@XOVER:
Well,a very imaginative thread indeed.
Still my first question:
Okay,AMBY is looking good in this list.
The
ICONIC MARUTI 800 surely deserves to be in this list.
Tata Indica too quite deserves to be here,because it taught Indians what diesel hatches are.
But can you explain me why the other two are here,I mean Tata Safari and especially Tata Aria?
I mean,what changes have they both brought,instead people want them itself to change..[thinking](Just disagreed because you yourself asked us to disagree if we feel so.)
Now here is my list:
1):First of all the
ICONIC MARUTI 800:-
I selected this car because in my views this is the true car which taught India how to drive and also told Indians that cars are not for only high class people,but a middle class person can also dream to own a set of four wheels for himself.IS ANYTHING BETTER THAN THAT?
2):Second is the
HINDUSTAN MOTORS AMBASSADOR:-
This is the car which had the identity of India associated with it,the first Indian car and had some really great comfort levels too.And what's even greater is that this car carries its tradition even today.I even today remember those movies of 60's-70's in which we used to see AMBYs.
3):Third is the
TRULY ADMIRED TOYOTA QUALIS:-
When the Indians knew that diesels are nothing but just crude engines with no refinement,no good performance and a lot of hassles with a painfully high maintenance.Came in the Toyota's foundation stone for its second innings..and being true...ITS THE QUALIS ONLY WHICH HAS MADE TOYOTA SUCH A TRUSTED BRAND HERE IN INDIA.People bought Innova on the name that its the second Qualis and some people even today swear on their cars which have covered even more than 4 lac kms.
Before the Qualis,Indians had to contend themselves with the crude old Safari,Sumo etc,but Qualis,as they used to say in the ad "Maharaj ki sawari aa rahi hai"..did the same and becase the ride for the 'Maharaj' called 'Toyota'.
To see its trustworthiness and people swearing on it,one needs to go to Haryana and Punjab.
4):India's first,
for India and Made in India by an Indian diesel hatch-THE TATA INDICA:-
Well,although it was a very crude car in its initial days but even that time also it was a quite good package.This car taught Indians to ride the diesel powered hatchbacks with an FE of 18-20 kpl.Before Indica,the diesel meant either buses and trucks or Jeeps and SUVs,but Indica really changed the game and produced one of the India's beiggest car segments..which we today call DIESEL HATCHES.
Indica had really opened the gates for the diesel hatchbacks in India.
5):Small and a unique design of its time,a good handler and a good performer..
ITS MARUTI SUZUKI SWIFT DIESEL:-
If Indica taught Indians what the diesel hatches are,then MS SWIFT is the car which taught Indians what the refined and hassle free diesel hatches are.It taught Indians the capabilities of turbo diesels and brought the myth that 'only petrols can perform' to an end.The path opened by the Indica was really broadened and made driveable by the Swift only.
6):Last but really appreciable..
THE ICONIC MAHINDRA JEEP:-
The grandfather of Bolero,Scorpio,XUV etc etc..
Whenever you see her well maintained,what you do is just admire her..from CJ to THAR..these are really iconic machines and they are here in this list because THEY TAUGHT THE INDIANS ABOUT THE ANOTHER BREED OF VEHICLES CALLED JEEPS AND SUVs..or 4X4s.
To experience the JEEP and its history..just have a look at this:-
THE M&M JEEP LEGACY(Download)..
or
THE M&M JEEP HISTORY
I know that posting such links is against the forum rules,but if you really want to experience what the Jeep really is then you must once download it..I have it with me and love watching it daily.