A Ford Joins My Garage: Ford Figo Petrol (1st Gen) Ownership Review

First the Facts about the car:

Car is Ford Figo petrol Exi 1.2 litre, 2011 model. Its colour is Moonlight silver. Figo was based on the mark 5 European fiesta hatchback .It has Sigma engine which is 1,196 cc 16V DOHC, BS4 compliant, with 5 speed manual gearbox and produces 71ps and 102Nm of torque.

The name "Figo" is an Italian word meaning "cool", and even after more than a decade I find the design cooler than most cars of that era.

How did I get to lay my hands on this Figo?

I did not buy this car. It is pre-owned .It has been passed on to me from my close relative, who is too old and medically unfit to drive it anymore. It was the primary car used to go to office and commute in the city for errands. Recently came to know of their plan to sell it, to salvage whatever value it gives. I immediately offered to maintain it to full functionality, under my care, instead of selling it at peanut price. Thereafter I was asked to take the car under my ownership only on one condition: drive it daily !!

From now onwards it will be driven and maintained solely by me and remain under my ownership. I feel happy that I am saving this car from a really bad fate, because had I not shown inclination to take full ownership responsibility, it was supposed to be sold at scrap rate to a motor driving school in my neighbourhood for an embarrassingly low price !

As I have said, my close relative is a senior citizen and cannot drive the car anymore. Figo was driven very-very less( that too in the city only) and in fact it can easily win any award if there is a competition for the car with lowest odometer reading in a whole decade .When I got the car home the odometer was at 8840kms. I know its unbelievable and mind boggling but its true. It just sat at one place for weeks together. Although It was idled regularly for 2 min for battery charging.

Reasons why private buyers /used car dealers were offering very less price for this car. These are also the not-so-good points of car.

1) Ford has exited India. Service, spares, warranty, resale etc can be an issue. Car is 2011 model with no modern car provisions eg airbag, ABS, touch screen, screen reminders, popups, leds, etc

2) Petrol Figo is not fuel efficient. Its image is of a costly car to maintain.

3) Because of less driving and standing still at one place only, car has developed a host of problems, which appear to be unsolvable.

4) Water seepage issue in the passenger compartment. Whenever someone washes the car or there is rain, water enters the driver and passengers footwell. And it gets filled up fast.

5) Rats have infested the whole engine bay very badly. There is rat poop all over the engine. Not a single place is left where they have not left rat poop. When I brought the car home very bad meat like smell was coming from the engine. On inspecting I found out that a rat had died trapped on the engine itself .I had to pull out that burnt/cooked rat from a crevice in the engine. I think it got trapped while the car started moving and became hot faster(summers). It was trapped between the intake manifold pipes. It was a big rat and on trying to remove it ,it became very messy as burnt bits and pieces were breaking off and coming out from the cooked meat. I had to throw away my stainless steel tongs (Chimta for Roti / Chapatis ) after using it for withdrawing the dead body of rat out. No tool was working in that narrow space, and I needed a giant forceps for this operation, and so roti tong came in handy. But that made my wife super angry. She fought fiercely for the whole day, but that's another story. The smell of burnt meat lasted in my gallery for a full day.

6) Petrol filled up is disappearing somewhere because despite of not driving at all , the petrol needle after filling, comes down to "empty" within a week and as a result the car is showing a very poor average in single digits!!

7) Car has uneven idle. Acceleration is very poor. While driving on open highway I found even after doing pedal to metal, its not going beyond 90-95 at all ! So it does not touches even 100, which is the legal speed limit on the expressway. I am really puzzled what could be the reason for car not going beyond 90 and accelerating very slowly after 65km/hr. Its as if the engine is blocked from speeding further. Its even more surprising when the manual says this engine has max. speed of 160-170.

8) Battery is not taking charge. Its only 2 years old. But Amaron guys say its car problem not battery problem.

9) All 5 tyres are too old and overdue for a change. They were never ever changed. Alignment and balancing on existing tyres was never done.

10) Figo petrol engine gets really hot in city driving. Engine does not like bumper tp bumper traffic at all.

Good points about the car.

1) Its a hoot to drive. Despite of less power on paper, it can give wheel spin at every ,and I mean every launch, if you want it. Lower down torque is good which is why it overtakes everything in the city driving scenario.

2) Handling is the best. I don't know of luxury brands but this simple car is the best road handling car I have ever owned .Period.

3) Tough build quality all-over and everywhere. Remember it got 4 stars (along with polo) in NCAP when they first started testing. No rattle in dashboard and interiors whatsoever, even after 11 years.

4) I loved the simple design and subtle cuts and creases on the body.

5) Gear box is smooth and sure slotting. Clutch is still very soft like a new car.

6) No turbo, no touchscreen, no LEDs, no foglamps, No unnecessary popups and reminders on screen, no modern gadgets, just a plain and simple minimalistic machine. And I love this aspect of this car.

7) Hydraulic steering is very good and feels connected and slightly heavy. It gives feeling of stability on road.

8) Good boot space of 284 litres, much more than my old Swift and Ritz.

9) Service history of the car is transparent and complete. I received total 8 service bills in the owners manual, so I guess once an yearly changes in fluids and essentials. Since car was not driven much, mostly oil and filter changes were done at the service centres.

10) Proper 4 cylinder petrol engine with good low end torque works best for my kind of driving. I find 3-cylinder turbo petrols of today are impractical, more noisy and very maintenance heavy. They also don't give adequate lower down torque until the turbo spools up. Good for expressway but very frustrating in bumper to bumper traffic.

11) Clean design and no unnecessary and weird cuts and creases on the car body. To me actually that makes this car beautiful, and Figo design has aged well .

12) Because of compact dimensions (compared to todays SUVish hatchbacks),very easy to park anywhere, and quite easy to move about in the city.

13) Glass area is huge .Good visibility all around, making moving in ultra crowded traffic easier.

14) Driving seat front and back sliding adjustment is HUGE. Any tall person can sit front or behind easily. No leg space problem.

15) Handling. Did I mention already? Handling and cornering stability is the best in class, at least in all the cars I have driven so far. I always thought its a mirage or just hype/urban legend about handling. But driving Figo has surprised me very much. I don't know if any of todays car <10lakhs have this feature.

Pictures of my Figo after I brought it home and gave it a thorough wash.

IMG-20220522-WA0009.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0007.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0006.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0008.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0003.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0002.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0000.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0001.jpg

Good to see proper under-bonnet cladding, when even premium cars of today miss them to save upon costs

IMG-20220522-WA0004.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0005.jpg

Engine bay pictures: I prefer Proper 4 cylinder engine in todays market of 3 cylinder turbo/NA engines.

IMG-20220522-WA0010.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0024.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0020.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0018.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0022.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0017.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0021.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0023.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0014.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0012.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0013.jpg

R134A gas requirement

IMG-20220522-WA0019.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0015.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0016.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0004.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0009.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0007.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0010.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0024.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0020.jpg

Red glow of the instrument panel. Unlike fiesta green, its red everywhere.

IMG_20220521_232124563.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0021.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0043.jpg

Condition of the rubber and plastic looks alright to me. Not much deterioration visible at least to me

IMG-20220522-WA0040.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0041.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0042.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0047.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0048.jpg

Music system and clock, again red glow all-over

IMG-20220522-WA0039.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0037.jpg

Battery has been changed once only in a decade. This one is working

IMG-20220522-WA0045.jpg

Pictures of the interiors

IMG-20220522-WA0049.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0051.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0050.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0052.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0053.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0054.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0055.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0056.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0057.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0058.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0060.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0061.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0062.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0063.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0065.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0066.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0067.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0070.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0071.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0069.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0068.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0064.jpg

Original seat fabric held up all right, even without seat cover .Please consider it has already lasted more than a decade!!

IMG-20220522-WA0059.jpg

Ford had used good quality plastics. Even the knobs haven't faded after remaining parked in the sun for more than a decade!!

IMG-20220522-WA0073.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0072.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0074.jpg

Boot opener is on passenger side footwell. That's odd.

IMG-20220522-WA0075.jpg

Even more odd is wiper stalks on the right hand side

IMG-20220522-WA0076.jpg

Condition of the tyres is really bad. Wheel covers are broken and cracked at multiple places and tyres have large bad-looking cracks all-over

IMG-20220522-WA0059.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0060.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0061.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0062.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0063.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0064.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0061.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0065.jpg

Can you kindly do an OBD scan? 6,7 can be addressed with that.
I forgot the sensor name, but what it does is, it controls electronically the rate of fuel injection from the master control, and then it cuts off when inout from throttle sensor is not there. The point I want to address is, that when a car is not run for so much time, these sensors behave weirdly, as these are designed such that, there is a constant current cycle passing through them (Vehicle needs to be run). This is mainly seen in Germans and Americans.
Also when you do the service, do change the spark plugs, fuel filter. Even though it has not run, Fuel filter definitely maybe clogged,

Also could you brief on what all service schedule this ride had been taken for, would give a better clarity regarding Engine and other component conditions.

Curious to know the ODO figure.
When I got the car home the odometer was at 8840kms. I know its unbelievable and mind boggling but its true. It just sat at one place for weeks together. It can easily win any award if there is a competition for the car with lowest odometer reading in a whole decade .

Can you kindly do an OBD scan? 6,7 can be addressed with that.
Also when you do the service, do change the spark plugs, fuel filter. Even though it has not run, Fuel filter definitely maybe clogged.
Thanks for your input. Will be following up on your advise very soon in the next service.

Also could you brief on what all service schedule this ride had been taken for, would give a better clarity regarding Engine and other component conditions.
9) Service history of the car is transparent and complete. I received total 8 service bills in the owners manual, so I guess once an yearly changes in fluids and essentials. Since car was not driven much, mostly oil and filter changes were done at the service centres.

Pictures depicting the present condition of Figo, after doing lots of vacuum cleaning, removing cobwebs, external body stains and polishing.

IMG-20220522-WA0097.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0100.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0109.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0112.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0099.jpg

Christmas tree shaped back lights.

IMG-20220522-WA0108.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0102.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0106.jpg

Straight ,clean and simplistic lines on the body.

IMG-20220522-WA0104.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0107.jpg

Ground clearance is 170mm

IMG-20220522-WA0103.jpg

Rear tow hook is permanently attached like this only, although not visible without bending to look for it.

IMG-20220522-WA0116.jpg

Fender indicator is stylishly shaped

IMG-20220522-WA0105.jpg

Cavernous boot 284 litres

IMG-20220522-WA0111.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0114.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0115.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0113.jpg

OEM mat on top of carpet

IMG-20220522-WA0098.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0110.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0117.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0092.jpg

Just look even this Ford assistance sticker hasn't peeled off, nor has faded one bit, even after standing in sun for 11 years !!

IMG-20220522-WA0093.jpg

IMG-20220522-WA0094.jpg

Rear reflectors are low down on the bumper and don't have bulbs in them.

IMG-20220522-WA0095.jpg

Petrol tank cap.

IMG-20220522-WA0096.jpg

Feeling nostalgic to see someone celebrating Figo [clap] Gets me back over a decade. And getting one with just 8K KMs is a steal! Enjoy your ride.

On the acceleration, I have been driving Diesel one for a decade and never felt in loss of power, except for a slight lag in the 2nd gear running over speed breakers. That too gets even with time and syncing. While I agree that Petrol Figo is underpowered, may not be to the extent you mentioned. But seeing the tyre conditions, I would suggest you to check it after replacing them as tyres plays a vital part in acceleration.

All the best and enjoy the pleasure of driving a Ford! [cheers]

Feeling nostalgic to see someone celebrating Figo [clap] Gets me back over a decade. And getting one with just 8K KMs is a steal! Enjoy your ride.
I honestly think "celebrating Figo "would have been a nice title to this thread. Thank you.
I would suggest you to check it after replacing them as tyres plays a vital part in acceleration.
All the best and enjoy the pleasure of driving a Ford! [cheers]
Thanks. Will keep you updated.

Acceleration is very poor. While driving on open highway I found even after doing pedal to metal, its not going beyond 90-95 at all ! So it does not touches even 100, which is the legal speed limit on the expressway. I am really puzzled what could be the reason for car not going beyond 90 and accelerating very slowly after 65km/hr. Its as if the engine is blocked from speeding further. Its even more surprising when the manual says this engine has max. speed of 160-170
I seriously think my Figo has engine oil overfilled. I have checked the dipstick multiple times and looks like at least half a litre (500ml or maybe more) of engine oil is overfilled.

That might be the reason for car performing sluggishly after 50-60 speed. I tried to suck out extra engine oil from the dipstick itself, but its a very laborious and slow process.

Took me 2 hours !! After withdrawing so much oil even now the dipstick shows a little extra. Is this is how the dipstick is with all fords ? I don't know. Maybe ford owners on this forum can comment better.

IMG-20220523-WA0073.jpg

IMG-20220523-WA0075.jpg

IMG-20220523-WA0072.jpg

IMG-20220523-WA0076.jpg

IMG-20220523-WA0079.jpg

IMG-20220523-WA0077.jpg

IMG-20220523-WA0074.jpg

IMG-20220523-WA0071.jpg

Even after removing so much oil from the car, the dipstick is still showing oil mark 3mm over the normal

IMG-20220523-WA0065.jpg

As can be seen the oil itself is very darkish-brown colour. Even if its not overfilled, it seems to have deteriorated a lot.

I will definitely go around asking questions about the last service oil change.

1) when was it done

2) what amount of oil was filled, and most important question

3) Who the hell filled it.

Good outcome of oil drainage is that now car is accelerating normally. It has even started touching higher speeds effortlessly. Today's test drive on the highway, I touched unmentionable speeds without much accelerator paddle pressure, while previously I was doing paddle to metal with no progress.
This indirectly proves that overfilled engine oil was the root cause of the problem.
Since the confusion regarding engine oil quality and quantity is still not clearing up, I have decided to do complete engine oil change along with oil filter, first thing tomorrow morning.

I seriously think my Figo has engine oil overfilled. I have checked the dipstick multiple times and looks like at least half a litre( 500ml or maybe more) of engine oil is overfilled. That might be the reason for car performing sluggishly after 50-60 speed. As can be seen the oil itself is very darkish-brown colour. Even if its not overfilled, it seems to have deteriorated a lot.
Since the confusion regarding engine oil quality and quantity is still not clearing up, I have decided to do complete engine oil change along with oil filter, first thing tomorrow morning.
DIY changing Engine oil and oil Filter of my Ford Figo petrol:

Got up in the morning early. Parts were procured yesterday only.

Sump capacity of Figo is 4 litres, and spec recommended is 10W30.

Its very difficult to procure this 10W30 spec in my city. Most of the options were mineral oil. And they were all made for bikes !! I wanted to fill synthetic or at least semi synthetic. So after calculation of feasibility and suitability for the engine went ahead with 5W30 spec Castrol synthetic oil . 4 lit can was not available, so bought 3.5 litres and 500ml separately, but that proved to be the costlier option.

Pictures of DIY

IMG-20220525-WA0000.jpg

IMG-20220525-WA0001.jpg

IMG-20220525-WA0002.jpg

IMG-20220525-WA0003.jpg

IMG-20220525-WA0004.jpg

IMG-20220525-WA0005.jpg

IMG-20220525-WA0006.jpg

IMG-20220525-WA0007.jpg

IMG-20220525-WA0008.jpg

Underbody needs a good pressure wash, as lots of mud seen

IMG-20220523-WA0031.jpg

surprised to see nest of bee on the sump itself. It gets very hot here. How could they survive here?? Hmm, only if you keep the sump cold for 3 months at a stretch !!

IMG-20220523-WA0032.jpg

Chamber nut or sump plug is different from other cars. Ford provides rubber gasket instead of copper.

IMG-20220523-WA0033.jpg

IMG-20220523-WA0034.jpg

lots of mud and crap on the underbody

IMG-20220523-WA0035.jpg

IMG-20220523-WA0036.jpg

IMG-20220523-WA0037.jpg

IMG-20220523-WA0017.jpg

IMG-20220523-WA0011.jpg

IMG-20220523-WA0010.jpg

IMG-20220523-WA0009.jpg

IMG-20220523-WA0008.jpg

IMG-20220525-WA0007.jpg

IMG-20220523-WA0006.jpg

IMG-20220523-WA0001.jpg

IMG-20220523-WA0002.jpg

chamber nut removed

IMG-20220523-WA0004.jpg

oil filter removed

IMG-20220523-WA0007.jpg

IMG-20220523-WA0000.jpg

-continued

DIY changing Engine oil and oil Filter of my Ford Figo petrol:

I used kitchen dish cleaner + surf excel detergent solution to remove all the oil, grime, grease, and mud from the sump area

After cleaning pics

IMG-20220525-WA0012.jpg
IMG-20220525-WA0013.jpg

IMG-20220525-WA0011.jpg

IMG-20220525-WA0009.jpg

IMG-20220525-WA0010.jpg

You can understand the cleaning better when you see before pics

Before cleaning pics

IMG-20220523-WA0022.jpg

Old and new side by side

IMG-20220523-WA0021.jpg

IMG-20220523-WA0027.jpg

Oil drained is very dark and deteriorated

IMG-20220523-WA0014.jpg

IMG-20220523-WA0008.jpg

Post the oil change I have noticed 4 things:

1. Car is running very smoothly.

2. Engine pickup is back to original. Max speed( compared to previously) is easy to reach.

3. Engine has become quite silent. Previously it sounded like a diesel.

4. Idling is still very rough, Although I did not expect it to improve by mere engine oil change.

With previous low usage, it would have typically been running on occasional top-ups instead of oil changes. I would (recommend) change oil and filters whenever I get hand on a used car/bike without a known past (service).
I had the same thought! I would add to this, that it needs an Engine Oil flush also. Sometimes, these guys fill the engine oil(Top-ups, with different brands/different grades also).