Bought Used Maruti Suzuki Dzire Tour (2016)

Hello everyone, hope you are doing well and being safe.

Since couple of years we felt the need of having our own car as it was getting difficult to get rental cars when you have urgent requirement. There were couple of guys who would give their car on self drive but of late as fuel prices are also shot up and per day (10 hours) rent is now 1200 so it was getting expensive. Sometimes it was a headache to drive those cars because they are not in good condition, either AC won't work or there won't be music system in those cars.

Since the pandemic began many people started avoiding public transport also so we were looking for a decent car in the range of 2 lac. The plan was other family members will learn how to drive and then we can look for a new car so a car that was easy to drive and not expensive to maintain along with good resale value made sense.

We didn't want to buy small cars like Alto or kwid , and didn't look at Tata cars because there were many VISTA or Bolt models in our budget. So we decided to go for either swift/Dzire or Etios as Toyota is very reliable. After searching in online we found some swift and Dzire but those were 10 years old and still the asking price was around 3 lakh rupees so we didn't proceed with them.

We came across this 2016 model Dzire which was used as taxi before and was taken back by financier. When we saw the car it was in private plate and finance was cleared. That person was selling it again and asking price was 3.3 lakh, we saw the car it looked good from outside, there were no scratches anywhere and it was visible that bumpers and ORVM were painted. The interior was good, seats were leather and no signs of abuse from plastic parts. No Central locking and Power windows and no music system too. We couldn't take test drive as it was in the yard so just started it and felt the engine was not very harsh. Front tyres were of JK and rear ones from MRF, they have 80% life. We closed the deal for 3.1 and paid advance and returned. Then after four days we paid the amount and took the car home. Before coming home, got the Central locking done and bought boot Chrome garnish.

After bringing the car to home took it for service on next morning. First installed LED Fog lights and Roots Horn. The bumper was tightened by screws and they had applied putty and paint to hide screws. After opening the bumper came to know that Intercooler had oil leakage. Asked mechanic to fix it and bought Motul 15w40 oil along with Oil Filter, Diesel filter, Air filter and AC filter All of them needed replacement.

Spent whole day at workshop to get the work done, mechanic pointed that steering rack needs replacement and car vibrates while applying brakes, maybe some issues with disc brakes. Another thing was there's a bulge in front left tyre side wall, mechanic suggested to replace the tyre as soon as possible.

The service cost was around 6000 including the filters. The odo stands at 105000 km and car is running well. Power windows and music system are missing and am looking to install them soon.

Adding the photos now

IMG-20220114-WA0008.jpg

IMG-20220114-WA0007.jpg

IMG-20220114-WA0005.jpg

IMG-20220114-WA0004.jpg

IMG-20220114-WA0006.jpg

Hi there,

I am looking for service manual for my car, can anyone help me with it?

I am seeing this light in dashboard, it is continuously ON even after service is done few days back.

Will it cause any issue? Or can it be ignored???

Service-warning.jpg

deville_56

I am seeing this light in dashboard, it is continuously ON even after service is done few days back.

Will it cause any issue? Or can it be ignored??? View attachment 292666
Don't ignore, especially when the past of the car is unknown. Get it scanned for peace of mind.

Another thing was there's a bulge in front left tyre side wall, mechanic suggested to replace the tyre as soon as possible.
Check manufacturing dates and condition of other tyres as well and replace if necessary. Since both front were JKs, they would be of same age.

Probably, after the service, the guys might have forgotten to remove the service due indicator. If this is the case, then you can reset it manually asunder:

With the key in off position:
  1. Press and hold the Odometer reset button.
  2. Turn the ignition back to the ON position while holding the reset button.
  3. Watch the maintenance light carefully.
  4. Allow the light to blink ON and OFF for a few seconds, turn the ignition OFF and then release the reset button
After doing above and If the service indicator still comes on, then the problem is something else.!

Don't ignore, especially when the past of the car is unknown. Get it scanned for peace of mind.

Check manufacturing dates and condition of other tyres as well and replace if necessary. Since both front were JKs, they would be of same age.
I will check it and update.

I have checked tyres and found the number 1815 on JK tyre and 1514 on MRF tyre. So it means tyre was manufactured in 18th week of 2015 and another one in 15th week of 2014. Tyres don't look that old as there isn't much wear and tear but I am not sure if I can use them now considering their age.

Below is the photo of the bulge in tyre.

IMG_20220115_164546.jpg

Tried to reset the warning light on dashboard . It blinked and stayed on for sometime but after sometime while driving I noticed that the light is off now. Hope it doesn't glow again.

IMG-20220115-WA0004.jpg

deville_56

I have checked tyres and found the number 1815 on JK tyre and 1514 on MRF tyre. So it means tyre was manufactured in 18th week of 2015 and another one in 15th week of 2014. Tyres don't look that old as there isn't much wear and tear but I am not sure if I can use them now considering their age.

View attachment 292671
2014 and 2015 tyres on 2016 car can be used tyres bought by seller.

You would have to spend quite some money to get these things fixed.
Maybe some oil seal has leaked. Get it checked again from the mechanic and ask him to do a thorough check on rest of the parts as well.

Get the tyres changed instantly. 2014 tyres with 80% life left ? 100% sure these are low quality re- tread tyres. Anyways the life of any tyre is not above 5 years.

Hi there,

Yesterday I found oil stain where the car was parked and decided to see the source. Have taken photo of the same, want to know what is the cause of oil leakage and the damage it can do. Attaching the photos below.
Doesn't it look like leakage from drive shaft oil seal near gearbox?

Check if replacing the oil seal would nail the coffin and no more issue crops up.

I had this issue in my 2013 Santro Xing last April 2021, the oil seal was replaced by inefficient labour and skill sets by the mechanic and it kept leaking. They once again replaced free of cost and again there was continuous leakage. I had this sweet experience with S Drive - Kamaraj Nagar of Avadi (CHENNAI). They have a totally good for nothing mechanic team and they lack the skill set to do basic repairs of the car - as minimal as replacing the oil filter, disassembling the wheel.... They damaged my rear wheel strut in the effort and later blamed my wheel alignment specialist to have screwed into the wrong thread.

Finally after multiple escalations, S Drive diverted the issue to Porur, where the service advisor was skiled enough and resolved the issue with a new oil seal, with the same gear oil, once for all.

I may be wrong here, but it's only my assumption, and you can investigate in this angle also, if you feel like.

View attachment 292671
This one is dangerous bro. I had such a bulge in one of my 7 years 9 months old front tyres, which had run 39000 kms only, but my wheel specialist advised me to replace the front tyres at least, as I was about to move out for a 1800 kms down south Tamil Nadu trip in my family and he didn't recommend me to drive at highway speeds with such a bulge on the tyre. Had to replace the front two tyres along with balancing, weights and alignment, which set me back by a good INR 7,000/- for the two 13 inch R13 tyres for Santro Xing 2013.

I had given car for washing and then took it to mechanic, he inspected and said that the oil is leaking from chamber. He didn't do anything about it.

Regarding the service due light on dashboard, it stays ON after starting the car and will go away itself after running for few kilometres. I am observing sound from front disc brakes while applying the break it's a hissing sound. The person who did wheel alignment said that the disc surface is uneven and consider replacing them. But the break bite is very good, the car stops without any issues but I haven't been in a situation where I am at High speed. Due to road and drainage work the car is not running much.

Hi there,

Yesterday I found oil stain where the car was parked and decided to see the source. Have taken photo of the same, want to know what is the cause of oil leakage and the damage it can do. Attaching the photos below.
From the pics it looks like the oil leak is from 2 different places.
1)Sump gasket leaking.
2)Gear box oil leak.
You will also have to rule out oil seepage from above in the engine eg head/tappet cover.
Whatever it is, I think any good mechanic can fix it, so don't worry too much.

Hello there,

Wanted to your valuable advice regarding music system for Dzire. I am looking for a basic music system and speakers for my car and don't know what brand to consider. Should I buy online or look for it in Hyderabad. My requirement is simple, it should have decent Audio quality, support Bluetooth and Aux with USB. Want to know what would be the budget for all these (stereo+ speakers).

deville_56

Hello there,

Wanted to your valuable advice regarding music system for Dzire. I am looking for a basic music system and speakers for my car and don't know what brand to consider. Should I buy online or look for it in Hyderabad. My requirement is simple, it should have decent Audio quality, support Bluetooth and Aux with USB. Want to know what would be the budget for all these (stereo+ speakers).
Buy only branded ones, they last long, really long. Lots of cheaper ones are available as low as 1.5k, but sounds awful and won't last long. Pioneer MVH-S219BT is a good choice, MRP is around 6.5k, but retails for 4-4.5k. Door speakers should be 6-6-1/2 inchers, I assume. Decent ones would cost around 2-2.5k a pair for coaxial. Components are available as cheap as 3.5k, Pioneer, Infinity, etc. Add 1.5-2k for connector, spacer and labour. A decent setup should fall around 12k altogether. Check different shops for prices and options. If quoting too much, buy online and get it installed by an auto electrician or an installer or simply DIY.