“Thunderbolt” Mahindra XUV5OO Detailed Review (5 Years Report)

Thread Starter #887

It was time again to pay the insurance.
Its really Uphill to pay this expense, Seeing No use, Dwindling Earnings & Overall tense atmosphere with pandemic. Still...

Here we go. Usual Bajaj Alianz policy

Price seems fair with a High IDV of 6.8 lac. Includes RSA.
Opera Snapshot_2021-02-26_153753_mail.google.com.png

Out of this 12.3k, 10k is the Taxes & TP Charges itself.

Thread Starter #889

The Thunderbolt went for 115k Kms service (theoretically 120k)
This will be the first large service since pandemic mess.
The cost was roughly 75k

Here are the complaints & resolutions-
1. GPS not working. (No Signal)
There seems to be a Unit at 3rd row quarter glass with manages the antenna (perhaps signal booster?).
The connectors were opened, Sprayed with contact cleaner and Re-fixed. GPS signal is now working properly.

2. Door locks.
One Door latch changed. all door latches Lubricated.

3. Boot lock.
The rubber of boot lock button is torn though it works fine. SA advised to keep it as is. I would have preferred a replacement

4. Brake light bulb.
Bulb magically OK as found by SA

5. Hard gear shift. Probably its me. But 2nd is harder than my Safari.

6. Tyre, TPMS setting.
Done

7. Suspension check.
Certain Tie rods changed.

8. Driver fog lamp.
Fog lamp has become dark. The SA agreed that this is due to its low down location where the fogs get a constant spray of dust & mud causing these problems.
20220510_172039.jpg
20220510_172112.jpg
20220510_173313.jpg

Fog lamp changed. Magically one HID BULB started having issues during fog lamp change. So went with a normal bulb till I get time to look into it.
20220513_154948 DS.jpg

9. Oil changes.
Oils changed as per service chart.

10. Rear Wiper blade.
Changed.

Service cost was about 21k Incl Parts & Labour.
Labour.jpg
Parts.jpg

Thunderbolt also got a new set of shoes. While the Current Falkens had some life left (esp rear ones), Dad insisted he needed new tyres before 1st rain.
Falken AT was not available due to Import Bans, so Went with Yokohama Geolander AT. Was lucky to get the good old Safari type pattern and not the thin wimpy pattern on so called new ATs or HPs

New Yokos compared to Falkens (Aged 60k)
20220510_172217.jpg

Notice the wear on front tyres (Top) vs the rear. XUV uses front tyres much more aggressively.
20220510_172230.jpg
20220510_172328.jpg
20220510_172337.jpg

Stock size
20220510_172346.jpg
20220510_172414.jpg

The tyres costed 12.5k a Piece. Quite Expensive I felt.
Especially since safari tyres (16 inch) cost roughly 7 to 8k all Brands. Have the same Rolling diameter and actually a taller profile.
In that sense, XUV tyres (17 inch) use a smaller profile and should use lesser rubber to make. So should've been CHEAPER in that regard.
Some weird logic used by Tyre companies to make profits.

Rants aside,
I was almost shocked that the beast has completed 9 Years of Legal age and will be ready for a tenner soon.
Does not feel like it because the beast feels as fresh as ever and is always ready to take new challenges.

Great report bhvm, xuvs dont seem to age somehow. Apart from the electronics. Mine at 1.1 lakh kms and 9years feels fresh and better lookong than most modern UVs.

Yokos are a good choice, i got the same at 12k a piece a year and a half back. Have done almost 20k kms on them post that and the tyres still feel new.

You are lucky that the center unit has just gps issues related to antenna, for me gps has corrupted and the screen hangs, apparently to get the gps again i will have to change the screen, so have decided to let it die and then replace the entire unit with an aftermarket one.

My headlight does feel low, wonder if they need a change, not sure how much they cost though.

Thread Starter #891

Great report bhvm, xuvs dont seem to age somehow. Apart from the electronics. Mine at 1.1 lakh kms and 9years feels fresh and better lookong than most modern UVs.
Cool. Its amazing how Optimus is such a clone of my Thunderbolt.
Same Age, Same Mileage, Same tyres. LOL
I remember we both had JKs as stock back then.

You are lucky that the center unit has just gps issues related to antenna, for me gps has corrupted and the screen hangs, apparently to get the gps again i will have to change the screen, so have decided to let it die and then replace the entire unit with an aftermarket one.
You might have remembered my ordeal with the HU Silver box. I had got it replaced some 4 times with tons of escalated complaints till all india head. Thankfully I now have a stable unit. Fingers crossed.

Not sure how XUV will take an Aftermarket unit. It has thick PC like Ribbon wires (80 Plus wires). Also tons of features like AC display, TPMS and Bluetooth, Steering controls are integrated with it. Maybe have a parallel unit with this one?

My headlight does feel low, wonder if they need a change, not sure how much they cost though.
I forgot to mention that my XUV driver side headlamp feels like it has taken some dust and looks Dull. The SA has changed high beam Headlamp dust cover and blown air in the unit. Its not like new but atleast the performance of headlamp is perfect.
I think you are using 55w HIDs which will damage the chrome reflector sooner or later.

Thread Starter #893

Cheetah's battery plate had rusted. Probably due to water or Acid fumes which is common with a lead acid battery. Here are the DIY pics-
IMG_20220710_123047.jpg

Removed the Plate-
IMG_20220710_123209.jpg

cleaned the battery surface-
IMG_20220710_123215.jpg

Thankfully, Battery terminals are good.-
IMG_20220710_123330.jpg

Thoroughly sanded to remove rust.
IMG_20220710_134525.jpg

Sprayed with Automotive primer and then black spray paint. 2 coats each.
IMG_20220710_135719.jpg
IMG_20220710_135723.jpg
IMG_20220710_140541.jpg
IMG_20220710_141040.jpg
IMG_20220710_144215.jpg
IMG_20220710_144227.jpg
IMG_20220710_151301.jpg

fitting done. looks good.
IMG_20220711_093114.jpg
-

Thread Starter #894

The Cheetah Underwent some Running repairs.
Here are problems & solutions

1. Tailgate does not open electronically-
Latch changed. (this was requested by me on last service, But was skipped by SA)

2. Navigator door lock does not work from inside-
Latch changed.

3. Windshield washer is not spraying water-
A Joiner changed.

4. Puddle lamp falls out the door-
Glued.

Bill is attached for references. Latches are little bit expensive, I feel. On top of it, there is Huge Tax monster called GST.
Doors lock repair New Bitmap Image.png

Thread Starter #895

Played around with xuv parts.
The tail hatch button is a simple 2 button push type. There's a copper pin which joins 2 contacts together. Can very well be opened with bell switch.
Once the rubber tears, dust & moisture will quickly kill the switch. Its definitely very overpriced at 1200 a pop.
Here are the pics-
IMG_20220904_180122.jpg
IMG_20220904_180129.jpg
IMG_20220904_180151.jpg
IMG_20220904_180206.jpg
IMG_20220904_180423.jpg
IMG_20220904_180427.jpg
IMG_20220904_180759.jpg
IMG_20220904_180802.jpg

The door latch is a bunch of cables & levers. Salvaged one actuation motor. It's in a sealed housing. The motor moves a lever when provided with 12v DC.
IMG_20220904_182006.jpg
IMG_20220904_182017.jpg
IMG_20220904_182024.jpg

I liked your new AT tyres and their tread pattern.
My Bridgestones which I purchased 3 years back as seen Here , cost me 12000 a piece. So considering that you got a fair price in 2022.

Thread Starter #897

1st Gen XUV comes with a flap to cover the USB and charging ports. Sadly the design is such that carelessly closing the flap will break any USB pen drive plugged into the port, or worse the port itself. Problem solved using a simple Angled USB extension cable. Available on Amazon here- Amazon Link

IMG_20221012_170450_HDR.jpg
IMG_20221012_170358.jpg

Now the flap can be closed with USB pen drive plugged in. Even taller pen drives can be used safely.

IMG_20221026_194020.jpg

1st Gen XUV comes with a flap to cover the USB and charging ports. Sadly the design is such that carelessly closing the flap will break any USB pen drive plugged into the port, or worse the port itself. Problem solved using a simple Angled USB extension cable. Available on Amazon here- Amazon Link

View attachment 303692 View attachment 303691
Now the flap can be closed with USB pen drive plugged in. Even taller pen drives can be used safely.

View attachment 303693
Thank you very much for the solution and the link. I just wish I could have known that earlier by atleast 5-6 years!!
Many many trips done in the past with the inconveniences which you mentioned.
But nonetheless still usefull, as I intend to use this in my future trips. So thanks for this.