Mahindra Scorpio: Technical Issues & Solutions

2009 Mahindra Scorpio Petrol

Good day people.
I have a issue with my vehicle that I cant get to the bottom of,I did contact my nearest Mahindra dealer and although they said they will have to keep the car and run the tests to find out what the problem is,the dealer is 100km from where I live,and I cant have the car standing there for a day or two cause its the only car we have right now.
Right,the vehicle is the 2lt petrol version,why on earth I bought it is beyond me,its really not a nice car,I mean who makes such a big car,puts a 2lt engine in it and doesn't put a turbo in it?I can go on about it but let me get to the real problem.
Whilst driving,and it happens very randomly,sometimes 5 or 6 times a day,sometimes for months it doesn't do anything,the engine light on the dashboard starts flashing and one cant accelerate,if you push the clutch in then the engine starts revving like mad.It takes you to switch the car off completely and restart it,whilst driving can you believe,to cancel this weird thing that it does.Sometimes switching the car off and back on helps,sometimes it doesn't it has happened before (a few times) that we have been left stranded on the side of the road,then I put the car off,wait a while,and sometimes on the first go it helps,sometimes not.I have no idea even where to start looking for the problem.
Id be so thankful if someone could help me sort this issue out,my wife uses the car most of the time,doing the school run,I have a bike,so getting this problem resolved would put my mind at ease.
Thank you so much.

Re: 2009 Mahindra Scorpio Petrol

As per my knowledge, a flashing check engine light means a problem with ignition & fuel system. Basically it is saying that more fuel is entering into system & it is causing damage.

Most of time it's due to misfire.

It could be possible that the fuel pump is giving away. Ask them to check it.

BTW, where do you live? Petrol Scorpio is a strange animal and i've never heard about one!

Start with cleaning the MAF sensor and cleaning the throttle body. It is usually the fault of default idling sensor which is part of this intake system. As dust and grim gets deposited on it and make it to fault or send erroneous reading. You may use CRC product to clean the MAF sensor and any good quality choke or carburetor cleaner for Throttle body. Do not forget to remove the negative terminal of battery before carrying out the above.

Also you may start with getting the error codes checked on your vehicle.

Hope it helps.

Thanks bhvm for the advice, but one thing is bugging me, how come a new scorpio that has only run 12k kms develop warped rotors problem. I find it strange that these parts are meant to last for atleast 20k kms and now gives aways at such low running. I am thinking of questioning the dealer about that. I am not sure about the warranty coverage of rotors.

Yes thats a bit strange.
And not 20k, but I think Rotors are meant to last 80k~1lac kms.
My XUV is now at about 62k Kms. Rotors are fine. And that vehicle has seen some serious braking a couple of times on the highway.

I wouldn't hurt to ask the dear. Though they usually deny the warranty saying its "wear & Tear Item".

I am slowly starting to lose my patience on mahindra and their service centres. The service centre guys are always in a hurry to make the customer pay for parts which aren't that damaged and thus adding more frustration towards the customer. I thought mahndra vehicles were indestructible but that claim of mine is getting weaker day by day. Seriously the guys at my nearest service centre are unaware of many problems. Frankly speaking the guys in this forum are more experienced and posses greater knowledge than the service center guys. To my shock they even dint know what a rotor is, i had to explain that the round plate thingy which the pads grab onto is called a rotor. Thay had their own term for rotor. If these type of carelessness is shown from mahindra and their guys i am afraid they will lose many more customers in the near future.

Hello dovakihn, I sympathize with your frustration completely. This aspect - the poor servicing/repair/maintenance - of the M&M ownership experience, specially in the hinterland regions, is something that the company is ignoring, despite numerous complaints. I have been a happy Scorpio owner for the past dozen years and I will say this too - that M&M's approved service centres (ASCs) need to be o'hauled urgently if the company does not wish to loose customers. In Lucknow (where my Scorpio is based) the ASC told me that my vehicle's T/charger needed to be replaced. When I went a little deeper into the problem I learned that they had no intention of investigating the problem. All they wanted to do was replace items with new ones. Since I knew what the problem was (the core needed replacement) I went to a T/charger specialist who was happy to do the needful - at a fraction of the cost!

dovakihn, Where do you live?
We could escalate the matter so that someone senior looks into your problem.
Great idea, bhvm! - Unless matters are pushed by customers at the receiving end of their indifference, all the good work by M&M will go down the drain due to the wretched ASC experience of their customers.

I did the needful after my experience at the ASC in Lucknow. And I'm glad to say that at least I got a response from M&M that they are are doing their best to improve customer satisfaction.

Loss of Power - check engine light - Mahindra Scorpio Mhawk

Hi ,

I have a 2009 Mahindra scorpio Mhawk 2.2 Vlx that has clocked 92,000 Kms . The vehicle is in mint condition with services done at regular intervals and has been running like a gem so far.

Today morning while driving to work , i felt a sudden loss of power and the vehicle did not have the normal surge of power it usually has and thats when i noticed the "Check engine" light flashing . It felt as if the turbo was not doing its job .

I pulled over and checked for any oil leaks etc but could not find any , drove the vehicle for another 2 Kms under very low revs and parked in my office .

Could anyone share light on what could be the problem or has anyone encountered the same issue? I am in process of calling Mahindra service while i pen this but any of your inputs would be really helpful.

Ivan

Re: Loss of Power - check engine light - Mahindra Scorpio Mhawk

Hi ,
I have a 2009 Mahindra scorpio Mhawk 2.2 Vlx that has clocked 92,000 Kms . The vehicle is in mint condition with services done at regular intervals and has been running like a gem so far.
Today morning while driving to work , i felt a sudden loss of power and the vehicle did not have the normal surge of power it usually has and thats when i noticed the "Check engine" light flashing . It felt as if the turbo was not doing its job . I pulled over and checked for any oil leaks etc but could not find any , drove the vehicle for another 2 Kms under very low revs and parked in my office .
Could anyone share light on what could be the problem or has anyone encountered the same issue? I am in process of calling Mahindra service while i pen this but any of your inputs would be really helpful.
Ivan
Hello Ivan,
I replaced the core (blower/turbine unit with the bearing housing) of the t/charger on my 2004 Scorpio recently (post #268, dated 3rd Jan'17 on this thread). Since you mention that the only indication you got of any abnormality was the drop in performance (no oil leak or heavy smoking exhaust etc), I would suggest you have the turbo checked at the earliest. If it is a seized bearing bush then you'll have to replace the core unit too, apart from any other collateral damage that may have been caused. If the turbo is fine then M&M's ASS are the only oracle with answers! My Scorpio is prior to the CRDe models, so no lurking issues with ECU gremlins etc! I look forward to your reply with the solution to the problem.
With best regards,
Shashanka

Thread Starter #283
Re: Loss of Power - check engine light - Mahindra Scorpio Mhawk

Hi ,

Today morning while driving to work , i felt a sudden loss of power and the vehicle did not have the normal surge of power it usually has and thats when i noticed the "Check engine" light flashing . It felt as if the turbo was not doing its job .

I pulled over and checked for any oil leaks etc but could not find any , drove the vehicle for another 2 Kms under very low revs and parked in my office .

Ivan

Hey Ivan,
Don't worry about this issue.
It's vaccum modulator tube, that would have disconnected or ruptured.
Even I faced the check engine lamp in 8th year @ 95,000 kms.
They would change the Vaccum hose and Hose Intercooler Intake rubber pipes.

Hi guys, posting after a long time was super busy with office work. A fortnight ago our family embarked on a 1000 km journey lasting 5 days and to my surprise the steering vibration problem got fixed at around the 450km mark, not all is gone but compared to last time one can say it's almost gone. There is a minute vibration at 80-90 kmph which can be totally ignored and doesn't bother you unless you look for it. So for now im ok with it. The next thing that is bothering me from today is when i start the car geographically i live in the hills so i have to go downhill to reach the main road so when braking downhill from start there is a squeal from rear left tyre and when upon observing it looks like the tyre is being dragged when braking but after i drive for around 5 minutes or so plain or downhill with some amount of braking the squeal and the tyre drag is totally gone. Can someone shed some light on this?

hi guys,

i got an automatic 2010 mahindra scorpio for second hand. now my engine light is glowing continuously. when i checked with the mahindra service center. they told i might have a torque sensor, wiring or the ecu problem and it will cost me around 60k. any ideas guys. vehicle runs without issue. only problem is lag in acceleration.