Hatchback for 4.5 Lakh (Ex-Showroom)

Thread Starter #46

80% of the car is downpayment?

Means i will have to downpay 8 lakhs for a 10 lakh car?

Thread Starter #48

Looks like we will be buying a Punto 1.2 after all, despite the fact that I am really not a huge fan of the car.

Thread Starter #49

Well, lets see at the contenders:

Punto: due for an upgrade
i20: Due for an upgrade
Polo: due for an upgrade
Figo: not due for an upgrade(yet)(Thankfully)([clap])

Can there be any worse time for buying a car rather than this diwali?

And yet my mom just wont wait till Auto Expo. [frustration]

Did your Mom had a TD of punto?

My intution says sometimes that punto is not that great suited for woman folks.

OT-My wife ,she struggles, due to bit tight steering ,visibility issues , even shutting and opening doors seems to be a trouble for her as it asks for some muscles.

On the other hand she loves its cozy saloon like interiors,silent cabin and ride quality.

Thread Starter #52

Went to Hyundai, Honda, Toyota, Nissan and Skoda yesterday.

Hyundai

Mom found the i20 unmanageable. Dad and me echo the sentiment. Its huge for her.
i10 1.2 Magna for 4:21 on road seems a decent buy for me, though.
Hugely impressed by the eon. If it had a 1.2 engine, maybe we would have bought it over the i10.

Honda Brio

Dad says it looks like a cartoon car, Mom and me agree. Didnt even bother opening the doors of the car.

Etios Liva

Well, I had filled their ears against the Liva saying that it doesnt have rubber beading, and cost cutting and blah blah.[evil] Just saw the car from outside. Rejected.

Nissan
The staff was so unintelligent, it to me so appeared I was in a mental assylum.
We enter the showroom. A (decent, not very pretty) lady comes. Asks which car are we interested in. We said Micra. She points to the car. And then walks away. We see the car. Not very impressed. Average.

Skoda

Mom and Dad loved the car. And the salesman.
I didnt. The salesman was actually considering me as stupid. Yeah! Lol! He was thinking I was just another guy from a village.
And he didnt aanswer my simple question.
All I asked was "How is Fabia better than its cousin Polo"
He first ignored my question. Then mom came there and he sheepishly said"it has more space. Everyone buys a car for comfort." I wanted to tell mom and dad to run out of the showroom at that moment, but then I held my patience.
Also the paint was starting to peel off a little. But no matter what, it is a very solidly built car.
And also, the car had a weird plastic underbody coating, which looked like a aftermarket job, which he was calling the "off road package"
Plastic coating. And the finish on it was terrible.

I lost my respect for the brand, courtesy the sales guy.
If we decide not to buy a skoda, it will be courtesy the salesman.

Thread Starter #54

Here's how the showroom visit went.

Me, mom and dad (entering showroom)

<Nobody cares>

We keep standing there.

Finally some girl comes.
Asks which car are we interested in.

dad: micra
<she points to the car on display and leaves>

We open it. Sit inside. Totally unimpressed.

No follow-up.

We then have to find the girl. Dad asks her about finance and specifications. She leaves.(without telling where she is going) And then after 5 minutes another girl(well, actually a woman) comes. Dad asks her about the finance. She says she doesnt know. Ask the bank.
Then dad asks about specs.
She: Specifications(with a shock in her voice)
dad: yes
she looks around uneasily
Dad: is it 1200 cc
she: yes
dad: what features?
she again uneasy
dad: does it have AC
dad: power steering
dad: tubeless tyres
dad: does it give about 17kmpl

Then we finally get to leave. These nissan people dont even bother asking contact details or giving brochure.

PATHETIC!

Which Nissan Dealership was that?

The only Nissan dealership here in Amritsar.

If you are buying for your mother, i would suggest buy i10, its a great deal in 4.5lac, its handling is super light and is effortless for city driving. Its interiors are decent and maintenance also cheap.

Thread Starter #58

Re: Hatchback for 4.5 Lakh(Ex-Showroom)

Polo: Service centre and dealership 96 km away, but mom hooked onto its looks

A VW dealership opened in our city about 10 days back.

And we have decided on a Red Petrol Polo

Thread Starter #60

But the proof of the pudding lies in the eating, isnt it.

So yeah, nothings certain till she comes home.