Rear Wheel Drive (RWD) Cars in India??

hi
I am planning to make a custom open top car , something like American muscle cars.. Are there any rear wheel drive cars (not SUVs) available here??

I am a newbie , so dont know much about technical stuff.

Please guide me and give suggestions which car would be good for this project..

I am considering a second hand Honda Accord.

Re: RWD cars in India??

Hello mikeandy welcome to TAI. Firstly what is your budget?

I don't think Accord is RWD , not sure though , correct me if am wrong guys.

If your budget is really low then i think the cheapest available RWD you can get is Contessa! If you have a healthy budget look at the likes of Bmw , Merc and Audi.

Accord is surely FWD. cheapest RWD car is Nano. :P Contessa is a RWD and Amby too i think. next comes 3 series and the likes, unless you can pick up a used one for price of accord.

Accord is FWD. I was considering it because of its size, power and cost ( 6-7 lacs). High end cars will not be feasible.

Accord is surely FWD. cheapest RWD car is Nano. :P Contessa is a RWD and Amby too i think. next comes 3 series and the likes. unless u can pick up a used one for price of accord.
Contessa is RWD but under-powered :(

Are all mercs, audis RWD , I mean old models???

For 6-7 lakhs, you are not getting any commendable RWDs around. An old Beemer or Merc maybe available, but they are complex creatures. You don't need the complexity. My take, get a totalled scorpio / safari, complete with chassis and drivetrain. You'll have a ladder chassis, on which you can build whatever you want to, with enough room and scope for Engine transplants.

For body panels what you guys prefer??

(A) Metal body panels
(b) fiber glass
(c) carbon fiber (i think it is the costliest option)

Can you give me an approximate cost ratio for the above three options.