Indian Cars with Most Solid and Poor Resale Values

Resale Value Comparisons!

I just wanted to compare the resale value of various cars. So I went to carwale to check the prices and to maintain uniformity, I stuck to the following parameters -

Manufacturing year : May 2010
Variant : Top end
Kilometers driven : 40000
City : Mumbai
Condition : Excellent
Fuel : Diesel

Here are the results... I have clubbed together cars which costs approximately the same and have arranged the results in the descending order :

Premium hatchbacks :

Hyundai i20 Asta - 569000
Polo Highline - 526500
Punto 90 hp - 505000
Fabia Elegance - 500500
Swift VDi - 486000

Executive hatchbacks :

Ritz VDi - 446500
Indica Vista Aura+ - 424000

Budget sedans :

Dzire ZDi - 605000
Fiesta Classic ZXi - 556000
Manza Aura+ - 523000
Logan DLS - 507000

Executive sedans :

Vento Highline - 756000
Verna Tranform SX - 685000
Optra Magnum LT - 624000
Linea Emotion Pk - 599000

Budget UVs :

Bolero CRDe - 480000
Sumo Victa - 440500

Bolero SLX - 477000
Sumo Spacio - 335500

Executive UVs :

Innova V - 974500
Scorpio VLX - 923000
Safari VX - 895000
Tavera LT - 735000
Xylo E8 - 668000
Grande GX - 592000

Note : These are just indicative figures. Some cars cost a lot more than their competition, so that can be the reason for the high resale value too.

Fazer

Re: Resale value comparisons!

Very nice work Raj5004. [:D]

I also checked out Carwale and prepared a list according to these parameters except DIESEL. I have added Petrol instead of Diesel:
Fuel : PETROL
Budget Hatchbacks :

Hyundai i10 Asta 1.2 : 455500

Chevy Beat LT Option : 342000

Ford Figo Titanium : 333000

Maruti WagonR Vxi ABS : 320000

Maruti A-Star ZXi : 317500

Tata Indica V2 Turbo Max DLE : 286500

Chevy Spark LT Option : 285500

Maruti Estilo Vxi ABS : 278500

Hyundai Santro Xing GLS : 273000

Maruti Eeco 5 Seater AC : 239500

Maruti Alto Lxi : 218500

Tata Nano LX : 132500

Maruti 800 duo AC : 181000

Cheers.

I have done some more analysis on the information from Raj5004 and Fazer
Keeping the base values same for comparison just clubbed the petrol and diesel cars together.

Fuel : Diesel and PETROL

Searched today's on road price.Mumbai.
No doubt for OTR price guru is Carwale.
Then calculated % depreciation on each car

Here are the results.

The average is 39 % depreciation in two years.

Resale value of a car is dependent upon multiple criteria. Chief and probably most important thing is the availability of spares in the open market. If you read through the list of cars with the most resale value.... 90% of them are those whose spares are easily available.

Resale value is determined by the person who is buying the car and not the owner. And in 99% of these cases, the buyer determines his choice knowing fully well that a second hand car would have more issues than a brand new one. He also knows that without warranty he cannot depend on ASS and would probably have to look to the local garages for upkeep.
Also another point is that older vehicles get transferred to Tier 2 and Tier 3 cities once they are sold. This is because in Tier 2 & 3 cities, pollution and environment norms are not as strict as compared to the state capitals. Here again cheap spares and easily repairable cars are in demand.
There are deviation from this .. chiefly Toyota and Honda.. 1 lakh kms before first coolant change says it all :-)

Nice work powerpacked, but you have shown that the OTR price of Scorpio is more than Safari. That is wrong.

The ex-showroom prices of Safari is more than a Lac more expensive than the Scorpio. Scorpio does not cost 14.85 Lacs OTR.

I am enjoying my ride and never cared about the re-sale value. If i do care, i'll be the saddest person here. A message to all petrol owners are enjoy your ride till it last. [;)]

Nice work man ,its just great.
BTW in all these lists i can't see HONDA CITY.why??
Thank you ,Doctor ( I hope i have judged your profession from your ID correctly )

The reason behind the omission of Honda City is Raj_5004 -->
Sorry Raj you have missed the City so do I
Sorry for escape [;)]

Nice work powerpacked, but you have shown that the OTR price of Scorpio is more than Safari. That is wrong.

The ex-showroom prices of Safari is more than a Lac more expensive than the Scorpio. Scorpio does not cost 14.85 Lacs OTR.
Thank you Raj for appreciation but carwale has raised the Scorpio Price

^^^ I have observed that Carwale has many errors. Check their respective websites for the prices. The ex-showroom of Safari is about a Lac more than the Scorpio, then how can the OTR of Scorpio be more?

Looking at car wale stats safari has lesser depreciation then Scorpio ? [surprise]
Raj Carwale's Scorpio is costly by Rs : 83:as compared to mahindrascorpio.com: website.

But for safari they are perfect
As per Carwale, the OTR price of Scorpio is 14.19 Lacs whereas Safari's OTR is 15.76 Lacs. These prices are of the 4x4 variants. But in your report and chart, you have increased Scorpio's OTR to 14.85 Lacs and reduced Safari's OTR to 13.10 Lacs. That is where the error is...

Its simple - a car which has higher ex-showroom price (in this case, the Safari) cannot have a lower OTR price.

Most importantly, you are comparing the Automatic Scorpio to the manual transmission Safari. Ideally you should compare the 4x4 M/T Scorpio VLX (11.41 Lacs) to 4x4 M/T Safari VX (13.54 Lacs), a price difference of 2.13 Lacs in their ex-showroom prices.

Looking at car wale stats safari has lesser depreciation then Scorpio ? [surprise]
As said above, there is an error in the report.