Anyone Tried DIY ECU Remap?


Thread Starter #1
Joined
Apr 13, 2014
Messages
53
Likes
36
Location
rajkot, gujarat
hi guys, many of the technical minds are here in the forum, so thought if anyone gone through the DIY of ecu remap ?
if anyone did then please mention,
[:)]
regards,
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2014
Messages
62
Likes
39
Location
HYDERABAD
Dear vtlreja2,

What is your vehicle make and other details.

Do you have any remapping equipment with you.

Please share the details to have better idea to suggest.

kiran
 
Thread Starter #4
Joined
Apr 13, 2014
Messages
53
Likes
36
Location
rajkot, gujarat
I know the hardware and software is available online since it is usually done through the OBD port, but I have only ever used that port for diagnostics!
okay,
yeah i also seen the video on that and he was also doing the diy,
only i am concern that how the change the parameters ofthe maps,
 
Thread Starter #5
Joined
Apr 13, 2014
Messages
53
Likes
36
Location
rajkot, gujarat
Dear vtlreja2,

What is your vehicle make and other details.

Do you have any remapping equipment with you.

Please share the details to have better idea to suggest.

kiran
well i have punto mjd 2014 model,

dont have any equipment, all i have is Mpps software version 12 and 13,

planning to buy cable,

anything else would be required ????
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2014
Messages
58
Likes
90
Location
Hyderabad/Mumbai/UK
Ecu mapping is a very specialist area. Essentially and broadly speaking the ecu manages the air/fuel mixture, fuel injection and spark based on input parameters it receives from various sensors monitoring air tempt, air pressure, crankshaft position sensor, camshaft sensors, engine speed, knock sensor, lambda oxygen sensor measuring exhaust gas oxygen content.
To truly tune an engine a rolling road setup is needed and the ecu hooked up to a pc via which various parameters can be altered to improve power, mileage, etc. at various engine speeds and loads.

A Stock ecu can also be "reflashed" ie a new engine management software be downloaded to improve performance or also an additional hardware box be piggybacked onto the stock ecu to do the same job. These two are the easiest options compared to doing rolling road tuning with a programmable ecu. The rolling road tuning with programmable ecu will give far better results but not worth it for an ordinary road car. Also the programmable ecu is coupled with other upgrades such as throttle bodies, turbos, superchargers, reboring, hot camshafts, etc etc etc to name just a few.
I run a DTA fast programmable ecu on one of my cars and it is truly an amazing piece of kit pushing bhp up by almost 40 horses on a moderately modified engine.

An excellent read is Engine management by Dave Walker.
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2014
Messages
5
Likes
3
Location
pune
If you want to do re-mapping, then you have to find out the logic of the ECU. And find out the boost pressure of Turbo Charger. Increase this step by step and see how the engine is behaving. But be carefull
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2014
Messages
1,550
Likes
1,296
Location
Mangalore
My understanding is remapping can be done. but however its best tuned on dyno isn't it. doing it as a DIY is pretty dangerous. please correct me if i'm wrong!!. would like to know more from people who have hands on exp with this. i know remapping chips that are there in the market for petrol as well as diesels but those are pre programmed.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Messages
273
Likes
153
Location
Chennai
It is sufficient to change the following parameters in EPROM
Turbo Pressure
Torque limiter
Part throttle injection
Fuel during acceleration
Have never tried it on own. My colleague is an automobile engineer. He has done it for many (Ok, only three since people are generally afraid to mess up ECU :-) ) friends who have turbo charge engines.
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2014
Messages
1,550
Likes
1,296
Location
Mangalore
however i wanted to know is.

1. getting the car tuned through Dyno is better or doing it yourself is better which gives better results. as i had read somewhere that tuning is always suppposed to be done on dynos only, for accurate results.

so just wanted to confirm the same.
 
Top Bottom