Help on buying an used car

dude if yu have that much budget think about corolla.you will get good example 03-04 model around 4 lacs.its a toyota afterall!

Exactly.You can go for OHC,Lancer,etc.Actually he has a budget of 4 lakh which can be stretched by another lakh.But it seems like the used cars are also pretty high on rates there.

Thread Starter #49
Well, if they are asking 3.15lacs for a 2003 Esteem Di(62000kms) and 3.90lacs for a Baleno, I don't think i could get a Corolla for that price. I haven't come across a Corolla in my search till now.

@neil, OHCs i've seen has clocked pretty high mileage and the price they ask is high, as there is demand for the car.

Well, if they are asking 3.15lacs for a 2003 Esteem Di(62000kms) and 3.90lacs for a Baleno, I don't think i could get a Corolla for that price. I haven't come across a Corolla in my search till now.

@neil, OHCs i've seen has clocked pretty high mileage and the price they ask is high, as there is demand for the car.

you surely can CC, i have seen old corolla clocked some 20K's and asking price was around 5lacs, so have patience and search more, there are many cars to get hold on, dont be on rush for used car purchase.Do you have Auto terrace in your city, they do have some good OHC,lancers and corollas as well.Try out toyota dealer to source used cars.
how about used Sx4, that would surely come within ur budget, i just saw one zxi silver colour, clocked 28000kms and asking price was some 4 lacs.

Thread Starter #51
2005 Baleno lxi(19k kms) is sold now for rs. 3,25,000. The asking price for 2006 Baleno Vxi is rs. 3,90,000. What do you all feel reasonable for the 2006 Baleno(18k kms)?

Another 2005 Baleno lxi 30k kms in True Value for sale, rs. 3,30,000

CC - Let me give you my honest opinion as i bought my esteem from True Value and it was great till now. When i bought it the ODO reading was 55K and its a 2002 model. Now i have clocked 77K in 3 years and my family wants me to buy a new one and i have a different post running to decide on which one. 68K on odo for a 2005 Baleno is too much and it means there has been lot of travel and the body parts would start failing soon... even though the engine is capable of going till 1L KM i dont personally suggest the baleno.
----------Next Post------------
2006 Baleno with 18K on ODO would be good, is it a truevalue outlet or some car dealer? On Used car dont go for more driven cars as you would be facing the brint at a later stage not now.

2005 Baleno lxi(19k kms) is sold now for rs. 3,25,000. The asking price for 2006 Baleno Vxi is rs. 3,90,000. What do you all feel reasonable for the 2006 Baleno(18k kms)?

Another 2005 Baleno lxi 30k kms in True Value for sale, rs. 3,30,000
The 2006,18k baleno sounds good.Cannot comment on the price thing because the price of used cars are high out there.

If you have really liked the car check it properly & bring down the price to 3,40,000 or near by.Tell them your budget is limited to XXX amount & if they are ready you have the check/cash for advance payment ready with you immediately.They cant ignore a customer who brings cash or check with him.(this thing should help in getting down the cars price as people cant see money going out of their hands)[evil]

Thread Starter #54
@Interceptor, it is from an independent dealer. Transactions based on commission basis.

@Neil, That's what i'm trying to do. Anything under 3,50,000 is okay for me. IMO no one buy it at that price soon. So i guess, the owner will bring down the price.

even if i am a baleno fan i dont feel it makes sense to pay close to 4 lacs for a second hand and dicontinued car.when new baleno lxi was around 5.75.in bombay there is 05 dec lxi not a single scrach 37k asking 2.65.he will happily give it arond 2.25.

you surely can CC, i have seen old corolla clocked some 20K's and asking price was around 5lacs, so have patience and search more, there are many cars to get hold on, dont be on rush for used car purchase.Do you have Auto terrace in your city, they do have some good OHC,lancers and corollas as well.Try out toyota dealer to source used cars.
how about used Sx4, that would surely come within ur budget, i just saw one zxi silver colour, clocked 28000kms and asking price was some 4 lacs.
Sx4 is a good option to opt for.I've seen a SX4 Zxi Blue march 2008 model (it has a registeration number which is only 2 numbers before mine) price is about 3.5-4 lacs and guys imagine the mileage its 3,50,000+ Owner travelled all over India in this car.The dashboard has worn out due to extreme weather conditions.

absolutely, i wont buy a discontinued car at 4L price, rather sx4 makes more sense for me in that price bracket which is available for sure.

Thread Starter #59
I was never impressed by Accent's suspension. That's why i said that its not on my list.

I think that 2005 Baleno lxi is sold off while we're on talks. The dealers have less idea about it, as the owner of the car is not telling properly. Now there is 2006 Baleno vxi clocked about 18k kms, but the asking price is Rs. 3,90,000.

I came across another shocker, a 2007 Lancer diesel clocked 8000km, the asking price is 7.75 lacs, more than the ex-showroom price(7.49 lacs) of new car.
This 2005 Baleno Lxi(19k kms) is now for sale again. The booked party is unable to pay cash. So the car is available again. The price could be 3.05 or 3.10 lacs.

Should i go for it?

Other baleno options in Coimbatore are,
2006 Baleno Vxi(18k kms), asking price is 3.90 lacs
2006 Baleno VXi(62k kms), asking price is 3.75 lacs

True value offerings
2002 Baleno vxi (80k kms), price is 3.00 lacs
2005 Baleno Lxi (31k kms), price is 3.30 lacs

Thread Starter #60
I just got info about a 2004 Baleno vxi(40k kms) white color, asking price is 2.75 lacs. I'm going to see the car now.