Tata Nexon Ownership Review: Living The Nexon Life

Thread Starter #886

There is a plunger provided just for this purpose in the engine bay. Keep pressing/plunging the fuel pumping piston till fresh fuel comes out of the fuel lines. Only then put back the fuel pipes.
This is the plunger used by repeated pressing. Its called Fuel Line Filter HAND PRIMING PUMP.

IMG-20210707-WA0001.jpg
IMG-20210707-WA0000.jpg

Thread Starter #888

This is a complex task bro.[shock]
Superb work anyways.
Thanks for the compliment!
Yes I agree. It was not as simple as changing engine oil filter. You make one mistake or forget one sensor attachment and the car wont start, and worse is CEL ,if it pops up it wont go away.
Moreover priming the pump was tricky. There is a high chance diesel will enter your mouth if you are not prepared for full rapid stream of diesel from the pipes. I was lying just below it.
The placement of fuel filter is deeper in the engine and very difficult to access as compared to engine oil filter,(which is comparatively far easier to reach).

Thread Starter #889

Today my Nexon's front passenger door latch went rogue ! I had already changed my driver side door latch as a DIY some time back. I don't know what's happening. Looks like the quality (in the initial batches) of door latches was not good enough. Although I can travel anywhere BUT cannot park the car with central locking or by any key, as the left side door latch does not take the locking command. It takes the opening command but not the closing one.
I will head out to Tata Motors soon. Lets see if the warranty covers it.

Thread Starter #890

I have procured the left side door latch from Tata Motors ASS. They were curious to know how I concluded my diagnosis(i.e. faulty door latch).They said they will not return the part once opened. They also warned me that this part if at all it malfunctions ,will not be covered in any sort of warranty, and essentially it will be non returnable. I agreed to their T & C. Actually they wanted me to deposit my car with them for 2 days, and they sensed that I instead wanted to do it all by myself. I cant blame them. This is the normal procedure which they were following.
I will be opening the door pad and all the attachments soon.

Thread Starter #892

They definitely can give part warranty even if it was sold over the counter than installed as service. You can claim warranty for say 6months to 1 year, depending upon the warranty terms and conditions issued with the part.
Yes I agree with you. Maybe I will convince them next time. I hurriedly left the place because nobody was wearing masks around me. But for now I am happy to see that I got the spare part on time.

Hi sir @mayankdixit
Kindly advice.
TASS has advised me to change Timing and Tensioner( whole kit) and fuel filter of my Nexon Diesel in next service. She has completed 3 years/40K. Should I change the above?
Thanks in advance

Thread Starter #894

I know its mentioned in the manual, at 3 years. That kit is quite costly on the pocket.
Never ever I have seen (in all the different types of car manuals), such a short timing kit change interval. It sounds very illogical because the belt is supposed to last a long life. Certainly not 3 years!!
Most car manufacturers recommend 10 years or 1lakh kms, some even more. To add to the confusion,2 different advises are given in the owners manual at 2 different places regarding the same. I hope you have seen that.
My advise: If your running per year is very much + warranty issues are there and car is under some P2P type scheme, go ahead and change it. It will be free after all. And it will ensure your warranty is not lapsed.
BUT If your running is very less + no such thing as extended warranty etc, then you can wait at least till 5 years or 60K kms. I fall in this category and so far I have skipped it. My car is nearing 4 years mark already.

Regarding fuel filter there is no confusion. Get it changed ASAP. I changed mine at my home only, as a DIY as demonstrated here.

Thread Starter #895

Today my Nexon's front passenger door latch went rogue ! I had already changed my driver side door latch as a DIY some time back. Looks like the quality (in the initial batches) of door latches was not good enough. Although I can travel anywhere BUT cannot park the car with central locking or by any key, as the left side door latch does not take the locking command. It takes the opening command but not the closing one.
I will head out to Tata Motors soon. Lets see if the warranty covers it.
I have procured the left side door latch from Tata Motors ASS.
I will be opening the door pad and all the attachments soon.
DIY Changing My Diesel Nexon's passenger side door latch.
There are 5 main steps.

Step 1: Remove the passenger ORVM side plastic trim and then the front passenger side door pad of Nexon. Pull up and not towards you otherwise locks will break. There are in total 11 of them.

Step 2: Remove the gummy door pad glue + foam type sound deadening material.

Step 3: Remove the 3 connectors for door switch and power window and carefully remove the 2 main wires of the latch from the foam insulation housing, without tearing it.

Step 4: Remove the 3 bolts to pull-out the defective door latch.

Step 5: Put the new door latch, and then put back everything in reverse order. Check for proper functioning before completing the DIY project.

Now the pics:

remove this screw first
IMG-20210819-WA0063.jpg

remove the wires coming from the door latch
IMG-20210819-WA0069.jpg

OEM foam insulation is very good
IMG-20210819-WA0070.jpg

Note the connectors to the switch lever. Remove them gently
IMG-20210819-WA0068.jpg

Foam can get torn easily if not carefully done.
IMG-20210819-WA0071.jpg

New door latch assembly
IMG-20210819-WA0073.jpg

loosening the door pad
IMG-20210819-WA0072.jpg

I totally hate this glue. My shirt got smeared by it .My tools were stuck on it repeatedly. Its very messy and tenacious. I hate it.
IMG-20210819-WA0074.jpg
IMG-20210819-WA0075.jpg

All the wiring is carefully passed through this foam insulation to avoid any rattling. Nice job by TATA.
IMG-20210819-WA0032.jpg
IMG-20210819-WA0047.jpg
IMG-20210819-WA0033.jpg
IMG-20210819-WA0044.jpg
IMG-20210819-WA0045.jpg
IMG-20210819-WA0042.jpg

old and new assembly side by side. I found out that the spring of the old assembly was broken.
IMG-20210819-WA0037.jpg

this screw fell down in the door frame !! I had to extract it when I noticed it rattling continually with car acceleration.
IMG-20210819-WA0064.jpg

New door latch assembly
IMG-20210819-WA0066.jpg
IMG-20210819-WA0067.jpg

Old and new wires together to compare the proper wire attachments
IMG-20210819-WA0035.jpg

this 9 pin connector is very easy to get damaged. It took me quite some time to loosen it up
IMG-20210819-WA0034.jpg

Thread Starter #896

continued:

Remember to insert back all the grommets removed. Otherwise water will enter the door during rains causing rusting.

IMG-20210819-WA0036.jpg

look how the wires are properly tucked in along with the intervening foam to control rattles
IMG-20210819-WA0062.jpg

this is the tweeter
IMG-20210819-WA0061.jpg

After final fitting. Notice the grommet for the wire. That was loose.
IMG-20210819-WA0030.jpg
IMG-20210819-WA0031.jpg

For fellow owners who want to know the part no. and m.r.p etc

IMG-20210819-WA0016.jpg
IMG-20210819-WA0018.jpg

This golden spring was broken. This was the main part failure cause.
IMG-20210819-WA0017.jpg
IMG-20210819-WA0039.jpg

This golden spring was broken.
IMG-20210819-WA0041.jpg
IMG-20210819-WA0040.jpg
IMG-20210819-WA0046.jpg
IMG-20210819-WA0048.jpg
IMG-20210819-WA0049.jpg
IMG-20210819-WA0050.jpg
IMG-20210819-WA0051.jpg
IMG-20210819-WA0052.jpg
IMG-20210819-WA0053.jpg
IMG-20210819-WA0054.jpg

ORVM plastic trim has 4 clips. It can be easily removed using small plastic screwdriver.
IMG-20210819-WA0055.jpg
IMG-20210819-WA0056.jpg
IMG-20210819-WA0057.jpg
IMG-20210819-WA0058.jpg

Remove these 3 screws to loosen and dismantle the latch from door .
IMG-20210819-WA0060.jpg

these are many small rubber grommets. Try to put them back if loosened up during DIY.
IMG-20210819-WA0059.jpg
IMG-20210819-WA0061.jpg
IMG-20210819-WA0065.jpg
IMG-20210819-WA0067.jpg

Thank you friends for patiently watching my DIY pictures. I will answer any queries one might have.
Hope this helps at least one Nexon owner.

Thread Starter #897

Hi sir @mayankdixit
Kindly advice.
TASS has advised me to change Timing and Tensioner( whole kit) and fuel filter of my Nexon Diesel in next service. She has completed 3 years/40K. Should I change the above?
Thanks in advance
I have already advised regarding the same in post no. 894. Hope that solves your query.

Hi sir @mayankdixit
Kindly advice.
Thanks in advance
That looks too early. For my Cars I follow 5 years or 100k Kms. Usually timing is more important than KMS.
Also If cars is sitting a lot or Parked in Extended lockdowns, slightly earlier replacement might be recommended. but 3 years is too less.

The belt hardens due to sitting in one position. Which causes cracking & Fractures. If the Belt breaks in a Modern Interference type Engine- Kaboom!

Thread Starter #900

Urgent Need for New and Better Tyres for My Nexon.

Bridgestone Turanza tyres on my Nexon are still continuing to give me lot of trouble. All my tyres have at least 2 punctures, and if I remember correctly one of them has 3 punctures!
As if that was not enough, one of the tyre got a bad sidewall cut today. It was my fault. While parking the car on the road I misjudged the distance between concrete edge and front left tyre. Result was sidewall damage with instant air loss. Now I am left with 3 badly punctured tyres + 1 bust tyre with sidewall rupture. I want a better tyre but am not going to buy Bridgestone turanzas ever. They have only crossed 4 years and small cracks are developing all over. They are very bad tyres. Not meant for our roads. Moreover they are very pricey too. I don't want to go for Ceat or MRF as they are very hard and uncomfortable. Want a better rubber. Lets see.

This is the damage. Now patching up is risky !!
IMG-20210825-WA0003.jpg
IMG-20210825-WA0001.jpg
IMG-20210825-WA0002.jpg
IMG-20210825-WA0004.jpg
IMG-20210825-WA0005.jpg
IMG-20210825-WA0006.jpg
IMG-20210825-WA0007.jpg

I will be driving more cautiously now, as I don't have a spare tyre anymore !!