Manali-Kullu-Shimla Road Trip Dec'14

Prologue

I was planning for a week long road trip to Mount Abu-Udaipur in December'14 end but due to leave issues this trip was rescheduled to second week of this month. Me and my wifey was all set to start for this trip on 6th of Dec but due to some urgent work at office trip was postponed to 7th Dec'14, something stuck my mind overnight and I changed my plan, we started our journey to hills with only one thing in head "Snowfall" with this word only one place hit my mind "Manali".

Day-1 & 2

Date of Journey: 7-12-2014
Start time: 4:50 AM from Dwarka New Delhi
End time: 4:00 PM at Manali HPTDC Hotel Beas
Total time: 10 Hrs 50 Minutes
Breaks: Two numbers 30 minutes each
Route taken: New Delhi - Karnal - Ambala City - Shambhu Barrier- Kharar - Rupnagar - Kiratpur Sahib - Swarghat - Bilaspur - Mandi - Aut - Kullu - Manali

Even with short notice of time we managed to pack our bags just in nick of time and started our week long road trip to Manali-Kullu-Shimla, with no booking in hand and no plan whatsoever we headed towards beautiful hills of Himachal. Our first break was at Sukhdev Dhaba for breakfast and second break was at Hotel highway treat near Sunder Nagar.

Road condition from Janakpuri District to mukarba chowk was pathetic due to ongoing flyover construction work, from Mukarba chowk to Shambhu barrier road was fantastic with few diversions en-route due to ongoing flyover construction work, from Shambhu barrier to Kharar road was narrow and slow, from Kharar to Kiratpur Sahib road was superb and fast, from Kiratpur Sahib to Bilaspur drive was painful due to numerous potholes and heavy truck traffic of ACC plant, after Sunder Nagar onwards road condition changed dramatically and was quite fast, from Kullu to Manali route was most scenic and again fast due to newly laid tarmac.

Found HPTDC hotel Beas along highway it has it's own private parking, nothing much to write about this budget hotel, this hotel is at walking distance from Manali mall road and had small rooms with balcony facing river Beas.

On Day-1 evening we strolled around Mall road Manali in the evening and booked HPTDC tourist bus ticket to Rohtang pass for Day-2. Why Bus? due to bad weather condition forecast of Rohtang and advice of Hotel staff.

To start with please find pics from Day-1 below:

IMG_1723.JPG

Odo reading at the start of this trip

IMG_1725.JPG

Our first break at Sukhdev Dhaba Murthal for breakfast

IMG_1728.JPG

Mukarba chowk to Shambhu barrier road was fantastic with few diversions en-route due to ongoing flyover construction work

IMG_1743.JPG

Kiratpur Sahib to Bilaspur drive was painful due to numerous potholes and heavy truck traffic of ACC plant

IMG_1745.JPG

Second break was at Hotel highway treat near Sunder Nagar.

IMG_1751.JPG

Maggi breaks usually are quite refreshing for me on my long drives

IMG_1759.JPG

After crossing Aut you will find these blissful road

IMG_1769.JPG

Explorer-1 enjoying this beautiful drive along with us, our faithful companion

IMG_1795.JPG

Mesmerising view of river Beas which travel along with us most of the time

IMG_1800.JPG

Kullu to Manali route was most scenic and again fast due to newly laid tarmac

Day-1 and Day-2 of log contd...

HPTDC day long tourist bus service to Rohtang pass charged Rs. 350 per head, bus started from Manali bus depot at 9:00 AM and returned back at 5:00 PM, we covered Rohtang paas and Solang valley on Day-2 after advice of bus staff we hired windcheater, gum boots & gloves set from Kothi at Rs. 250 per head which proved quite useful later on.

As usual Rohtang paas was full of tourists weather was quite merciless here spine chilling wind with dust storm blowing, headache started soon after couple of Km's of walk and I became breathless due to exertion. After roaming around a little bit we returned to our bus in an hour or so had a fantastic veg thali in lunch at Chamba dhaba, Marhi for Rs. 120 per plate.

My visit to Solang valley was quite disappointing without snow I found this place worthless to visit, cable car at valley was charging Rs. 500 bucks per head for to-and-fro journey to some view point above which I felt useless considering state of affairs around.

Explored local Manali market in the evening which I found quite small, had dinner at HPTDC hotel which ends our day-2 journey.

IMG_1804.JPG

Trip meter reading after covering Delhi-Manali stretch

IMG_1806.JPG

HPTDC hotel Beas, located near government bus stop Manali

IMG_1816.JPG

View of rives Beas from our hotel room Balcony

IMG_1833.JPG

Mall road Manali

IMG_1852.JPG

Fantastic road condition with couple of bad stretches between Manali to Rohtang pass, any vehicle can do this stretch with little bit of care

IMG_1880.JPG

Manali-Rohtang pass route was quite scenic

IMG_1884.JPG

Kothi village, views from here was breathtaking

IMG_1888.JPG

One more scenic view from Kothi village

IMG_1897.JPG

First view of Pir Panjal range after de-boarding our bus at Rohtang pass

IMG_1904.JPG

After couple of Km's walk we find snow

Pics contd from our day-2 journey

IMG_1925.JPG

After couple of Km's walk reached up close to snow

IMG_1926.JPG

Found quite tough to walk on snow with gum boots which lacks proper insulation

IMG_1927.JPG

Walk upto snow was quite slippery and scary, lesson learnt "good snow shoes are must for even these small adventures"

IMG_1931.JPG

Numerous taxis and private vehicles are lined up to serve tourists

IMG_1938.JPG

Prayer flags at Rohtang paas

IMG_1949.JPG

Village Marhi midway on Manali-Rohtang paas route, it has few dhabas

IMG_1952.JPG

Frozen waterfall on Manali-Rohtang pass stretch

IMG_1958.JPG

Dull and tourist less Solang valley desperately waiting for snow fall

IMG_1970.JPG

View of mountains from Solang valley

IMG_1974.JPG

HPTDC hotel Kunzum located right on mall road Manali

Finally, the tough guy is back and he is back with an another travelogue.

Looks like Polo is munching miles at a quick pace - great going.

I was really missing you buddy [cry]

Finally, the tough guy is back and he is back with an another travelogue.

Looks like Polo is munching miles at a quick pace - great going.

I was really missing you buddy [cry]
Thanks TSIVipul for your encouragement, your words keep me going.

Yes Polo crossed 72K mark and eager to cross 100K mark

Missed you too buddy

Day-3 of our journey from Manali to Kullu

IMG_1984.JPG

We started day-3 of our journey by visiting Hidimba Devi Temple

IMG_1995.JPG

Worship place of Veer Ghatotkach located nearby

IMG_2007.JPG

Soon we started our journey towards Kullu town

IMG_2027.JPG

Road between Manali to Kullu was quite scenic and fantastic

IMG_2028.JPG

HPTDC The Sarvari, one of the best property of Himachal tourism in terms of hospitality and VFM

IMG_2043.JPG

Local Kullu market, we just walked around to understand the culture of this place

IMG_2044.JPG

Raghunath temple, unfortunately the Idol of Lord Raghunath was stolen a day before :(

IMG_2048.JPG

Shobla multiplex and food court was located in Shobla hotel compound

Day-4 of our journey Kullu - Manikaran - Kullu

IMG_2061.JPG

Trip meter at the time of start of day-4

IMG_2098.JPG

Road from Kullu to Manikaran was in good shape, except few patches

IMG_2103.JPG

Explorer-1 posing along river Parvati which followed us till Manikaran

IMG_2113.JPG

Narrow curves were barricaded properly on this route

IMG_2116.JPG

Approach to Manikaran Sahib gurudwara parking is narrow but manageable

IMG_2118.JPG

Guru Nanak Dev ji came to this place in 1574 Bikrami with his disciples Bhai Bala & Bhai Mardana.

IMG_2125.JPG

It is also believed that there is no need to pay a visit to “Kashi” after visiting this place

Day-4 of our journey Kullu - Manikaran - Kullu

IMG_2127.JPG

The springs at Manikaran come out to surface with pressure and are very hot

IMG_2128.JPG

he water is so hot that rice for the “langar” is cooked by putting it into a linen-bag and dipping it into the boiling water

IMG_2142.JPG

The water of the spring is also supposed to have curative powers and considered extremely auspicious

IMG_2157.JPG

After spending a hour or so at Manikaran Sahib we headed back to Kullu

IMG_2178.JPG

Trip meter reading after reaching HPTDC The Sarvari Kullu, covered 84 kms on day-4

Day 5: Kullu to Shimla

Route: Kullu - Mandi - Sundernagar - Ghaghas - Sararh - Nalwar - Niharkhan basla - Darlaghat - Lahdi - Kharighatti - Ghanahatti - Shimla

Found heavy truck traffic till Lahdi stretch of 10 kms was narrow near Darlaghat if I recall correctly the place, had no advance booking on this trip so plan was to park Explorer-1 in public parking and search for hotel on mall road itself. Unfortunately just a day before our visit cart road portion near high court caves in.

IMG_2193.JPG

Trip meter reading at the start of day-5 journey

IMG_2203.JPG

Three kms long Aut tunnel connects Kullu-Manali with rest of the country

IMG_2214.JPG

The old highway got submerged by Beas river after this dam was built over it at Larji

IMG_2218.JPG

Bad road stretch after crossing Sundernagar

IMG_2230.JPG

Blissful road started after leaving Manali-Chandigarh highway after Ghaghas

IMG_2278.JPG

Beautiful view of mountain range

IMG_2281.JPG

Explorer-1 too was enjoying this scenic stretch

IMG_2282.JPG

Beautiful road continues and made our journey merrier

Day 5: Kullu to Shimla journey continues

IMG_2288.JPG

This route was quite scenic near Shimla

IMG_2292.JPG

Cart road caves in near High court which leads to diversion

IMG_2295.JPG

Shimla Muncipal corporation parking for general public

IMG_2296.JPG

Hired porter from hotel to carry luggage upto room

IMG_2297.JPG

Found this Hotel Sangeet near High court end of Mall road

IMG_2298.JPG

Nice clean rooms with excellent service

IMG_2303.JPG

Got good off season discount too

IMG_2309.JPG

Weather was quite good when we reached Shimla

IMG_2317.JPG

Witnessed this beautiful sunset from Mall road Shima

IMG_2329.JPG

Spent the evening roaming around Mall road which was less crowded for a change

Day 6 & Day-7: Shimla

Since early morning of day-6 weather started taking turn, non stop heavy rain shower started and it's continued all throughout the day and snowfall started from late evening which became quite heavy from day-7.

Please find below pics from day-6 and day-7 of both rainfall and snowfall :)

IMG_2364.JPG

IMG_2386.JPG

IMG_2387.JPG

IMG_2390.JPG

IMG_2398.JPG

IMG_2401.JPG

IMG_2421.JPG

IMG_2425.JPG

IMG_2430.JPG

IMG_2432.JPG

Day-7: Shimla to Delhi

As the weather condition started deteriorating with the start of heavy snowfall from morning we decided to head back Delhi. Before start of our return journey please find below last set of snowfall pics of Shimla.

IMG_2433.JPG

IMG_2444.JPG

IMG_2450.JPG

IMG_2477.JPG

IMG_2482.JPG

IMG_2486.JPG

IMG_2489.JPG

IMG_2493.JPG

IMG_2494.JPG

IMG_2495.JPG