Confused on Choosing My Ride (Decided Honda City ZX V-Tec)

Re: Confused on choosing my ride

Thanks for the suggestions guys.
Car doesn't have sunroof. I feel it is not worth paying 4.5 lacs for this.
Spoke to the owner this evening and explained him the mechanic's comments.
He said he can give it for nothing less than 4.3 lacs.

I feel its better to step back in this deal.[confused]

I feel its better to step back in this deal.
No questions. For sure. The price I recommended is for top-end. Perform a thorough market research for more Lancers, Citys etc. and you will ultimately chance upon the suitable model. That's what the used car market is all about.

If you really like the car , dont mind is shelling some extra amount. it will be worth .

i hope you can settle for 4 or 4.10L
At the end you get a genuine car , with less running. forget the price .

as mentioned , brakes may need to be cleaned or pad replace.
suspension doesnt need to be overhauled , infact nothing needed just some greasing at the bearing for free steering movement , that is it. near some 80 to 1L kms replace.

clutch depend on driving method , a normal clutch will need replace at 80 to 90K kms , provided earlier one didnt do that much hill trips.

Ac gas filling is normal and takes 700 to 800 max

Why the engine mount should need replace at 38k? a 1L kms run engine mound will have slightest crack , but permissable!

ilango[speed thirst];73122 said:
suspension doesnt need to be overhauled , infact nothing needed just some greasing at the bearing for free steering movement , that is it. near some 80 to 1L kms replace.

clutch depend on driving method , a normal clutch will need replace at 80 to 90K kms , provided earlier one didnt do that much hill trips.

Why the engine mount should need replace at 38k? a 1L kms run engine mound will have slightest crack , but permissable!
The same questions on my head too.[confused]
Not changed any of these parts in my 6 years old & 1.3lac km clocked Wagon-R[surprise]
I wish to take her to authorised dealer to confirm the same. May be by this week end.

ilango[speed thirst];73122 said:
If you really like the car , dont mind is shelling some extra amount. it will be worth .
i hope you can settle for 4 or 4.10L
At the end you get a genuine car , with less running. forget the price .
If you want a diesel car, then honestly the deal seems sweet. Yes Lancer looks dated, but with some aftermarket alloys, spoilers etc, it can be turned into a looker!
I was searching for a used Fiesta D last month and honestly i couldnt get any in the market in a price range below 5 lacs. Even the Verna which imo looks dull can be bought only after shelling catleast 5 lacs with atleast 60-70k on odo.
So IMO do give this Lancer D some preference, however if you are ok with a petrol car, you have loads of options available.

ilango[speed thirst];73127 said:
Authorised dealer will ask you to get a new engine for 4L from him!!
remember its month beginning and he has to meet target![evil]
New engine? Didnt get you buddy!

Thread Starter #37

ilango[speed thirst];73127 said:
Authorised dealer will ask you to get a new engine for 4L from him!!
remember its month beginning and he has to meet target![evil]
I'm not getting this point Ilango. Please throw some light.

If you want a diesel car, then honestly the deal seems sweet
I'm not keen towards diesel. My monthly ride will be within 650km.
Will be happy with the best diesel offer considering the fuel cost.

Buddy then consider buying a petrol car. You can get a used Verna petrol 1.6sxi with ABS and Airbags for around 3.5 to 4 lakhs for a 2007 or a 2008 model.

Hi bharat, my budget is around 2.5 lakhs only.
Prefered the diesel Lancer only because I need not pay him the entire amount now (just a interest free loan[:D])

Hi bharat, my budget is around 2.5 lakhs only.
Prefered the diesel Lancer only because I need not pay him the entire amount now (just a interest free loan[:D])
If you have fixed this budget then start searching for a used OHC, NHC or Lancer(P).
However i second Bharath's suggestion of Verna ABS. You can get one easily by stretching a budget by a lac!

I'm not getting this point Ilango. Please throw some light.

If you show the car to authorised people , they ask to change this that etc , so i said they may even ask you to change the engine.

And every service station has target to meet . that is this month they need to show certain quantity of bill amount , so for that authorised service people do hell lot of cheating!

My hunt for used car is put on hold as of now since I'm out of India.

My ex-colleague & close friend who is newly married is in need of a car.
Requirements:
Budget : upto 2.5 lakhs
Monthly running : Daily office commute 30km + weekend rides 200km/month
Either petrol or diesel, but a great fan of Hyundai. His family has a Santro (1999) & his wifey family, a Santro Xing (Santro family[:D])

Cars shortlisted :
Accent
Elantra
Getz

Started his hunt a few days back. Getting an offer of 2006 Getz GLX (Kerala registered) for 2.2 lakhs (negotiable). Red color, after market alloys with 40% tyre life, 80k on odo, single owner, no dents only few scratches. Reliable source. Partial service history available.

Is it a good buy? What will be the cost involved in re-registration?

[The PunisheR];96283 said:
That's one of the good looking Lancer, but
I'm looking for a TN registered car only. Don't wish to mesh up with the transfer from other state.

BTW friends, I'm back in hunt for used car. I stay abroad now and will be coming to India by October 2nd week. I need car before December as I've already planned for a Trip to Ooty & Kerala during Winter Shutdown.

Requirements:
-MUST be a Sedan (out of list: Indigo, Esteem, DZire, Baleno, Logan)
-Budget stretched: 3.5 lakhs for the car and another 50k for LPG kit (if it is a diesel car, add the cost of LPG kit to the car cost) & minor repair works (may be some cosmetic upgrades too)
-Monthly running will be around 1k km (75% in city) and occasional long drives for about 1k km (may be twice or thrice in a year)

Cars shortlisted (Prioritized)
1) Lancer - Petrol (max budget for lancer will be 2.5 lakhs + 50k)
2) Honda City - 2004 and above (NHC)
3) Hyundai Verna (Either petrol / diesel)
4) Toyota Corolla
5) Maruti SX4

Other cars in consideration (Only from a known & reliable source)
1) OHC - Type 2
2) Ikon 1.3 Flair - 2006 and above
3) Accent
Max budget for these cars - 2 lakhs + 50k
4) Fiesta
5) Optra 1.6 - 2006 sep & above
add 1 lakh to the above said budget

Which of these will be a perfect choice?
I'm more inclined towards Lancer & NHC but will be much happy to have a clear specimen of Corolla in budget.

PS: I'm not looking for a peppy drive. I need a decent sedan for office commute,

NHC or SX4 (with LPG added)

Corolla in 3.5 is quite not possible search hard

Check Maruti True value and Mahindra True choice.