Supreme Court’s Order – No Sunfilms Allowed from 4th May 2012

What should be the legal limit of our side Windows?

Re: Supreme Court Orders – No Sunfilms Allowed from 4th May 2012

https://www.facebook.com/movementagainstsc

Hope it needs no explanations

Wake up cops and judges, India needs sun films due to climatic conditions & health reasons.. UV radiation,scorching summer heat, street romeos staring female passengers...

Throwing thrash is sole irresponsibility of owners and dealers...in no way government responsible for it..car owners should take care to see thier SH**t doesnt give trouble to others and environment.
i was very irritated to see all the thrash there. i know its mcd's problem but still one should not litter around like this.

by the way guys if we remove the films and defoggers get damaged what do we do then new windscreen or some juggad?
if someone caught me , i'll not let them remove mine. better to remove frm professionals or let it like that only. verna's rear windshield is not the biggest[lol]
Allhyundai you were safe ? Or they caught you too ?
i passed 5 checkpoints but nobody stopped me. but i'm afraid i have to go to the same route tomorrow as well :\

Only one thing that's worrying me, how to remove the one's on rear defogger, it may be costly affair.[frustration]

So reflective tints can be used(am praying)??
Of course not. Please read this post by Jalex. It clearly states that nothing can be put upon windows which obstructs the vision. Not even curtains.

if someone caught me , i'll not let them remove mine. better to remove frm professionals or let it like that only. verna's rear windshield is not the biggest
Better avoid getting into an argument with the cops. Traffic Police has right to seize the vehicle on the spot if owner denies to remove the tints.

you're right but lets see what happens. i'll keep updating. i was talking about the rear window.

Any DIY job that can be done by ourselves???

How to peel the Sunfilm, mine had got a scratches and almost 4 year old, was thinking to replace with 3M brand.

About dumping of the waste..everyone must take its responsibility.If police don't do it,then we must do and if we don't do it them municipal corporation must do.
Issue is that everyone wants the another one to do it.
Typical Indian mentality where people feel shameful to do any task calling it 'CHHOTA KAAM'.

My removed sunfilms are still lying in the boot of my car because the shopkeeper didn't had dustbin and was going to dump them in a 'nallah'.So I just took them back..
Now let the time pass,whenever I'll open my car's boot(maybe once a month) or mr.chauffy will clean the car..they will be removed.
Well we may throw it in the bin but it is still an environmental hazard. How are these going to be disposed??? Are they going to be buried in the ground or burnt or what? What all harmful gases will they produce if they are burnt?

Isint it all just unnecessary? All this pollution just to satisfy whims of someone called your honor.

Update- "Garware , 3M , V Kool managers just had a meeting with Mr.Kapil Sibbal in New Delhi one hour ago . According to the sources A formal PIL petition is going to be filed against this decision on MONDAY morning in Supreme Court Of India."
But till monday, most of the sunfilms would be stripped off,I guess. :P
This had to happen.... it only started late should have started the day sepreme court gave its judgement[:D]
Good for the sunfilm companies. wait for some days and then file PIL and get stay order and later get 70% or 50% VLT sunfilms legalized as before most of the people who had sunfilm uninstalled will go back for new sunfilms (more expensive ones since 70% and 50% vlt sunfilms cost more) and sunfilm companies make a windfall[:D].

Good for the sunfilm companies. wait for some days and then file PIL and get stay order and later get 70% or 50% VLT sunfilms legalized as before most of the people who had sunfilm uninstalled will go back for new sunfilms (more expensive ones since 70% and 50% vlt sunfilms cost more) and sunfilm companies make a windfall.
Exactly!
I also feel the same.
This is India, always expect the unexpected! [:D] [;)]

Well me & my friend owe our eyesight to a sunfilm on my car,my friend was driving my car at night 11 when at a junction the car coming from the right slows down to let us pass as we go past it a drunk rider on a two wheeler comes from behind the stopped cab & rams my right door,the window was half down,Now let us keep in mind our side windows in most cars are not laminated meaning shatter proof like our front windsheild.
So what followed is like from the movie Matrix the edge 1mm of the or so of the side window did not have sunfilm ,so when the two wheeler rammed into the door the edge of the window which was missed out by the sunfilm,flew like crystal power i remember seeing the two wheeler headlight coming into the right window & covering the right side of my face with my hand,i could see glass powder flying in front of me.

Now imagine that accident without sun film,loose glass pieces flying everywhere,even with the sunfilm the exposed edge had left my friend with glass pierced into his neck,i had the pic of my car but not able to find it at the moment.So this "sunfilm ban" needs to relooked in terms of shattering glass in an accident also.

Worst part about the accident was we were on the way to check out our friends Porsche Cayenne Turbo S & take both for a all night drive,so missed out on a occasion,so superstitiously opted out from the drive.

Definetely SC needs to reconsider the decision. As like most of the members said, I too don't like a stranger to peeping into my car, I need privacy & secure while travelling in car..

First, SC should be strict on 70% or 50% VLT sunfilms in cars, but it failed to implement,so they are trying to remove the whole sunfilms. "WHAT AN IDEA SIR JI?"[frustration]. This law will help cops to block other state cars to collect money..

So far in Chennai there is no pressure on this act. Today I've not noticed any single action against black films.

For my Vista, still I not installed any sunfilms in it. let the days to pass, once the situation comes normal. I'll install the 70% or 50% VLT sunfilms in my car.[:D]

Good for the sunfilm companies. wait for some days and then file PIL and get stay order and later get 70% or 50% VLT sunfilms legalized as before most of the people who had sunfilm uninstalled will go back for new sunfilms (more expensive ones since 70% and 50% vlt sunfilms cost more) and sunfilm companies make a windfall[:D].
Actually let’s look at this incident from different perspective-
1. I remember similar ban (by some court on PIL) on the sun films few years back due to which we decided not to put sun film on our newly bought indica those days (may be somewhere around 1999-2000, I don’t exactly remember) to avoid harassment from traffic police.
2. However may have got stay order later on, thereby continued sale of sun films for car windows by sun film trading companies.
3. Many of us were installing sun films on our cars till end of last month and driving them peacefully without any intervention.

My perception - “filing a PIL in Supreme Court by somebody and obtaining favourable order which later on will be challenged by somebody again to get stay order” is a complete business tactics by certain traders for their business promotion.
I admire The Automotive India forum and everyone contributing with their posts, special thanks to ‘tornado78’ [clap]for sharing the judgement file, which mentions-
As per the Central Motor Vehicles Act, Rule 100, glass of windscreen and windows of every motor vehicle. The glass used has to be ‘safety glass’. Then it provides for the inner surface angle on the windscreen. Rule 100 (2) provides that the glass of the windscreen and rear window of every motor vehicle shall be such and shall be maintained in such a condition that VLT is not less than 70 per cent and on side windows not less than 50 per cent and would conform to Indian Standards [IS:2553-Part2-1992]

My questions are-
A. Why the sun film trading companies were allowed to do business since 1999 till date without any hindrance in presence of above mentioned law?
B. Will sun films be allowed to install again after getting stay order?
C. Will Government allow the sun film trading companies to do business with 70% or 50% VLT sun films for cars after getting stay order without waiting till final order?
D. Now Government is taking good efforts to enforce the judgement by SC, Will Government take similar efforts to educate citizens to stay away from sun films for cars till final order or judgement is passed or just let the allow the sun film trading companies fool the people around?

This whole episode seems to me a real mockery of our judicial and administrative system by business giants.

If we go by this rule, the next episode we would likely see is that helmets are banned on Indian streets as criminals use it to hide their identity. Well, will you let somebody or system play like this with our hard earned money and carefully preserved life?[confused]

Now weather they get the stay or not,what I know is that my car has no more sun films.Just 4 shades are there with me now and today I am going to Delhi.
Now if any thulla(we people call them by this name in anger)then I am simply going to remove the shade,take out the sunfilm from my boot and throw it on him.
The government does not think of its money(our money which they took in form of tax)and spoil it in scams and personal favors of netas but now they have started playing with our money too.

Still,my cars were good without sunfilms,it was the first time I installed one and got it removed.Hence now I won't get them again.

About crime point:Yesterday a girl was picked up and raped in a mall's parking near Delhi in a Scorpio car.I am sure the car would have got the tinted glass.Secondly if there would have been no tint,then was it possible to commit such a crime in a car at a public place?

Sunfilms to be banned in Meerut too within next 3-4 days:-

I saw lines on shops yesterday evening to remove the films

Still,my cars were good without sunfilms,it was the first time I installed one and got it removed.Hence now I won't get them again.
Yes, that's the spirit !![thumbsup]
Everybody must do so to prevent themselves from getting cheated this way......

Just escaped narrowly (sped away) from traffic cops near Okhla turn on my way to Modi flyover in my i10 which has RTO approved tint, cops were stopping almost all cars which have sun control films whether it is RTO approved or not but yes they are presents on few locations only. A wagon R in front of me fall prey to them that gentleman got very light tint on his car glasses :(