New Wagon R with K-Series, Review on Pg. 12!

Came across this news stating that the K series is coming in both Wagon R and Alto.

Source : Maruti to launch Alto, Wagon R with new generation engine- Automobiles-Auto-News By Industry-News-The Economic Times

Article :

Quote:
NEW DELHI: The country's largest car maker Maruti Suzuki
will launch two of its best selling models -- Alto and Wagon R, with a new generation
engine as it prepares to meet April 2010 deadline of stricter emission norm.

According to industry sources, the company will discontinue the old F-series engines in both Alto and Wagon R and replace them with its new K-series engine, which is Bharat Stage IV complaint.

When contacted a Maruti Suzuki India (MSI) spokesperson said, "the successful K series engines will be mounted on more models in a phased manner," without specifying details and timeline for the change in engines.

Alto is MSI's best selling model. In November last year it crossed one-million mark in domestic market, while Wagon R also accounted for a good number to its compact car sales.

The company's newer models such A-Star, Ritz and the new Estilo are powered by K-series engines, which the company claims are more fuel efficient and have lesser emission.

With 11 cities in India scheduled to move to stricter Bharat Stage (BS) IV emission norms from the current BS III by April next year, MSI has been preparing itself for the change.

It has already upgraded its mid-sized sedan SX4 to make it BS IV compatible and it will be shortly launched in the market. A similar upgradation for premium compact car Swift and entry-level sedan DZire is also on the cards but the company has decided not to upgrade its oldest model M800 to meet the new emission norms.

Thats great move!

Maruti is getting the new wine in its old bottle :)

Hope it works out well!

The only left ones are now 800, Omni & versa!

Even sources say that these will be replaced by BS IV engines soon!

I'm not expecting any major changes or a big facelift this time, The updated SX4 is example. All the main changes will be under the hood.

Drive Safe!

New Wagon R with K-Series

What we saw yesterday was the Wagon R Stingray. We were stunned to see that it was not the mainstream car. This car here is the original all new Wagon R. Must say that it looks quite cool and i really wish it makes it to India. It is much better than the Stingray version that we saw yesterday. The angular lamps and the familiar face bode well for the car. It gets a 660cc turbo, but before it sets your pulses racing, it makes a modest 65bhp which is the same as what we have here. The interiors are very cool and in my opinion are much better than the ones on the Splash and the A-Star.
Source:http://indianautosblog.com/2008/09/2009-wagon-r

This entry has been posted on september, 2008. But i just saw it today. This new Wagon-R looks much better than current version, more upmarket. Hope we get it here.

Exterior looks only cosmetic but the new grille and alloys look cool!!

Interiors are the biggest change , though the steering wheel , A/C vents and outside rear view mirrors seems to be borrowed from Swift!! From the Pic this looks like A/T version!![confused]

These pic's don't look like a Indian version. So i don't thing we will be getting these kind of interiors here.

The exterior changes are giving a Sportier look & we can have these here in India [:D] but again they wont be that low.

The major changes in this Wagon-R:
-> Headlamp design, its angular similar to Ritz/Splash but have sharp edges.
-> Rear Light panels.A new look with pods for different lights,but not much different from the old version.
-> Grill is the major change, it makes the car look cool.
-> Bumpers, good styling done.
-> Alloys, their size look similar to swift zxi and the design also looks same.
-> The dash is also a major change with different new age design other than swift platform.The cabin looks cooler.

This whole package with 660cc turbo and 67 bhp cant come to its end users in less than 5-6 lakhs, hopefully to withstand a decent competition according to its current segment scenario in India.Well most of its international features which are present now in it will be removed as we all know.Lets hope we get some good ones still.

By the way does anybody have idea when it will be launched?

hope the side skirts will be retained in the indian version. interiors are just awesome. the position of the gear shift on the dash is quite innovative. those blue lights give it an upmarket touch.hope its going to launch soon.