Toyota Fortuner Coming; Now launched!

The much awaited car of the century, Toyota Fortuner is finally coming tomorrow. The car was already on display on few Toyota dealerships.
I'm quite excited about it and our members torque.addict & notjustshrawan will be attending its launch.

Hope you guys get some Excl. Images of the launch for us. [thumbsup]

Yes. Even i am waiting for one of the biggest launch of this year.

torque.addict & notjustshrawan share the pics soon :)

Toyota Fortuner priced at 18.45 lakh ex-showroom Delhi

The Toyota Fortuner with the 3.0-liter D-4D engine that puts out 171 PS, 343 Nm is priced at 18.45 lakh (Delhi ex-showroom price).

The Fortuner comes with ABS, disc brakes and Airbags to name a few features. The colors are super white, silver mica metallic, grey mica metallic, black mica and light blue metallic.

The Fortuner comes with full time 4WD.

Source - http://indianautosblog.com/2009/08/...aunch-priced-at-18-45-lakhs-ex-showroom-delhi

Phew!Finally, The fortuner is here!
Pricing seems to be nice, Now the Chevy Captiva has got some cool competitor.

Here is the complete feature list,

INTERIOR FEATURES
MID (Multi Information Display)
Optitron Combimeter with Illumination control
Chrome Inside Door Handles
Wood Finish Panels
Rear Console Box
Day / Night Inside Rear View Mirror
Lockable Glove Box
Front Map Lamp with Overhead Storage Console
Door Ajar Warning
Seat Belt Warning (Driver + Passenger)
Tachometer
Tripmeter (2 Nos.)
Cigarette Lighter with Illumination
Power Outlet 12V DC (2 Nos.)
Sunvisor (Driver Side with Ticket Holder, Passenger Side with Vanity Mirror & Lid)

SEAT & INTERIOR TRIM
Leather Wrapped Steering Wheel, Gear Knob and Transfer Case Knob
Front Sports-type Seats
2nd Row Bench Seat with Armrest (60:40 Slide/Tumble)
3rd Row Bench Seat (50:50 Space-up)
Seat Slide on Front and 2nd row seats
Reclining Seats (All)
Driver Seat Height Adjustment
Leather Seats & Trim

EXTERIOR FEATURES
6-Spoke 17″ Alloy Wheels
Chrome ORVM (Outside Rear View Mirrors) with Electrical Adjust & Retract
Chrome Door Handles
Projector-type Headlamps
Front Fog Lamps
Roof Rails
Rear Spoiler with Integrated High Mount Stop Lamp
Front Wiper with Mist and Intermittent function (with Variable Time Adjustment)
Rear Wiper and Defogger
Bonnet Scoop
Side Steps

SAFETY & SECURITY INTERIOR FEATURES
MID (Multi Information Display)
Optitron Combimeter with Illumination control
Chrome Inside Door Handles
Wood Finish Panels
Rear Console Box
Day / Night Inside Rear View Mirror
Lockable Glove Box
Front Map Lamp with Overhead Storage Console
Door Ajar Warning
Seat Belt Warning (Driver + Passenger)
Tachometer
Tripmeter (2 Nos.)
Cigarette Lighter with Illumination
Power Outlet 12V DC (2 Nos.)
Sunvisor (Driver Side with Ticket Holder, Passenger Side with Vanity Mirror & Lid)

SEAT & INTERIOR TRIM
Leather Wrapped Steering Wheel, Gear Knob and Transfer Case Knob
Front Sports-type Seats
2nd Row Bench Seat with Armrest (60:40 Slide/Tumble)
3rd Row Bench Seat (50:50 Space-up)
Seat Slide on Front and 2nd row seats
Reclining Seats (All)
Driver Seat Height Adjustment
Leather Seats & Trim

EXTERIOR FEATURES
6-Spoke 17″ Alloy Wheels
Chrome ORVM (Outside Rear View Mirrors) with Electrical Adjust & Retract
Chrome Door Handles
Projector-type Headlamps
Front Fog Lamps
Roof Rails
Rear Spoiler with Integrated High Mount Stop Lamp
Front Wiper with Mist and Intermittent function (with Variable Time Adjustment)
Rear Wiper and Defogger
Bonnet Scoop
Side Steps

SAFETY & SECURITY
GOA Body
SRS Airbags (Driver + Passenger)
ABS
Back Sonar
Seatbelts (Front: 3-point ELR x 2 with Adjustable Anchor,
2nd Row: 3-point ELR x 2 + 2-point NR x 1, 3rd Row: 3-point ELR x 2)
Immobiliser

COMFORT & CONVENIENCE
Dual Auto A/c (with Rear Air Conditioner Switch & Ceiling Vents for 2nd & 3rd Rows)
Heater (Front Only)
Power Steering with Audio & MID Control Switches on Steering Wheel
Power Windows with Driver Side Auto Up-Down
Tilt Steering Column
2 DIN 6CD Ch. (MP3, WMA), AM/FM Audio System with 6 Speakers
Printed Antenna
Keyless Entry
Back Sonar (Beep Type)
Power Door Lock

ENGINE
Type D-4D Diesel with Intercooler Turbocharger, 4 Cylinders In-line
Valve Train 16 Valve DOHC
Displacement 2982 cm3 (cc)
Fuel Supply System Common-Rail type
Max. Output 126 kW @ 3600 rpm (171 PS @ 3600 rpm)
Max. Torque 343 Nm @ 1400-3400 rpm (34.98 kg-m @ 1400-3400 rpm)

DIMENSIONS & WEIGHT
Overall L x W x H 4695 mm x 1840 mm x 1850 mm
Wheel Base 2750 mm
Tread Front / Gear 1540 mm / 1540 mm
Minimum Ground Clearance 221 mm
Minimum Turning Radius 5.9 m
Fuel Tank Capacity 80 litres
Seating Capacity 7-Seater
Max. Kerb Weight 1955 kg
Gross Weight 2510 kg
GOA Body
SRS Airbags (Driver + Passenger)
ABS
Back Sonar
Seatbelts (Front: 3-point ELR x 2 with Adjustable Anchor,
2nd Row: 3-point ELR x 2 + 2-point NR x 1, 3rd Row: 3-point ELR x 2)
Immobiliser

COMFORT & CONVENIENCE
Dual Auto A/c (with Rear Air Conditioner Switch & Ceiling Vents for 2nd & 3rd Rows)
Heater (Front Only)
Power Steering with Audio & MID Control Switches on Steering Wheel
Power Windows with Driver Side Auto Up-Down
Tilt Steering Column
2 DIN 6CD Ch. (MP3, WMA), AM/FM Audio System with 6 Speakers
Printed Antenna
Keyless Entry
Back Sonar (Beep Type)
Power Door Lock

ENGINE
Type D-4D Diesel with Intercooler Turbocharger, 4 Cylinders In-line
Valve Train 16 Valve DOHC
Displacement 2982 cm3 (cc)
Fuel Supply System Common-Rail type
Max. Output 126 kW @ 3600 rpm (171 PS @ 3600 rpm)
Max. Torque 343 Nm @ 1400-3400 rpm (34.98 kg-m @ 1400-3400 rpm)

DIMENSIONS & WEIGHT
Overall L x W x H 4695 mm x 1840 mm x 1850 mm
Wheel Base 2750 mm
Tread Front / Gear 1540 mm / 1540 mm
Minimum Ground Clearance 221 mm
Minimum Turning Radius 5.9 m
Fuel Tank Capacity 80 litres
Seating Capacity 7-Seater
Max. Kerb Weight 1955 kg
Gross Weight 2510 kg

::Source::

Some more pics from IAB :

Pricing is good, but i expected even less. Nice set of features. Turning radius is very big.
Now Honda will be having hard time to sell CR-v for 25lacs.

Honda is already having tough time to sell the CR-V after the price hike.
The competition to watch out for is with Chevy Captiva.

Both the Chevy Captiva and Ford Endeavour are to be looked out for. Personally, I feel that Ford is more of a competition to the Toyota because of their matching personas.

We should also watch out for the Ford Endeavour as a competition to the Fortuner.

my dad is very much excited about this car though i feel the pricing is a bit on the higher side. also, the SUV is taller than desired.
i like the captiva's looks more than the fortuner.

napster

my dad is very much excited about this car though i feel the pricing is a bit on the higher side. also, the SUV is taller than desired.
i like the captiva's looks more than the fortuner.
i agree, captiva looks much better than fortuner, fortuner has extra large dimentions which arent of any use for daily use

I think Fortuner will be more practical and driveable than Captiva and will have great off-roading capabilities. I like big size of Fortuner, but it'll be pain to drive in city.

well in bkk, fortuner is the best
endy doesnt even come close!
but capptiva does
so i think we should rule endy out as competition but keep captiva

i like the fortuner because:
1) it actually looks like a SUV
2) good street presence
3) i love the huge wheels

i dont like the fortuner because:

1) interiors are way too similar to the innova
2) no features for a 22 lakh SUV (typically toyota!)
3) its too tall, a bit more than desired, so a bit uncomfortable for my parents
4) full time 4WD not necessary, just a show-off feature which reduces FE
5) styling is plain jane (except for the bulk of the car)

I am yet to check out the Fortuner. The reason being its not available for TD yet. No point in going all the way just to see the car. My father checked it though and he liked it a lot. But loooooong waiting period is disappointing. Looking for links to get quicker delivery. Lets see. This is the perfect vehicle for my father which will replace his 4 years and 166000kms old Innova.

hey good to see you abhi, welcome mate.
even though its plane jane, but the pricing is perfect for the equipments and power along with its d-4D engine, which would definately make CR-V,Captiva and ford Endy see hard time im market now, second it being toyota with which reliability comes along, yes the only disappointment i felt is its interiors which are too similar to its innova which is whoping 10L cheaper, so thats something toyota should have looked into, else its superb packaging all together in that pricing.