Any Precaution Before Putting K&N Filters?

Thread Starter #1
hey guys,,
am planning to put a K&N stock replacement air filter in my Alto.
I read somewhere that the increased air flow can upset the MAP setting and the sensors. so do i need to do any kinda tune up before installing it?[confused]
plzz help..
drive safe, buckle up, use low beams!

Re: before putting K&N?

Hi mumbaikar,

No tune up would be required for installing K&N stock filter. I have been using the same for more than 2 years now without any problems. Replacement of a stock filter is just a few seconds job.

Last edited:
well i have also never heard about tuning needed for changing filter..go for it buddy but install from professional installer only!!

vikram

Suspended
What is the famous "K&N filter" which everyone talks about so much ? And what is the Petes tuning box ? are they of any use ? do they increase performance/initial pick-up/speed? do they lower fuel-efficiency of the car? Any other pros & cons ?
Have been hearing abt these things a lot but always wondered what these "special" things are ! [thinking]

350Z

Core Team
What is the famous "K&N filter" which everyone talks about so much ? And what is the Petes tuning box ? are they of any use ? do they increase performance/initial pick-up/speed? do they lower fuel-efficiency of the car? Any other pros & cons ?
Have been hearing abt these things a lot but always wondered what these "special" things are ! [thinking]
There is more to air intakes than it meets the eye. Just replacing the filter element with a so called 'performance filter' will gain little to nothing.

A lot of people make the mistake to rave about the replacement filter after swapping it with a clogged up paper element.