Mahindra XUV500 "Speed" Accessory Alloys Break: Quality Compromise?

Re: Mahindra XUV500 Alloys Break: Quality Compromise?

Alloy wheels getting wrecked or bent under heavy impacts is not at all a big deal BUT they are not supposed to get wrecked this way.

Alloys do get wrecked in case of hitting a pothole hard or hitting the kerb or in case of a major accident or hitting a pothole with deflated or under inflated tires BUT considering the FoS(factor of safety) the alloy wheel is not supposed to wreck even at the forces with are a couple of multiple times of what the alloy is supposed to be subjected to under normal operation.

C'mon man, an alloy wheel getting wrecked at the disc or at the hub point is not acceptable in any case. Even if it happens to a single car, then also it isn't acceptable.

XUV is a vehicle with a corner weight of hardly 700 kgs on front corners and the alloy getting wrecked with this load at 30 kph isn't a good sign. Don't know what the Mahindra or the supplier company have done on the name of FoS or DFMEA or maybe there is some fault in a particular batch(impurities can be there) but isn't it a duty of the manufacturer to have a look at the issue seriously?

I had my Corolla's front wheel slightly and rear wheel completely hit an open manhole at around 70 kph while making a sudden steering input with five people on board and all I had was some issue with rear suspension, absolutely nothing else.

Alloy wheel is supposed to wreck at the diameter or say ring even if it hits something and keeping the tyre intact at it's point even if its deflated so that the vehicle can be halted safely and that's the way they are designed. Everything is designed in a way that they get wrecked at some part under any force over the threshold value, what they do is that they absorb the force and save the remaining structure from wrecking - that way the thing is supposed to work in terms of engineering but the story in this case is just opposite. The alloy broke from where it shouldn't and remained intact at the place it was supposed to wreck to absorb any forces.

People have to say that maybe some force or hitting the kerb has caused it.

@Raj:
You have designed vehicles, you have designed hubs and you have been through design and analysis phase quite well, I'd like to listen from you about the FoS an alloy is supposed to be designed at and how is it supposed to behave even if it hits a kerb sideways with a corner weight of hardly 700 kgs. if you find it acceptable, then I accept it.

Till then, I guess selling off the XUV was a good decision from my father's end. After reading it all, I don't think I can drive an XUV at even 100 kph confidently if it's equipped with any alloys. Not only speed alloys because what BHVM noticed was a W8!

AGAIN INCOMPLETE INFORMATION ALERT!

That was just one incident out of the lakhs of XUVs running on the road and hence we cannot call that a manufacturing defect.

The person who posted this on the forum clearly mentioned - "driver was driving on a narrow and rough road (usual Indian road). Got the left wheels off the road and applied brakes... heard a sound."

It was mostly a case of the wheel hitting on to a kerb or something else off the road.
Incident is incident. If it happens one in thousand ro one in lakh!!! If it happens then it is a scary part. That too the wheels breaking like this, oh my gosh [surprise]. Can't even think of it with my family in it and on three digit speeds!!!

And in your prior post if those alloys are sold by Mahindra in their showrooms as add ons they MUST have tested them on XUV500s. If the company says like you that they are not OEMs then is this what Mahindras are reliable. People say (my friends family owns one) even the interiors quality is of very cheap quality. Other people can confirm it here...

Until this ‘broken alloy’ incident/s are proved as a result of any unexpected heavy impact, it will keep disturbing me. Having said that, I will wait for another 10-20 days or so to learn what Mahindra has to say on this after having it investigated thoroughly. [roll]

If the company says like you that they are not OEMs then is this what Mahindras are reliable. People say (my friends family owns one) even the interiors quality is of very cheap quality. Other people can confirm it here...
What does this subjective opinion of yours prove here ? Poor ‘perceived ’ interior quality = broken alloy ? [frustration]

PS: let’s not make this another XUV/Mahindra bashing thread, share more incidents/experiences in line with the thread title instead. I am sure the concerned authorities are watching this space.

@Raj:
You have designed vehicles, you have designed hubs and you have been through design and analysis phase quite well, I'd like to listen from you about the FoS an alloy is supposed to be designed at and how is it supposed to behave even if it hits a kerb sideways with a corner weight of hardly 700 kgs. if you find it acceptable, then I accept it.
Dear Vipul,

Please understand that I am not defending Mahindra here.

I have clearly stated that alloy wheels should NOT break like this. If Mahindra is selling these as official accessories, then they are indeed responsible.

I repeat, what I mentioned in my earlier posts was that - the issue is with the "speed" rims, not with the stock OE alloys which the W8 comes with.

Incident is incident. If it happens one in thousand ro one in lakh!!! If it happens then it is a scary part. That too the wheels breaking like this, oh my gosh [surprise]. Can't even think of it with my family in it and on three digit speeds!!!
Cmon, I have seen an instance of alloys breaking in a Land Rover. And even a Chevrolet! Does that mean they make poor quality cars? Those alloys broke under impact.

Serious issue: "Speed" rims sold by Mahindra as an accessory is breaking without an impact. It needs to be investigated.

Not a serious issue: OE wheel in the W8 broke on impact when the driver swerved into a ditch. Infact it did not even break, the outer lip was chipped off. Clearly not a problem with quality.

And in your prior post if those alloys are sold by Mahindra in their showrooms as add ons they MUST have tested them on XUV500s. If the company says like you that they are not OEMs then is this what Mahindras are reliable.
Definitely, who is denying that Mahindra should come up with an explanation for the "speed" rims?

People say (my friends family owns one) even the interiors quality is of very cheap quality. Other people can confirm it here...
Maybe your friend is comparing it to some expensive cars. Anyways, I can't comment on that since it is a matter of personal preference. I like the interiors of the XUV personally and I am fine with it's quality too. Because I am aware of the price I paid for the vehicle.

If I wanted better quality plastics on the interior, I could have bought another Innova and live with -

• A 102 bhp engine
  • Poor NVH
  • Lesser Safety
  • Lesser features
I chose to opt for a better equipped car and live with the average plastic quality, which I am fine with.

Incident is incident. If it happens one in thousand ro one in lakh!!! If it happens then it is a scary part. That too the wheels breaking like this, oh my gosh . Can't even think of it with my family in it and on three digit speeds!!!
Wheel is supposed to be built with highest possible factor of safety because if one wheel goes out of sync while at speed then even the 'nut behind the wheel' is simply helpless waiting for physics to play its role and praying God to tell physics not to get him crushed!

And in your prior post if those alloys are sold by Mahindra in their showrooms as add ons they MUST have tested them on XUV500s. If the company says like you that they are not OEMs then is this what Mahindras are reliable. People say (my friends family owns one) even the interiors quality is of very cheap quality. Other people can confirm it here...
On the alloy issue, this is something that was to be taken care of in the development phase.

There are chances that maybe M&M design teams haven't even touched this speed alloy and have relied purely on the supplier data to give it a clean chit.

A wheel has always been fantastic at distributing forces throughout and in case this one faces a concentration of forces at the point where the failure/rupture occurs, then the manufacturers(the one who made and the one who sold under their license) are liable to provide all the owners either a refund or a replacement.
Regarding Mahindra I am quite sure that right now they are more serious than even the owners on this issue(fingers crossed), let's wait and watch what will be the outcome.

On interior quality: XUV is a fantastic balance of everything, after looking at the price tag; really very less is left for complaining. Although fit and finish isn't great but it isn't that bad either.

Until this ‘broken alloy’ incident/s are proved as a result of any unexpected heavy impact, it will keep disturbing me. Having said that, I will wait for another 10-20 days or so to learn what Mahindra has to say on this after having it investigated thoroughly.
Even more important question:
Will Mahindra share it's outcome with anyone or they will simply hide it? If they hide it, then how will anyone come to know if they are safe or not? Indian manufacturers have always been a bit ignorant here and the philosophy of "chalta hai(let it be)" is quite well accepted here. Now who knows if they simply ignore the issue under the blanket that it is okay for regular use?

IMO the components like wheels, tires, brakes etc are meant to be designed keeping highest possible quality and factor of safety in mind because these are the basic components whose success or failure on the road decides if the occupants of the vehicle will remain on this side or that side of the thin line between life and death.

let me clarify
the person I met with cracked alloy rim was w8 oem rim only. so it's not just speed alloys cracking. also it was a catastrophic failiure for the vehicle but humans were unhurt.

I can also attest that w 8 Interior quality and plastics are really class. they're much better than my limited ed hyundai i10 plastics and FAR better than old gen fortuner plastics which has a very expensive Toyota badge for nothing.

it's the w4 plastics which are terrible (I've driven all 3 versions ) and worse than my i10 dashboard. anyways plastics and alloys have no relation.

let me clarify
the person I met with cracked alloy rim was w8 oem rim only. so it's not just speed alloys cracking. also it was a catastrophic failiure for the vehicle but humans were unhurt.
Kindly ask him whether the alloy broke on impact or it broke on it's own accord while running.

If it broke on it's own, then Mahindra needs to inspect the OE rims as well.

What does this subjective opinion of yours prove here ? Poor ‘perceived ’ interior quality = broken alloy ? [frustration]
Its not just 'perceived' opinion as what you have perceived [lol].Its the felt opinion by one of XUV owners. Why did you equate by yourself interior quality = broken alloy!?!?! [frustration] What the owners said as their opinion on cheap interiors not only the plastics but the seating, seat covers etc... and even he showed them to me. Forgot to mention of the cheapo and useless suspension system which he always cries daily about. They creak like hell one every small bad patch. Also he mentions about bad braking capability which again squeals and does not feel the driver anywhere close to confident. Do all these relate only to the alloys which are just broken by some careless driver driving on some stretch of grand canyon?!?! Think...

PS: let’s not make this another XUV/Mahindra bashing thread, share more incidents/experiences in line with the thread title instead. I am sure the concerned authorities are watching this space.
Dude & others, I am not here to pinpoint and do an R&D on all cheapo things of XUV. what i was told by other XUV owners i just put them here. If people are very much biased to XUV they will go and buy it even if it is a cheapo quality.

This is a serious quality issue from mahindra. People where buying these rim because of trust from mahindra. Only just replacing the damage rim does not eliminate risk of damage or breakage of wheels in future. My friends works in xuv5oo production line will let them know this issue.

Now learn what Mahindra has to say on the issue.
We do not yet know the root cause, part has reached diagnosis center and team is on the job. Since this is an accessory (ie not factory fit) a detailed FMEA will be done at our accessory vendor’s end and any concern identified would be addressed with help from M&M experts.

At Mahindra we attach top priority to safety , please rest assured of our firm commitment on this and steps we will take to reach out to users for a proactive inspection for that batch of alloys if investigations suggests that there is a need to do so.

Thank you again for taking the trouble to share the post with us.
and I am impressed as of now, not many would have done this in our country.

Now learn what Mahindra has to say on the issue.
Nothing new or special, I was well aware of what is written since three days, please have a look at the following attachments(two are from my phone and one from twitter) and please do thoroughly check the dates and time of conversations:
conv10.JPG

conv2.JPG

twitter.JPG

What's my concern is that:

tbhp.JPG

They still have to say that FMEA will be conducted at the vendor's end!

Adding to this no FMEA or FEA on this earth can tell you what the forces are going to do in a thousand or two kilometers of running. C'mon man, I am also having enough experience with these FEA and CFD softwares under my belt. All one is going to get through these analysis is the areas of force concentrations under different force applications as well as where the changes in the design are required. [;)]

Coming to next, my question still remains intact and let me quote it again:
Will Mahindra share it's outcome with anyone or they will simply hide it? If they hide it, then how will anyone come to know if they are safe or not? Indian manufacturers have always been a bit ignorant here and the philosophy of "chalta hai(let it be)" is quite well accepted here. Now who knows if they simply ignore the issue under the blanket that it is okay for regular use?
Let's keep hoping for good...

Raj,
Cent percent agreed with your above 2~3 posts. Couldn't put it in Better words.

Others,
When I meet the guy again (He's on other city) I will ask the long detail why disk cracked because He was quite furious at that time so could'nt ask.

Note- Off topic content removed

My God!! I feel this issue is over hyped. "DO NOT" misunderstand my words as if i am not taking this issue seriously, this is indeed a serious issue but with these scattered incidents I won't blame or doubt in quality of all running alloys running with XUVs on earth.
Every now and then we come across failure of critical components in much more expensive cars. It doesn't mean to question directly on quality parameters of the manufacturer or model,
I.e. I read on another forum about locking of steering in a running Land Rover Discovery 4. a Beemer had transmission failure while cruising on EWay, can we call it ignorance towards safety / Quality of JLR or BMW? No, there are quality checks and standards but Apollo 13 and Sukhoi MKi30 also fails. Just to mention, last month a Sukhoi fighter jet was crashed and reason? Pilot ejection system ignited on it's own which pushed pilot out of aircraft and unattended fighter torn into pieces.
- Jignesh

My God!! I feel this issue is over hyped. "DO NOT" misunderstand my words as if i am not taking this issue seriously, this is indeed a serious issue but with these scattered incidents I won't blame or doubt in quality of all running alloys running with XUVs on earth.
Every now and then we come across failure of critical components in much more expensive cars. It doesn't mean to question directly on quality parameters of the manufacturer or model,
I.e. I read on another forum about locking of steering in a running Land Rover Discovery 4. a Beemer had transmission failure while cruising on EWay, can we call it ignorance towards safety / Quality of JLR or BMW? No, there are quality checks and standards but Apollo 13 and Sukhoi MKi30 also fails. Just to mention, last month a Sukhoi fighter jet was crashed and reason? Pilot ejection system ignited on it's own which pushed pilot out of aircraft and unattended fighter torn into pieces.
- Jignesh
So you mean to say , since problems arises in expensive vehicles , smaller less expensive cars haiving problem is no big deal ? Next time you should say you don't have a good car , you should not report it.

This is just a discussion. And it's good that mahindra replied to the customer who reported this and there should be an explanation as well which i hope mahindra gives soon.