I am considering to buy a new car and presenting my requirements as well as my opinion about various cars before all of you to please guide me. It is another thing that guiding me also needs some financial expertise on your part.
Requirements-
i) Petrol only
ii) Average running 500-600 kmpm mostly on long drives (once in 3-4 months). Therefore, car should be decent on highway/long journey. Rare driving in city for office commuting. (I am living in a place in central Delhi where public transport facilities are at their best – three metro stations, two train stations and one city bus terminus within one km radius of my residence. So no problem in going to any of my dozen plus offices –So many offices?
– hint: my introduction).
iii) Mileage is not so important thing. Just that car should give atleast 17-18 on highway.
iv) I intend to retain the car for atleast 7-8 years so build quality should be decent. No tin ka dibba after some time.
v) Budget – 4.5 lakh (on the road), extendable (how much? That is the advise I would like to have from you)
Now my opinion about various contestants-
Alto K10 – Good but space is somewhat lacking
Figo – good but doubtful about its mileage
Wagon R & Estilo – Height is too high for safe driving at speed.
Ritz – unable to digest its rear
Beat – unable to digest its front
Punto – Why it sells so less?
Fabia & Polo – Heard that their 3 cylinder engines are noisy plus spare parts are so expensive.
I10 – Heard that ride gets bumpy for rear passengers. Tyres are small. Is this ok for long drives?
Swift – Good
Liva – good but interior quality?
There is one more car that I have not mentioned but it is just perfect for me (in fact my dream car) except that it is beyond my budget. New Jazz.
Now my question – what should I do? And options are:-
1. Take the best car suited for me among the above mentioned cars (except Jazz) (No loan would be required, all of my savings (approx. 4.3 lakh) would be wiped out plus some borrowings)
2. Take loan and take Jazz base version. Enjoy my dream car along with approx. 4000 Rs per month EMI and 0 Rs. in my savings a/c.
3. Take Alto K10. After some 3-4 years, change it with Jazz. (I expect to be financially comfortable by that time)
4. Take no car. Why car? This option convinces me once in a week.
I have been advised (by some learned people in my office) to buy a house and than a car but I am adamant that I would first move into a dynamic house and than into a static house. I have no liabilities except those of my small family.
So what should I do? In case your vote goes to option 1, which car?
![Wink [;)] [;)]](https://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/images/smilies/Wink.gif)
Requirements-
i) Petrol only
ii) Average running 500-600 kmpm mostly on long drives (once in 3-4 months). Therefore, car should be decent on highway/long journey. Rare driving in city for office commuting. (I am living in a place in central Delhi where public transport facilities are at their best – three metro stations, two train stations and one city bus terminus within one km radius of my residence. So no problem in going to any of my dozen plus offices –So many offices?
![Surprise [surprise] [surprise]](https://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/images/smilies/Surprise.gif)
iii) Mileage is not so important thing. Just that car should give atleast 17-18 on highway.
iv) I intend to retain the car for atleast 7-8 years so build quality should be decent. No tin ka dibba after some time.
v) Budget – 4.5 lakh (on the road), extendable (how much? That is the advise I would like to have from you)
Now my opinion about various contestants-
Alto K10 – Good but space is somewhat lacking
Figo – good but doubtful about its mileage
Wagon R & Estilo – Height is too high for safe driving at speed.
Ritz – unable to digest its rear
Beat – unable to digest its front
Punto – Why it sells so less?
Fabia & Polo – Heard that their 3 cylinder engines are noisy plus spare parts are so expensive.
I10 – Heard that ride gets bumpy for rear passengers. Tyres are small. Is this ok for long drives?
Swift – Good
Liva – good but interior quality?
There is one more car that I have not mentioned but it is just perfect for me (in fact my dream car) except that it is beyond my budget. New Jazz.
Now my question – what should I do? And options are:-
1. Take the best car suited for me among the above mentioned cars (except Jazz) (No loan would be required, all of my savings (approx. 4.3 lakh) would be wiped out plus some borrowings)
2. Take loan and take Jazz base version. Enjoy my dream car along with approx. 4000 Rs per month EMI and 0 Rs. in my savings a/c.
3. Take Alto K10. After some 3-4 years, change it with Jazz. (I expect to be financially comfortable by that time)
4. Take no car. Why car? This option convinces me once in a week.
I have been advised (by some learned people in my office) to buy a house and than a car but I am adamant that I would first move into a dynamic house and than into a static house. I have no liabilities except those of my small family.
So what should I do? In case your vote goes to option 1, which car?