Volkswagen India's Compact Sedan Called Ameo (Priced at ₹5.14 Lacs)

Re: Volkswagen India's Compact Sedan Called Ameo

Looks very plain and boring (A bit ugly at the rear as well). All these features will definitely make this car the priciest of Compact sedans. I don't think those 16" wheels will make it to production since even the Vento and Polo get only 15" if I'm right.
Apart from the build quality, engine and premium-ness associated with VW brand and its Polo/Vento siblings, this car doesn't have any other major Plus points over its rivals. In fact, most of its rivals look better and are supposed to be much more cheaper.
VW could have brought in an SUV on the same platform instead.[frustration]

VW AMEO

VW-Ameo-front-quarter-press-shots.jpg
VW-Ameo-press-shots.jpg
VW-Ameo-rear-quarter-press-shots.jpg
VW-Ameo-interior-press-shots.jpg
VW-Ameo-rear-AC-press-shots.jpg
VW-Ameo-boot-press-shots.jpg

The VW Ameo will be available in petrol and diesel variants. Diesel power is sourced from a 1.5-liter TDI engine that is confirmed with a 5-speed manual gearbox or a 7-speed DSG. As for the petrol variant, it packs a 1.2-liter three-cylinder MPI petrol engine mated to a 5-speed manual gearbox.

Read more: VW Ameo compact sedan revealed

Source:https://www.facebook.com/MotorStreatHum/

The exteriors gives me a mixed feeling. The front looks good. The rear in come angles looks quirky. After all, this is a compact sedan. Much cannot be expected in looks and the manufacturers needs to restrict the cars within 4000mm.

Coming to interiors, standard VW fare. Premium looking interior, good grade plastics, Auto AC, perfectly positioned seats, flat bottom steering, dead pedal, driver armrest(hope this comes only in top variant), dead pedal, headlight controls, all looking premium. For me, one of the best looking interiors in compact sedan segment. It has cruise control, rain sensing wipers, auto dimming IVRM's which are new to this segment. Hope Ameo tastes success..

Volkswagen Ameo looks good from front like the Polo, Vento but side isn't to my liking. I like the Aspire & Amaze better, but the rear is good and mix of Rapid, Polo.

I wish VW had given a notchback (Accent Viva, Octavia/Laura) look to it. It would have made it a better looker especially from sides.

Coming to Interiors, they are good if a bit boring I can say, have been seeing same interiors since 2010 & they feel dated despite many updates. I wont comment about the Interior plastics, because its all hard but fit & finish is good. I don't have anything to praise about the interiors in these Triplets (Polo/Vento/Ameo).

If one reason I could consider this one is because of the DSG gearbox with Diesel Engine. That's the only thing I feel special in this one. It will make sense if VW prices the 1.5 TDI DSG version under 10-10.5 lakhs on road.

Lets wait for prices, but I am guessing it will do 2500/month whatever the pricing maybe.

Volkswagen India has unveiled their Compact Sedan AMEO at a media unveiling held in New Delhi today. The car shall go on sale in 2nd half of 2016 and prices haven't been announced today. Here is the official coverage for The Automotive India of the VW AMEO unveiling ceremony.

20160202_131812.jpg

20160202_132545.jpg

20160202_133006.jpg

20160202_133114.jpg

20160202_133325.jpg

20160202_133506.jpg

20160202_134322.jpg

20160202_134326.jpg

20160202_134314.jpg

20160202_134300.jpg

20160202_134254.jpg

20160202_134247.jpg

20160202_134336.jpg

20160202_134355.jpg

20160202_134433.jpg

20160202_134442.jpg

20160202_134516.jpg

20160202_134606.jpg

20160202_134701.jpg

20160202_134748.jpg

* More to come!

The alloys looks classy. Seeing the tyre, I guess the size is somewhere equal or greater to 185 section which looks good and will feel good for the compact sedan.

I get the feeling that they are preparing to replace the Vento sometime in the future. It simply doesnt make sense to have the Vento unless they equip it with a better engine like 1.4 TSI or 1.8 TSI. Who will pay 2 lacs more for a 140 litres boot space ?
If VW prices the car above the competitors, it will just not take off. I think the market in general would have been more eager to see the Tiguan or similar SUV instead of another stunted jugaad design.

As much as it looks good, I don't understand why they go for beige interiors! In these days, where all the places are dusty or polluted, it is a big chore to keep them clean! I find black interiors will be right choice for us. But at least, manufacturers should give option of choosing interior theme just like they give in developed countries!

Anyways, if priced below DZire, it will eat the share in the CS cake!

Looks nice. Same interiors. Come on VW please some changes in interior. Inside all looks same. You will have to step out to find if it is Rapid, polo, vento and now ameo. Feature list is impressive though.

To me it is looking same as Figo aspire. It will be priced in between polo and vento. Lets see how it will fare.

^^Dunno why but the car is actually looking really nice/attractive from the angle the pic is clicked at.