but there were hiccups in my ownership. And the new swifts has very poor build quality when compared to mine.

Of course it is a reliable engine but not as reliable as a Toyota 1.4 D-4D or 1.5 I-Dtec. I have driven more than a lakh kms on 1.3 MJD. The same engine in Fiat behaves very differently. I haven't had any issues with Fiat Punto 1.3 MJD until I sold it at 70k kms. But in Swift Diesel, the clutch plates wear out very soon, say between 35-40k but you can sedately drive and use it upto 50k. Those rattles in a Maruti cannot be taken lightly, it shows the built quality and how Maruti ignores such minor details.

Suspension and wheel bearings also wear out very fast. My water pump and TGR pipe failed during 2nd year of ownership, leaking coolant. But the car never gave me any issues in the middle of the road.

And during 6th year of ownership, engine relay failed and the car refused to start. But luckily after a few cranks the car started and I could immediately give it to service. And the cost to fix all the above mentioned problems is not expensive, but there were hiccups in my ownership. And the new swifts has very poor build quality when compared to mine.
I had none of these problems
Only AC coil was changed once
clutch etc depends on driving style and traffic too

We had 3 Ritz in my household (2 for my cousins, one for me)
One Ritz had hydro lock but we got it running via jugaad and it ran pretty well for 3 years
other was in proper condition
As was mine

Now my brother has Brezza since last year

Agreed servicing costs are high for a smaller engine but its kmpl etc is excellent
I think you may have gotten a lemon Swift especially since you had better experience with your Fiat

Razor Have you booked any car.. which one? I have the same dilemma like you... Please share your experience.. Thanx
Still havent , though I will in this month. Waiting for the news on April discounts and exchange offers in both brands. Also considering whether Liva G would be more vfm considering my budgetary constraints. At this moment though I am leaning towards Liva , justing waiting to hear on the offers before I take my final decision.

Tigor , well I am not sure about a new car , that too from Tata. Will wait for 6 months atleast to see the reviews. Plus someone I know complained of getting only 9 kmpl on the Revotron Tiago recently bought.

Would like you to please explain in detail. Grand i10 has better interior plus features that's it.
Liva kills the grand i10 in every aspect.
1.Liva has more space.
2.Liva has abs and airbags standard all across the variants.
3.Liva scored 4 stars with stable structure while the grand i10 scored zero with instable structure.
4.Liva has much better brakes. The brake bite of grand i10 is really weird.
5. Liva has the best ac possibly after the figo. Grand i10 ac trips under hard acceleration.
6. Engine repsonse and suspesnion setup is much better than the grand i10.
7. Maintenance is another point which favors the liva.
8. Don't remember for sure but clutch and gear shifts were smooth in the liva. So can't say which car was smoother in this area.

So would like to know in what other aspects grand i10 is good.
Agree with you absolutely. Although I found the clutch in Liva to have a long play , where as Grand i10 clutch is a bit rubbery , atleast more than swift.

Re: Liva V Vs Swift VXI (o)

Agree with you absolutely. Although I found the clutch in Liva to have a long play , where as Grand i10 clutch is a bit rubbery , atleast more than swift.
Ive noticed this on my friends cars too
They are rather rough drivers so I assumed that was the reason but when I drive any of their cars , clutch is very rubbery and lacks clear point
I think its a trait of this engine then
Otherwise, it was fairly refined

Ritz MJD had the best biting point in the clutch of all cars Ive driven in the segment save for the Brio IVTEC, that was absolutely amazing in bumper to bumper traffic

Ive noticed this on my friends cars too
They are rather rough drivers so I assumed that was the reason but when I drive any of their cars , clutch is very rubbery and lacks clear point
I think its a trait of this engine then
Otherwise, it was fairly refined

Ritz MJD had the best biting point in the clutch of all cars Ive driven in the segment save for the Brio IVTEC, that was absolutely amazing in bumper to bumper traffic
The latest updated liva diesel comes with a better clutch (source is my friend toyota service manager) he said that usually the old liva diesel clutch gets hard after 10,000 km. New updated one is better doesnt have such problem. But never felt so in my liva nearing 9500km.No information about clutch play i felt it to be comfortable not much of a problem even in long drives.

You misunderstood my post, I was talking in regards to Grand i10 not Liva
I havent had much experience with Liva but Toyota clutches are fairly reliable , I can confirm after owning Innovas and Corolla in my family

My previous post was purely in context to Grand i10

Well after lot of thinking I have booked Swift VXI (O) Fire Red colour at last from MS Auto Hitech.

Onroad coming to 6.56 Lakhs. Exchange value for my old Maruti is 50k including 25 k exchange bonus. And Consumer discount of 15 k. Total - 65k less. Final OTR - 5.9L

I did go to Tata showroom RD Motors and took a test drive of Tiago. They did not have petrol so had to settle for the diesel variant. Its a pretty nice car. Feels solid built , diesel motor felt weak , but acceptable. Interiors , ICE - wonderful.

Things I did not like -
1.very soft seats (which they are marketing as "wrap around seats") - sure to be a problem on long journeys over bad roads
2. Fixed rear headrests ( could not comfortably rest my head/neck , I am 5'10")
3. Little Tata niggles - the car had a loose cabin light switch , the parking brake wasnt engaging easily
4. Not well informed SA (and too clever for his own good)) trying to confuse me with some wrong information. Towards the end it seemed it was I who was demo-ing the car to him [roll]

All these things put me off .

Paid booking amount 5k.
Anyway waiting period is supposed to be nil , but Option variant takes 2 weeks approx. Keeping fingers crossed.

Well after lot of thinking I have booked Swift VXI (O) Fire Red colour at last from MS Auto Hitech.

Onroad coming to 6.56 Lakhs. Exchange value for my old Maruti is 50k including 25 k exchange bonus. And Consumer discount of 15 k. Total - 65k less. Final OTR - 5.9L

I did go to Tata showroom RD Motors and took a test drive of Tiago. They did not have petrol so had to settle for the diesel variant. Its a pretty nice car. Feels solid built , diesel motor felt weak , but acceptable. Interiors , ICE - wonderful.

Things I did not like -
1.very soft seats (which they are marketing as "wrap around seats") - sure to be a problem on long journeys over bad roads
2. Fixed rear headrests ( could not comfortably rest my head/neck , I am 5'10")
3. Little Tata niggles - the car had a loose cabin light switch , the parking brake wasnt engaging easily
4. Not well informed SA (and too clever for his own good)) trying to confuse me with some wrong information. Towards the end it seemed it was I who was demo-ing the car to him [roll]

All these things put me off .

Paid booking amount 5k.
Anyway waiting period is supposed to be nil , but Option variant takes 2 weeks approx. Keeping fingers crossed.
Congrats !! Its a fine car thats proven its worth and will last you very long !! Happy motoring :)
For 6.56L , you have got more car for your money imho compared to the competition

Note: Congrats on new ride! This thread is now closed. Please feel free to create new thread for ownership review. Thanks.