Quick Trip: Fairfax (Virginia) to Durham (North Carolina)

Thread Starter #1
Total Distance: 740 miles (1184 Kms)
Vehicle: 2006 Honda Civic
Total Fuel: $87

So here is another short trip that I did last week. I bought a pre owned 06 civic on 9th may and did the trip on 10th may. So got an excuse to test the skills of my new civic[:D]. I did this trip from Fairfax, VA to Durham, NC. The distance was 257 miles (411 kms) one way. The reason for the trip was a part of my background check for my new job. So I got a new job with Fidelity Investments as a Business Systems Analyst, I got the confirmation for the job 3 days ago and for the background check they had to take my picture and finger prints. So for that I had to go to their Durham location.

I had my appointment at 1:00 PM on Friday and the drive was for about 5 hours for which I had to leave at 7:00 AM so that I can be there by at least 12:00 PM. Keeping 1 hour buffer as i didn't wanted to get late. I had to take I-95 (Interstate) which is usually heavily backed up during the morning hours. So to avoid the traffic backup in the morning I left Thursday evening and stayed at my uncle’s place. He stays in Williamsburg which was in the way to Durham and 2 hours from Fairfax.
So I left on Thursday evening around 3:30 PM and reached my uncles place around 6:00 PM and the distance covered was 145 miles (232 Kms). I didn’t check my mileage at that time since I didn’t fill my tank. But after reaching my uncles place I got a full tank for my next day trip.

So the next day I left for Durham at around 7:45 AM accompanied by my cousin. We didn’t took any break, so we reached Durham, NC by 11:00 AM. And we had covered 200 miles (320 Kms).