Should I Get a Pajero Sport?

Do you suggest anything other than Pajero or XUV?
How about taking a TD of the Isuzu Mu7 and Aria?, just for the sake of comparison.

Yes, i know that these two are huge and lengthy vehicles and bit more pricier but do TD these vehicles only to experience the engine feel. And these two vehicles still have 200 mm of ground clearance for off-roading and a powerful engine too.

If you are not satisfied with the TD then i would suggest you to go in for the Pajero Sport itself without the second thought.

Mitsubishi pajero sport is a superb suv with great off roading and on roading ability.But be prepared to deal with the most unprofessional automobile manufacturer in India. I have heard that service is uniformly bad across india. Mitsubishi cannot survive in India with just a single model, they may just halt their operations one fine morning. Ford Endeavour is a safe bet it's better than the pajero in terms of comfort and reliability and service would be far better.

Mitsubishi is not a trusted brand anymore. Gone are the days when the three diamond logo meant reliability and fine craftsmanship.

How about taking a TD of the Isuzu Mu7?

If you are not satisfied with the TD then i would suggest you to go in for the Pajero Sport itself without the second thought.
How I forgot the MU7? It is definitely worth a try and is a very reliable vehicle too with a gem of an engine and simply bulletproof build.

Wonder if isuzu managed to sell this car in double digits. It's service network is non existing, hardly anyone has used it how can it be hailed as bulletproof [frustration]?
MU7 looks like a pick up from the 90s. These are age old platforms being marketed here. In all probability this car would be out of production in a couple of years then the buyers would be left in the lurch. If mitsubishi has a questionable service network then isuzu has a non existing service network.

P.S- Forgive me if I have offended any one using this car but I am yet to see this much hyped car in flesh and blood.

If you can convince your family then buy the pajero, if not then wait :p

Jokes apart. You can check out the ssyangyong rexton. Head to the mahindra showroom and check out both the cars including the xuv facelift. Take a td of both the cars , make it long.

Anyways since you sell your car within 3-4 years you should also look at the reslae value. In the suv market , fortuner will offer you the best resale value.

But if you buy any car now and a facelifts come then the resale will be affected.
About the santa fe , take a TD Just for comparison sake and maybe the dealer can give you good discounts.
From what I experienced with Hyundai cars, their soft suspension is not suited for our type of use. The OTR price of Pajero is the ex-showroom of Santa fe, add TN's 15% road tax and insurance would push the price well over 30 lacs. The base variant is 32.70 lacs as per carwale.

How about taking a TD of the Isuzu Mu7 and Aria?, just for the sake of comparison.

Yes, i know that these two are huge and lengthy vehicles and bit more pricier but do TD these vehicles only to experience the engine feel. And these two vehicles still have 200 mm of ground clearance for off-roading and a powerful engine too.

Already test drove Aria while buying XUV 500, not at all impressed. Isuzu mu 7? thats an interesting thought. I will definitely TD it, as they have a dealer here.

Mitsubishi pajero sport is a superb suv with great off roading and on roading ability.But be prepared to deal with the most unprofessional automobile manufacturer in India. I have heard that service is uniformly bad across india. Mitsubishi cannot survive in India with just a single model, they may just halt their operations one fine morning. Ford Endeavour is a safe bet it's better than the pajero in terms of comfort and reliability and service would be far better.

Mitsubishi is not a trusted brand anymore. Gone are the days when the three diamond logo meant reliability and fine craftsmanship.
Are you saying the service quality based on your/someone known to you's experience or just as a general opinion? I'm also worried about the one car line up. But the dealer says, outlander petrol and Montero will be launched this year.
Endeavour looks nice, if i can wait for the FOrd, then I can also wait for next gen Toyotas. Are you sure about the Ford service being cheaper? My uncle says it is very expensive for his figo.

Wonder if isuzu managed to sell this car in double digits. It's service network is non existing, hardly anyone has used it how can it be hailed as bulletproof [frustration]?
MU7 looks like a pick up from the 90s. These are age old platforms being marketed here. In all probability this car would be out of production in a couple of years then the buyers would be left in the lurch. If mitsubishi has a questionable service network then isuzu has a non existing service network.

P.S- Forgive me if I have offended any one using this car but I am yet to see this much hyped car in flesh and blood.
Yes, it is an old model but Isuzu builds tough cars like a typical japanese, simple but reliable. Tavera is based on an Isuzu and we also had an imported Isuzu Gemini for a short period, it was very nice to drive.

Are you saying the service quality based on your/someone known to you's experience or just as a general opinion? I'm also worried about the one car line up. But the dealer says, outlander petrol and Montero will be launched this year.
Endeavour looks nice, if i can wait for the FOrd, then I can also wait for next gen Toyotas. Are you sure about the Ford service being cheaper? My uncle says it is very expensive for his figo.

Yes, it is an old model but Isuzu builds tough cars like a typical japanese, simple but reliable. Tavera is based on an Isuzu and we also had an imported Isuzu Gemini for a short period, it was very nice to drive.
Mitsubishi has a single model line up and one of my relatives has a cedia the car is a very reliable but spares have a long waiting period and mitsubishi never replied to several emails he sent them for rectifying this delay,having said that it's an established manufacturer in india.Lancer was a car that sold like hotcakes in india so they can get it right if they have newer models coming.

Isuzu's service network is wafer thin. In the entire state of kerala they have only a single dealership in cochin. Even the existing endeavour is far better than the MU-7.
mu-7 sells so badly that I don't think a KL registered MU-7 exists.(happy if I am corrected). It's a fringe,unproven product

In the entire state of kerala they have only a single dealership in cochin. Even the existing endeavour is far better than the MU-7.
mu-7 sells so badly that I don't think a KL registered MU-7 exists.(happy if I am corrected). It's a fringe,unproven product
Sorry i have a different view here, i think you are mixing up "Product" vs "Service Network/Spares" - they are 2 different aspects. As far as the product goes, it might be old school or it might be new to the market here, but its as bulletproof as it gets, its a legend as far as ruggedness and reliability is concerned in markets abroad.

If i have to drive down to timbuktoo and come back in the same vehicle(one piece), it will be a japanese vehicle only [:D]

Crazy Cat -> Coming back to your dilemma , I would say XUV is a car if you compare with the likes of Fortuner or Pajero. If your are looking for an old school BOF tough SUV then look at the Fortuner/ Pajero/MU-7. These are simple, built to last vehicles with hardly any electronics. New Endeavour is promising but again ill trust it till about a lakh or lakh and a half kms(going by pure personal experiences) - beyond that territory japanese ones are unmatched when it comes to reliability and dogged durability.

Any basis for the above statement ? Again not mixing product with spares and or service quality. Your above statement reflects the product, hence the question.

Sorry i have a different view here, i think you are mixing up "Product" vs "Service Network/Spares" - they are 2 different aspects. As far as the product goes, it might be old school or it might be new to the market here, but its as bulletproof as it gets, its a legend as far as ruggedness and reliability is concerned in markets abroad.
If i have to drive down to timbuktoo and come back in the same vehicle(one piece), it will be a japanese vehicle only [:D]
Any basis for the above statement ? Again not mixing product with spares and or service quality. Your above statement reflects the product, hence the question.
Dear Moderator

As far as the pajero is concerned, mechanically it's a great product but if a good service network is not available throughout india the ownership experience will not be enjoyable.

Mitsubishi's spares are out sourced to HM ,that's not great news. That is why the question of reliability in the long run is coming in to the picture.

Why are we hailing something just because it's Japanese? Isuzu is considered a crude manufacturer in the west.Just check the Isuzu engine in ambassador grand before commenting. It's the most noisiest and dreadful engines developed in the recent past.

I had lived in the U.K for five years and Isuzu was nobody's favourite back then. Even today Indians abroad buy hondas,toyotas and even volvos eyes closed but Isuzu would be an extra ordinary choice. Please don't be fooled by manufacturers who are selling stone age products for a small fortune. In my book The Ford endeavour beats the mu7 hands down.

A Ford Endeavour was driven by a Mr Suresh Joseph from Cochin to Singapore and did not experience a single breakdown.A testimony to the car's reliability(remember the car's non Japanese origins).

Url to a writeup about the expedition.

An Odyssey Worth an 'Endeavour' from Kochi to Singapore - The New Indian Express

With regards
roman

I think we are mixing up reliability/ durability with modern aspects like refined - i never said MU7 is a modern product, but durability and reliability wise it will outlast an endeavour in my books twice over. There is a good reason terrorists and dictators use japanese age old SUVs in the outbacks. Agreed it would be noisy and crude - but my point was reliability, durability and simplicity.

Thats why you would find 3-4+ lakh kms run stock bore japanese suvs/cars. How many american cars can do that ? and i have been a Ford owner who blew his head gasket at 90mph and then went for a engine replacement :)

It cannot match the new modern features in the next gen Ford Endeavour. Mitsubishi spares outsourced to HM have no bearing on the reliability of a Mitsubishi, what it means and i fully agree with you here an owner might have to pay more and wait more for a spare to arrive ! There are multiple more extreme examples on the internet on reliability, durability, ruggedness for various cars, so an example of Cochin to Singapore is also good.

We have decided that replacing XUV with another XUV is not a good decision. We still have warranty for another 2 years and 55000 kms. We will wait till the series of new BOF SUVs that are going to flock our markets. Pajero sport, Fortuner, Endeavour and Innova(MPV but will suit family use more) are the contenders to watch out for. I'm not including trailblazer, because of Chevrolet's poor engineering and service quality experienced personally with our Sail U-Va.

So, our quest for a new SUV is put on hold till these four SUVs are launched in India or abroad(can read reviews and can decide if i should wait or not)

Crazy Cat -> Coming back to your dilemma , I would say XUV is a car if you compare with the likes of Fortuner or Pajero. If your are looking for an old school BOF tough SUV then look at the Fortuner/ Pajero/MU-7. These are simple, built to last vehicles with hardly any electronics. New Endeavour is promising but again ill trust it till about a lakh or lakh and a half kms(going by pure personal experiences) - beyond that territory japanese ones are unmatched when it comes to reliability and dogged durability.
I know they are totally different in their characteristics. Its just XUV has so much usable space(vertical) compared to Pajero or Fortuner, I find it hard to convince my dad. But I want a tough BOF SUV especially after driving Pajero. But I will wait for next gen before deciding.

I came across the below link. You might have already seen it, Just in case if you had missed.

2016 Mitsubishi Pajero Sport launching in August - Render

Once TD Fortuner as well as ssangyong rexton.

-CARleone
I actually missed it, before starting this thread. I came across a render yesterday and my dad liked it.
I have driven my friend's Fortuner and travelled extensively on it.

Mitsubishi has a single model line up and one of my relatives has a cedia the car is a very reliable but spares have a long waiting period and mitsubishi never replied to several emails he sent them for rectifying this delay,having said that it's an established manufacturer in india.Lancer was a car that sold like hotcakes in india so they can get it right if they have newer models coming.

Isuzu's service network is wafer thin. In the entire state of kerala they have only a single dealership in cochin. Even the existing endeavour is far better than the MU-7.
Yes, Isuzu's service network is non existent, I think only we coimbatoreans have the sole dealership in all of Tamilnadu. But it will be a well engineered product despite being old. But will I buy one? That is doubtful. I called the dealer yesterday and asked for MU 7. He said he was with another client and call me back in 5 minutes, I'm yet to receive a call. That says a lot about the dealer, I would give a try today though. And even if I'm buying one, it would be the next gen MU-X.

I think only we coimbatoreans have the sole dealership in all of Tamilnadu. .
Being in coimbatore do TD the Force One just like the Isuzu Mu7, when you have free time.

I Once came to Coimbatore to attend a function and on that day i went to Force Motors dealer ( N. Mahalingam & Co.) to TD the Force One ( before buying my aria) and it is much more lengthier and all the rows were perfect, even the third row was very comfortable for tall persons (5.8 - 5.9) and my dad almost liked it but we dropped it because of the after sales service.

The positives about Force One: (According to me after the TD)
1. Powerful engine.
2. low end torque.
3. easy for the old people to get in and out.
4. 205 mm of Ground clearance.
5. people starred at us during the TD in the Traffic.
6. Low NVH.
7. Liked the DRL's and projector headlamps.
8. Commanding view as well as car like comfort with the independent suspension.

The negatives : (After the TD)
1. After sales Service.
2. The Price.
3. The Colour (Silver Colour was available only on the top end variant).
4. Fuel efficiency (In our TD we Drove it at a high speed and the FE meter showed us a 12.54 kmpl which can be lower than that when we calculate it manually)
5. They had lots of Force One for service in their service center but according to me i think they were all not here for a small problem, as the bonnets were opened and they were all for a major problem to be solved. ( So if you have a chance to go and TD the Force One please observe the Force One's which are in the service center).

Atlast just TD the Isuzu Mu7 and Force One to experience the engine, and Pajero Sport is far more better than these two when it comes off-roading and after sales service and the engine refinement.

My advice is to retain XUV till you complete 1.5L Km.If you want to replace it right now,then go for Fortuner.Bullet proof reliability is the reason to go for Fortuner.

BTW,did you sell your Vento?And,which car did you buy replacing your Vento?

Being in coimbatore do TD the Force One just like the Isuzu Mu7, when you have free time.

I Once came to Coimbatore to attend a function and on that day i went to Force Motors dealer ( N. Mahalingam & Co.) to TD the Force One ( before buying my aria) and it is much more lengthier and all the rows were perfect, even the third row was very comfortable for tall persons (5.8 - 5.9) and my dad almost liked it but we dropped it because of the after sales service.

The positives about Force One: (According to me after the TD)
1. Powerful engine.
2. low end torque.
3. easy for the old people to get in and out.
4. 205 mm of Ground clearance.
5. people starred at us during the TD in the Traffic.
6. Low NVH.
7. Liked the DRL's and projector headlamps.
8. Commanding view as well as car like comfort with the independent suspension.

The negatives : (After the TD)
1. After sales Service.
2. The Price.
3. The Colour (Silver Colour was available only on the top end variant).
4. Fuel efficiency (In our TD we Drove it at a high speed and the FE meter showed us a 12.54 kmpl which can be lower than that when we calculate it manually)
5. They had lots of Force One for service in their service center but according to me i think they were all not here for a small problem, as the bonnets were opened and they were all for a major problem to be solved. ( So if you have a chance to go and TD the Force One please observe the Force One's which are in the service center).

Atlast just TD the Isuzu Mu7 and Force One to experience the engine, and Pajero Sport is far more better than these two when it comes off-roading and after sales service and the engine refinement.
We enquired about Force One before buying XUV 500. Even after 2weeks of trying, I couldn't get a TD, as there was only one vehicle in all of TN. And my brother's friend's dad was working there, he advised us against buying it. According to him, small problems will creep up more frequently.
My advice is to retain XUV till you complete 1.5L Km.If you want to replace it right now,then go for Fortuner.Bullet proof reliability is the reason to go for Fortuner.

BTW,did you sell your Vento?And,which car did you buy replacing your Vento?
Thats what we have planned, though not till 1.5L kms but till we find a replacement which will be within next 6 months, hopefully.

Yes, I have sold my Vento and got a Jetta DSG.

Oh congrats for buying Jetta DSG.Is it a used one or new one?Then tell me how much did Jetta cost you?Our next car replacing Vento would be a Jetta or another Vento TDI DSG.How much did your Vento run and how much did you sell the car for?Replacement of Vento will be done after she crosses 1,00,000 Km.Presently,our car has completed 77000 Km.But my heart says not to sell Vento as I love the car more than my girlfriend whereas my mind says to sell the car.Presently,we are looking at second car as a company for Vento.Been pestering my dad since few months to get a bigger one.He has decided to buy XUV facelift and booking will be done soon.But,I gave him choices like City and Innova.