Desert Storm 2018

Thread Starter #2


Honoured Member
Sep 7, 2014
Delhi-NCR/ Mumbai
Lorenzo Santolino continues his strong performance at Desert Storm 2018

Wins Stage 4 and jumps to P2 in the overall rankings

Lorenzo Santolino 1.jpg

Lorenzo Santolino.jpg

Jaisalmer, March 23, 2018: Sherco TVS Factory Rally Team’s Lorenzo Santolino continued his impressive form in the fourth stage of Desert Storm 2018 topping the stage at P1. Leg 4, which was divided into two parts, including a night-time ride, saw the Spaniard race through 452 kilometers in the region of Bhuwana, Asutar and Majid ki Basti and finish at P1. Santolino’s strong performance has resulted in him jumping up in the overall rankings to P2.

Commenting on Lorenzo Santolino’s performance, B Selvaraj, Team Manager, TVS Racing said, "It is great to see that Lorenzo has built on the momentum and remained consistent in his performance. He has shown steady progress through each stage and now he is very close to the top of the table. His strong stint has given a huge boost to the team's spirits. With one more leg to go, I am confident that he will better his best. We are really appreciative of the immense effort put in by the team riders and the crew in Desert Storm 2018.”

It was a good day today,” said Lorenzo Santolino, Racer, Sherco TVS Factory Rally Team, “It feels great to have won three special stages of this Rally and I am really enjoying this terrain. I will try my best in the last stage tomorrow but it is a very short stage.”

Leg 5, which is the final leg of the Rally, will see riders traverse a distance of 105 kilometers in the region of Kuchri and Asutar before concluding at Sam.

AW Tanveer had to unfortunately retire from the Rally.

Rankings for Leg 4:

Class results: Group A – Upto 450 cc
Lorenzo Santolino - P1

Dec 1, 2011
In the 4 wheels segment the Japanese ruled

1) Suzuki Grand Vitara
2) Isuzu Vcross
3) Pajero Sport

Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm 2018 has come to an end with Abhishek Mishra and Aaron Mare clinching the Xtreme and Moto titles respectively. The Desert Storm was extremely challenging for the participants this year and that was well demonstrated by the fact that the entire Maruti Suzuki Motorsport team could not finish. Abhishek Mishra finished with an overall time of 11:15:54 hours and was followed by Raj Singh Rathore but he was close to 35 minutes off the pace. Niju Padia from team Desert Raiders was third overall and he trailed Raj Singh Rathore by 45 minutes.

In the Moto category, Dubai based South African Aaron Mare from Angata Racing finished the rally with a time of 08:01:20 hours and fended off a challenge by TVS Racing’s Santolino Lorenzo who finished just five minutes adrift. At the start of the final stage, Santolino was separated by five minutes from the race leader but over a short 25km stage, it was going to be an uphill task to make up that time. Sanjay Kumar from Angata Racing joined his teammate on the podium and was 33 minutes behind Santolino.

The rally saw some high profile crashes and DNFs with racers like CS Santosh and Suresh Rana unable to finish.
Source :- Evo India

Top Bottom