Decoding Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) Of 2-Wheeler

As is known, I have very limited knowledge when it comes to 2-wheeler. But as an enthusiast I am equally inclined to learn about them. We buy motorbikes/scooters more often than we buy cars. 2-wheeler form a major chunk of our commutes and a major part of on-road traffic. It is easier to own a 2-wheeler than a 4 wheeler. Like we have a 4 wheeler VIN Decoding thread on our forum, I searched for 2-wheeler too but since I did not find one so I am initiating a new thread with necessary information in regards to the 2-wheeler VIN. Please feel free to decode your 2-wheeler VIN using the info below. I searched google as well and after reading many useful articles, I decided to share a similar one with all of you here.

The First Three Characters

This first section renders information in this order: the country of origin, the manufacturer, and a third character showing either a “1” or an “A” to indicate “motorcycle.”

The Next Five Characters

The second section is called the vehicle descriptor section. The fourth place in the VIN code indicates the vehicle category:

C = scooter
B = business model or commuter
N = single cylinder sport/street
G = multiple cylinder sport/street
F = family
S = off road
V = v-type engine, street, V2/V4/V6/V8, etc.

In the fifth place, you will see a letter showing engine size:

A = 49cc and less
B = 50-69cc
C = 70-79cc
D = 80-89cc
E = 90-99cc
F = 100-124cc
G = 125-149cc
H = 150-199cc
J = 200-249cc
K = 250-399cc
M = 400-499cc
N = 500-599cc
P = 600-699cc
R = 700-749cc
S = 750-849cc
T = 850-999cc
U = 1000-1099cc
V = 1100-1199cc
W = 1200-1299cc
Y = 1400-1499cc
Z = 1500cc and up

The sixth place will have a digit for engine type:

1 = 2 stroke single
2 = 2 stroke twin
3 = 2 stroke triple or four
4 = 4 stroke single
5 = 4 stroke twin

Next in the sequence, the seventh spot, indicates design sequence while eighth is for model version. In the ninth space is a check digit mandated to verify the accuracy of the VIN code. This place does not render any specific information about the motorcycle itself.

Year Code and Manufacturing Plant

In the tenth and eleventh spaces will be the year code and an indication of the plant the motorcycle was manufactured respectively. The year codes are as follows:

1999= X
2000 = Y
2001= 1
2002 = 2
2003 = 3
2004= 4
2005 = 5
2006= 6
2007= 7
2008= 8
2009 = 9
2010 = A
2011= B
2012= C
2013 = D

The Last Eight Digits: The motorcycle’s serial number takes up the last eight places in the VIN number. These are assigned sequentially as the motorcycles finish assembly.

Please feel free to update this thread with needful information at any point of time. If anyone can update it with 2014-2015 series VIN, it would be much appreciated.

Re: Decoding the VIN Number of a 2-Wheeler.

List of Motorcycle manufacturers operating in India.

1) Hero Motocorp

2) Honda 2-Wheeler

3) TVS

4) Bajaj and KTM

5) Yamaha

6) Kawasaki

7) Harley Davidson.

8) Triumph

9) Royal Enfield

10) Mahindra 2-Wheeler

11) Suzuki 2-Wheeler

Scooter Manufacturers operating in India.

1) TVS

2) Mahindra 2-Wheeler

3) Honda 2-Wheeler

4) Hero 2-Wheeler

5) Piaggio Vespa

6) Yamaha

7) Suzuki 2-Wheeler

* If I have missed out on any brand then please feel free to add to the above list with necessary details.

Thanks for this useful info Akash Ji.

I just checked VIN of my 2014 Honda Dio and I could decode most of its characters but some seems wrong and some I couldn't understand "The First Three Characters" and "The Next Five Characters" that you have mentioned.

First ten digits of my vehicle VIN is: ME4JF392EE

Fifth place is F which is 100-124cc = Correct
Sixth place is 3 which is 2 stroke triple or four = Wrong. Shouldn't it be 4 aka 4 stroke single?
Eighth place is 2 which indicates design sequence = May be correct because my Dio is 2nd gen.
Ninth place is E which says "Verifying accuracy of the VIN code" but if four wheeler vin decoding method is considered, it is month. Mine is May = Correct. I took delivery in first week of June
Tenth place is E which is year, just like four wheeler vin. Mine is 2014 = Correct

Or is it because above guide is for 2013 and older vehicles?

Sorry, if this thread is still updating. If so, kindly move or remove my post.

Thanks...
Best Regards

Thanks for this useful info Akash Ji.

I just checked my VIN of my 2014 Honda Dio and I could decode most of its characters but some seems wrong and some I couldn't understand "The First Three Characters" and "The Next Five Characters" that you have mentioned.

First ten digits of my vehicle VIN is: ME4JF392EE
Sixth place is 3 which is 2 stroke triple or four = Wrong. Shouldn't it be 4 aka 4 stroke single?
Or is it because above guide is for 2013 and older vehicles?
Buddy I could attain info till 2013 only. 2014-2015 data is yet to be compiled and posted. It could be possible that series of VIN in 2014-15 would have slight change. I'll find that and update asap.[:)] If you come across the 2014-15 data of VIN then do post on this thread.

Alright. No problem. I will see if I can find any.

@350Z

Sir, Please delete my posts.

Hi Everyone

My first post here. I am getting my first bike a TVS Apache RTR200.

I would like to know if anyone has the VIN decoding chart for TVS. I need to ensure that they dont pass off old stock to me.

Thanks in advance.

Chassis number, Bajaj Sunny

I have two old Bajaj Bonnie (= version of Sunny). I have tried to extract info about them through their chassis and engine numbers. One was very straight forward, using keys on the internet, but the other one puzzles me.
Chassis number: F18DF051985.
Using the keys, I believe that: F=chassis made in Waluj, 18=Sunny, 051985=serial number. That leaves DF for year and month of make, but according to said keys, that would mean June 1998. I am sure that my other Bonnie is made in 1993, and I can not believe that they could have been manufactured so many years apart, since they share many early series features.
The engine number follows the same pattern: M18DB026822. M suggests engine made in Waluj.
So, any ideas how I should interpret the numbers?

Re: Chassis number, Bajaj Sunny

This could be more of a clearical error by the person who uploaded these details.
Dont worry much, as long as you got the right documents in hand