What's Your Computer's Configuration?


Joined
Oct 5, 2010
Messages
3,069
Likes
84
Location
New Delhi
Re: Whats your computers configuration?

How much is the memory
please don't mind but if it has memory of 2GB then doesn't mean it is fast . stop comparing graphic card by looking at memory alone . 512MB GPU can run faster then 2GB . its hardware which makes GPU faster not memory alone .
But almost all new GPU comes with 1GB Ram .
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
554
Likes
9
Location
Kannur,Kerala
Re: Whats your computers configuration?

please don't mind but if it has memory of 2GB then doesn't mean it is fast . stop comparing graphic card by looking at memory alone . 512MB GPU can run faster then 2GB . its hardware which makes GPU faster not memory alone .
But almost all new GPU comes with 1GB Ram .
I doesn't mean the ram .i mean the graphic card's memory.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2011
Messages
76
Likes
7
Location
Gumla
Re: Whats your computers configuration?

The graphic card memory is what Mastersquall is talking about. The speed depends on the chipset and not necessarily the memory. What he means is that two cards with same chipset, the one with more memory will perform better. But different chipset different memory, not necessary the one with more memory will be better.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2010
Messages
3,069
Likes
84
Location
New Delhi
Re: Whats your computers configuration?

I think better memory will have better graphics
Wrong!!! . Better core speed give more better graphic . if those low class graphic card could have given better graphic then why people are wasting 20-30k alone on graphic card . But if you don't play games on your pc then those low class graphic card will do the job .
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
244
Likes
1
Location
new delhi
Re: Whats your computers configuration?

The configuration of my desktop is:
Processor: 1.81GHZ AMD athlon xp2200
RAM: 640MB (512MB + 128MB) DDR
HDD: 40GB
Integrated graphics
Purchased from our own HCL.

Laptop:
Processor: 2.0GHz Intel Core2duo with 800MHz FSB
RAM: 3GB DDR2
HDD: 250GB
Intel X3100 Integrated graphics
15.4WXGA screen
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2011
Messages
76
Likes
7
Location
Gumla
Wrong!!! . Better core speed give more better graphic . if those low class graphic card could have given better graphic then why people are wasting 20-30k alone on graphic card . But if you don't play games on your pc then those low class graphic card will do the job .
Yes he is right. Better core speeds will give better processing power for games. Only low graphic cards wont do the trick. Low graphic cards are good for only HTPC's.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2011
Messages
2,924
Likes
2,198
Location
Madras
Re: Whats your computers configuration?

Here is my laptop configuration
Make : Comapq
Model : Presario CQ40 (I forgot the actual model)
AMD Athlon Dual Core Procesor
3 GB DDR2 RAM
320GB HDD
14" Screen
512 ATI Graphics (which i never utilize[lol])

Desktop at home:
Make : Compaq
Model : No idea (almost 7 years old)
P4 Processor
ASUS Mother Board
1 GB SD RAM
120 GB HDD (80+40)
15" TFT + 17"CRT (CRT was a gift to me)

Desktop is being used by my nephews for gaming and occasionaly by Dad for surfing.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2012
Messages
352
Likes
11
Location
Bangalore
Re: My new PC!

Recently i upgraded my PC, So here is the config

AMD FX 6100 3.3Ghz
Corsair Vengeance DDR3 8 GB (1 x 8 GB)
ASUS M5A97_R20
1GB HD 5450 ATIRADEON
Seagate Barracuda 1 TB Desktop Internal Hard Drive
22 LED Monitor HDMI Samsung
Intex Power supply 450w
System Fan Fuji
HDMI Cable
Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
UPS not needed since i have home UPS running
Mercury Speakers i preserve from my old systems

My next upgrade is going to be graphics, one question here will my motherboard support sli/crossfire technology.

Since i have HD 5450 do i need to install another 5450 to support dual crossfire or can i install another high end graphics card.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Jan 21, 2012
Messages
2,882
Likes
295
Location
mumbai
Re: My new PC!

Recently i upgraded my PC, So here is the config

AMD FX 6100 3.3Ghz
Corsair Vengeance DDR3 8 GB (1 x 8 GB)
ASUS M5A97_R20
1GB HD 5450 ATIRADEON
Seagate Barracuda 1 TB Desktop Internal Hard Drive
22 LED Monitor HDMI Samsung
Intex Power supply 450w
System Fan Fuji
HDMI Cable
Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
UPS not needed since i have home UPS running
Mercury Speakers i preserve from my old systems

My next upgrade is going to be graphics, one question here will my motherboard support sli/crossfire technology.

Since i have HD 5450 do i need to install another 5450 to support dual crossfire or can i install another high end graphics card.
crossfire on such a low end GPU would be a waste of time, resources etc.

would suggest you invest in a better PSU and get for a 7750/7770/7850 or 7870 GPU.

sell your 5450 or use it on a HTPC if you have one.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2012
Messages
352
Likes
11
Location
Bangalore
Re: My new PC!

I bought 5450 only for time being and i would be upgrading again with PSU and GPU as suggested by you.

Tell me one thing will my ASUS M5a97 R2 board supports SLI technology or only crossfire.

Also explain what is 3way 4way and quad GPU's in terms of both sli and crossfire.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2012
Messages
2,882
Likes
295
Location
mumbai
Re: My new PC!

I bought 5450 only for time being and i would be upgrading again with PSU and GPU as suggested by you.

Tell me one thing will my ASUS M5a97 R2 board supports SLI technology or only crossfire.

Also explain what is 3way 4way and quad GPU's in terms of both sli and crossfire.
for starters crossfire is not a cost effective method.

there are losses in terms of power output and overall efficiency (as compared) to a single GPU solution.

those crossfire/SLI are used only when the applications are GPU intensive like photoshop or Fx, 3Dmax where in the applications are more GPU intensive.

i would suggest you check out for your requirements.


many people who have opted for crossfire have done it the flagship GPUs, like 7970 or a GT 580. whe rein the top end was not enough.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 2, 2012
Messages
352
Likes
11
Location
Bangalore
Re: My New PC!

Thanks Superbad for correcting me, mostly i will be buying 6670 one more doubt can i club this 6670 with my old 5450 and achieve a multi GPU support.

or else i have to buy a same version of cards for enabling a crossfireX support.

More importantly i need to have Corsair PSU before upgrading Graphics card.
 

Top Bottom