FORCE GURKHA
Hello friends, this is my first ownership thread and I request group members to kindly ignore any mistakes that I may have committed in writing the review and your guidance will be highly appreciated by myself.
Hi, I am from Shimla
And I have just completed one month of ownership of “Force – Gurkha HT” which I endearingly call “Iron-Horse” yesterday.
Have driven it for around 2000 kms during the first month of ownership and the oddo now reads at about 3200 kms.
Well the journey with Ironhorse during this short span of time has been quite varied with extreme feelings cropping in randomly through out this time. However, off late, the iron horse is giving in slowly to the reins and has settled in to a reasonable extent, where one can proudly ride it anywhere.
A picture to begin with
Buying Decision
I am working in Shimla, Himachal Pradesh and have to visit interior areas regularly and extremes like Kinnaur/ Lahaul & Spiti occasionally (once a year or so). So, my vehicle used to be subjected to bad roads and I wanted a vehicle like that only.
However, I was owning a 2011 Verna Fluidic CRDI, a very good vehicle which in my opinion comes with the best diesel engine both in terms of power and efficiency. People complained about its limited handling abilities, rightly so in their own domain, but I took the same as a blessing in disguise, as I found it good enough till the speeds of 100-110 KMPH or so and beyond which I believe that one should not venture on Indian roads. I purchased the vehicle when I was working in plains before shifting to the hills. Here, the biggest issue was the limited ground clearance of the vehicle and the front overhang which will not only smell but also touch everything which came on its way.
So, basically, I was looking for a tough vehicle with good ground clearance that can sustain hardships which the terrain would offer and my budget after stretching to maximum was Rs. 10 lakhs at max. Few contenders which I had shortlisted for my requirement were pre-owned Pajero SFX, Bolero LX 4x4, Mahindra Thar and lastly Force Gurkha.
A pre-owned Pajero SFX
I was fascinated by Pajero SFX for long, as the vehicle has decent off & on –road capabilities coupled with Japanese reliability (biggest plus
) and continued to search for a decent pre-owned vehicle. However, among the Pajeros I tested those within budget were badly maintained and decent ones were way overpriced, way beyond my budget. I think during the last couple of years, prices of pre-owned Pajeros have appreciated rather than coming down. Also, the short gearing also dissuaded me from going for one.
Bolero LX 4x4
Thar CRDi
Gurkha 4x4x4….
The final buying decision….
Buying experience
At the time of delivery
Ownership experience : Day 1
Ownership experience: Month 1
here goes oddo pic

A – ONE MONTH OF OWNERSHIPHello friends, this is my first ownership thread and I request group members to kindly ignore any mistakes that I may have committed in writing the review and your guidance will be highly appreciated by myself.
Hi, I am from Shimla
And I have just completed one month of ownership of “Force – Gurkha HT” which I endearingly call “Iron-Horse” yesterday.
Have driven it for around 2000 kms during the first month of ownership and the oddo now reads at about 3200 kms.
Well the journey with Ironhorse during this short span of time has been quite varied with extreme feelings cropping in randomly through out this time. However, off late, the iron horse is giving in slowly to the reins and has settled in to a reasonable extent, where one can proudly ride it anywhere.
A picture to begin with

Buying Decision
I am working in Shimla, Himachal Pradesh and have to visit interior areas regularly and extremes like Kinnaur/ Lahaul & Spiti occasionally (once a year or so). So, my vehicle used to be subjected to bad roads and I wanted a vehicle like that only.
However, I was owning a 2011 Verna Fluidic CRDI, a very good vehicle which in my opinion comes with the best diesel engine both in terms of power and efficiency. People complained about its limited handling abilities, rightly so in their own domain, but I took the same as a blessing in disguise, as I found it good enough till the speeds of 100-110 KMPH or so and beyond which I believe that one should not venture on Indian roads. I purchased the vehicle when I was working in plains before shifting to the hills. Here, the biggest issue was the limited ground clearance of the vehicle and the front overhang which will not only smell but also touch everything which came on its way.
So, basically, I was looking for a tough vehicle with good ground clearance that can sustain hardships which the terrain would offer and my budget after stretching to maximum was Rs. 10 lakhs at max. Few contenders which I had shortlisted for my requirement were pre-owned Pajero SFX, Bolero LX 4x4, Mahindra Thar and lastly Force Gurkha.
A pre-owned Pajero SFX
I was fascinated by Pajero SFX for long, as the vehicle has decent off & on –road capabilities coupled with Japanese reliability (biggest plus
![Thumbs Up [thumbsup] [thumbsup]](https://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/images/smilies/Thumbs%20Up.png)
Bolero LX 4x4
Bolero is a proven and time tested vehicle for rough roads, and it seemed to be the most suitable vehicle among the other contenders for reasons such as tough vehicle for harsh terrains, cheapest among the lot and the availability of local mechanics in the interiors. However, less GC, bouncy ride courtesy leaf springs all around, lack of Air Conditioner were few negatives. The biggest negative for me, however, was the lack of commitment from the dealership about the date of delivery.
Thar CRDi
Thar stands out from the lot or any other vehicle available in the market, with its iconic JEEP looks and gem of an engine. However, I felt like that it will take a lot of efforts in customization to make it a comfortable family ride which can accommodate 4 people with luggage. Also, there were doubts about the reliability of non-OEM hard tops and the attitude of Mahindra dealers related to warranty issues. Still, I loved the vehicle for its looks and the feel it gives. Almost zeroed on it as I was also getting a good deal including free insurance and Rs. 10K cash discount, until I did a test drive of Gurkha on 27th December 2014.
Gurkha 4x4x4….
I was in Chandigarh for some personal work and happened to pass by the Force motors showroom and saw a Gurkha inside showroom. Well, the looks of the vehicle in matte black colour impressed me to the core and I decided to check it further. Earlier, I had read a lot about this vehicle on the online forums and saw its pics over there and just like the Thar reviews, left me with a feeling of mixed bag and dissuaded me to park my hard earned money in these vehicles. Gurkha reviews were a bit more extreme in comparison to the Thar ones, I must pertinently mention here.
A red soft-top and a matte black Gurkha were parked inside the showroom. Talked to the showroom representative, Mr. Avnish Sharma and asked for a test ride. We took it for a test ride, initially, the hard clutch and very hard to operate gear lever, reminded me of the first vehicle that I drove in my life, which was a Mahindra 295-B DI tractor, almost 15 years back. Among the first things, I noticed in the vehicle was “defogger” setting of AC, which I believe is the biggest plus over AC Bolero/ Thar while driving in foggy conditions of North Indian winters. We took it to an off-road track near the railway station and subjected it to various tests, well once again I would state that my requirement was not for an off-road vehicle, but any delights that come your way, should be welcomed. Tested its descent, crawl function, mud bashing and also the rear bench comfort, where my wife was sitting. I was hugely impressed by the Gurkha’s ability to take on slopes courtesy the approach and departure angles. However, coming back to Verna, I realized how hard Gurkha’s clutch was. The showroom guy continued to repeat that clutch & gearbox will be light on new vehicle.
Well, the only immediate effect of test-ride was to postpone the purchase of Mahindra Thar.
The final buying decision….
I undertook a detailed analysis among Gurkha and Thar and concluded that Gurkha suits my requirement the most and certainly suited better than Thar, my analysis was based on the following premises.
1. Engine: The bullet-proof & time tested DI engine of Gurkha beats the modern CRDE of Thar in the conditions which exist here, where one requires high amount of torque at lower RPMs to counter the steepest slopes with ease from stand still and also one can roam around at comfortable speeds without the need of gear shifts to keep a crde engine happy in its torque band, already had an experience of this from Swift and Verna, which were comparatively much lighter vehicles, thus one can enjoy the ride without being concerned about stalling of the vehicle when speed reduces over the sharp curves or the steep sudden inclines. The conditions may be totally different on plain roads or good hill roads and accordingly the choice may also differ.
2. Hard Top:
The Hard Top gives its biggest advantage over THAR, Hard Top is a must here to save oneself from the freezing cold conditions that exist in higher reaches and during winters. And also from dust which is omnipresent on all roads except for the major highways.
3. The Ride:
Gurkha offers a very good planted ride unlike Thar and offers ZERO body roll. This was a major deciding factor in going for Gurkha over Thar. Met a few friends and acquaintances who were the owners of Thar and almost all were complaining about the bumpy ride offered and especially on the back seat.
4. Other Goodies:
Gurkha is a vehicle which in stock form can take it to off-roading just with a change in stock tyres. The Differential locks, ample ground clearance which can be further improved by change of tyres, heavy tubular chasis, snorkel and the off-road enthusiasts can count or counter many more points about this vehicle also provide a reason to go for this vehicle. Even though I did not purchase the vehicle for off-road purpose, but here roads are so bad that they can be compared to off-road tracks itself. So, in these points again, it scored over Thar.
5. Calendar year:
With the change of year, Mahindra guys even refused to reveal the new price of Thar till about mid-January and there came the shocker, it was revised almost by 40 K here and here monopoly is such that they were charging increased price for existing vehicles itself, which were earlier available with cash discounts and free insurance were now coming with increased price without any benefits, so in effect there was a loss of about Rs. 80 K. Thus, suddenly Gurkha seemed a value for money proposition in comparison to Thar. The behavior of Mahindra dealership simply decimated one of their potential customer I would say.
Buying experience
After finalizing the plunge for Gurkha, contacted dealership and they assured delivery within a week of booking amount. I also applied for vehicle loan with my employer and it was soon approved. So on the day of Holi, 6th March 2015, I joined the league of Gurkha owners and was soon to discover what the vehicle would offer and what it would demand!
Reached dealership around 09:30 am as I had some other appointments later in the day. Checked it thoroughly again and again. Well the workmanship of Force motors is pathetic, being a mechanical engineer myself, I was only wondering what sort of machining they would have done inside the engine, if the apparent one was so horrible, I wondered if they knew about the honing process at all forget about the micron finish of ovality and other tolerances. But the 3 lakh km engine warranty assured me, that howsoever bad there workmanship and machining was, the engine design ought to be perfect to take care of any such flaws. The necessary tolerances must already have been accounted in the engine design.
At the time of delivery

Ownership experience : Day 1
After completing the formalities, we left the dealership by 1130 am to reach Jalandhar, which is around 125km from Chandigarh. The highway is partly four laned and partly two laned but entire stretch provided excellent tarmac with moderate traffic, considering it was a holiday. Soon, the gurkha welcomed with its first niggle, which continues even till date. The bonnet lock disengaged and it became partially open. Though the design is such that, it is a double lock mechanism, where if the primary lock fails, the secondary lock system will engage the bonnet. We checked a few mechanics/ denters on the highway, they tried with the spring, but to no-avail, confirmed it with the service centre guys and they assured that the secondary system will continue to hold bumper for good. Still, adhering to precaution, did not cross the speed of 80 KMPH after this. Earlier did a few speed-runs till about 90-95 and the vehicle felt capable of doing speeds like that for hours together.
Ownership experience: Month 1
So far, I have “successfully” completed one month of Gurkha’s ownership during which I have completed around 2000 km of driving as the oddo now reads 3174 KM, and the initial oddo reading at the time of delivery was 1250 km.
here goes oddo pic