Hi.
I am planning to buy a Chevrolet Cruze
They are very selective about who they allow to test drive the car and it has only done 2,000 kilometres in four months.
However, test driven cars obviously get no running in. I drove it spiritedly myself. My question is, is running-in important enough for me to consider forgoing a ₹5,00,000 discount
so I’d then have to buy a Hyundai Verna Fluidic, most likely. What would you guys do if you were in my situation?
I am planning to buy a Chevrolet Cruze
They are very selective about who they allow to test drive the car and it has only done 2,000 kilometres in four months.
However, test driven cars obviously get no running in. I drove it spiritedly myself. My question is, is running-in important enough for me to consider forgoing a ₹5,00,000 discount
so I’d then have to buy a Hyundai Verna Fluidic, most likely. What would you guys do if you were in my situation?
Thanks for all the advice. The majority opinion is clearly that I should do a thorough check and then go for it if satisfied. Glad to hear that. :)
I am not worried so much about there being something suspicious though. I live in a small city and all the baniya families here are connected to each other. The car dealer is distantly related to us and speaks to my parents with utmost respect. It’s highly unlikely that he would try to swindle us.
Also, while the Cruze may be a big seller in the rest of India, a ₹13 lac car is a tough sell in smaller cities. There is only one Cruze out in the wild in the city and that is owned by the dealer himself (which also served as the test drive car for six months before he took ownership of it).
I will see if I can get them to include the extended warranty along with the car and do a full pre-delivery check as suggested by you guys. Thanks so much. :)
I am not worried so much about there being something suspicious though. I live in a small city and all the baniya families here are connected to each other. The car dealer is distantly related to us and speaks to my parents with utmost respect. It’s highly unlikely that he would try to swindle us.
Also, while the Cruze may be a big seller in the rest of India, a ₹13 lac car is a tough sell in smaller cities. There is only one Cruze out in the wild in the city and that is owned by the dealer himself (which also served as the test drive car for six months before he took ownership of it).
I will see if I can get them to include the extended warranty along with the car and do a full pre-delivery check as suggested by you guys. Thanks so much. :)
@ arya yush,
Why the hell this dealer wants to sell the TD car,? Is he going to shut down the dealership? If not then how he is going to sell new cruze, without giving full and proper TD?
New custemer s will always take a full TD, obviously they won't shellout rs 15 lakhs without TD. As the custemers are not going to be a first timers, hence they will put the TD car under proper test for suspension, GC at worst conditions.
Also TD car will be revved to at least 3 to 4 k rpm, by the TD custemer, which will void the running in rules.
Running in is a most important factor in the cars future ,. Running in allows the cars aluminium pistons, crank case , valves to gradually swell and acclimatise the hot engine condition s. If engine is revved at high rpm during running in , its parts will have mismatched dimensions, leading to permanent malfunction, low f e, misfire, low power.It will require FREQUENT REPAIR WORK . It is ok for dealer to get it done. But for an individual custemer, it going to be headache , loss of peace of mind. Yes, cost of headache will be the discount qouted.
Ideally TD cars go back to factory for reasearch purpose after they complete 60 to 80 k running, So it is better not to become lab guineapig.
Verna is a best buy in its segment, unless you and rear passengers are a 6 feeter. Wonderful car,Cruze is a failure in India and your town[probably] due to its low GC. It scrapes the bumpy roads., compelling the driver to run the 140 horses at low speed.
Bye the way, how does dealer selects TD custemer s?, to prevent them from revving the car, prevent them from testing suspension, GC .