Guys I am looking forward to buy a diesel car hatchback/sedan, however, the multiplicity of choices are making me all the more confused. Kindly help me make a informed choice!
Requirements -
Budget - 6-8 lakhs
Location - Kolkata (primarily for driving within city)
Priorities - A$$, Good fuel economy, easy availability of spares and comfort
Monthly running - around 1000kms monthly (expected to increase over time)
Purpose - Primarily for city, occasional highway sprints
Space - I am myself around 5'11 and my wife is a couple of inches shorter than me hence, visibility and front seat ergonomics are of paramount importance. Expect full load of 5 people on weekend trips to relatives outside city
My heart was always with Dzire the moment it was launched by Maruti. In fact I had booked it a couple of months back which was setback by the debacle in the manesar factory. My dealer though initially had given a waiting of 3 months but now refuses to commit on delivery dates now. Now I am in a catch 22 situation and cannot decide on a suitable replacement for the Dzire.
Cars which I have in mind are -
Figo - Very dated design and interior quality looks build to cost. But the biggest worry is the constant feedback I get from friends regarding GC issues and bottom scraping bumps and potholes. Coupled with that I am not sure of the Ford A$$ in Kolkata.
Ritz - Ugly dickling from maruti stable. I just cannot stand the rear end though my mind says its a very practical car though slightly overpriced.
Micra - My wife fell for it moment she saw it. I find the rear end hard to digest but can still live with it coz it offered nicest driveability off the cars we Test drove.
Swift - ruled out due to waiting periods and the boot is too small and has an impractical design.
i20 - I found everything about the car overpriced including the optional third year warranty (just 1 yr extra!) at Rs 8500. Comeon Hyundai what were you thinking
Please help in making a suitable choice given my requirements!
Cheers and thanks in advance!
Requirements -
Budget - 6-8 lakhs
Location - Kolkata (primarily for driving within city)
Priorities - A$$, Good fuel economy, easy availability of spares and comfort
Monthly running - around 1000kms monthly (expected to increase over time)
Purpose - Primarily for city, occasional highway sprints
Space - I am myself around 5'11 and my wife is a couple of inches shorter than me hence, visibility and front seat ergonomics are of paramount importance. Expect full load of 5 people on weekend trips to relatives outside city
My heart was always with Dzire the moment it was launched by Maruti. In fact I had booked it a couple of months back which was setback by the debacle in the manesar factory. My dealer though initially had given a waiting of 3 months but now refuses to commit on delivery dates now. Now I am in a catch 22 situation and cannot decide on a suitable replacement for the Dzire.
Cars which I have in mind are -
Figo - Very dated design and interior quality looks build to cost. But the biggest worry is the constant feedback I get from friends regarding GC issues and bottom scraping bumps and potholes. Coupled with that I am not sure of the Ford A$$ in Kolkata.
Ritz - Ugly dickling from maruti stable. I just cannot stand the rear end though my mind says its a very practical car though slightly overpriced.
Micra - My wife fell for it moment she saw it. I find the rear end hard to digest but can still live with it coz it offered nicest driveability off the cars we Test drove.
Swift - ruled out due to waiting periods and the boot is too small and has an impractical design.
i20 - I found everything about the car overpriced including the optional third year warranty (just 1 yr extra!) at Rs 8500. Comeon Hyundai what were you thinking
Please help in making a suitable choice given my requirements!
Cheers and thanks in advance!