Want to Buy a Used Diesel Car, Help Needed

Hello ,

I will be in the used car market for a Diesel car in a month's time.[:)]I have some Ideas regarding the Car.As of Now ,Indigo CS LS is what My Mind is stuck with.My Budget will be upto 3lakhs maximum.
When was Indigo CS diesel launched?Is it End 2007 ?
How is the Car in General?Has Tata Able to resolve the common issues Indica diesel hatchbacks Have?like suspensions etc(with their earlier models).

What is the going Price for used 2008 low mileage Indigo LS(non-dicor) Models in south India?just to have an Idea.I expects 2008 models to come around 2.75 mark.
Guide Me in Choosing a Good Diesel.I have no Idea as of now to get Swift Vdi model although a Guy offered Me one for 4.30 lakhs(which is way out of My Budget).
What are the other diesels Which May be available within My Budget?

biker

with your budget you can look at:

ford ikon-but maintenance of this car wont be easy i suppose
swift diesel-but the car would be a old model with lots of kms clocked
mitsubishi lancer slx-fits easy in your budget but again am not sure of the maintenance
tata safari tcdi-look at this option if your ok with an SUV
hyundai accent-am not sure but if you search a bit i think you can even get this one
tata indica-easy for your budget
fiat palio-fits your budget easily

there are still many cars like ford escort , opel corsa and opel astra. wait for the other guys to reply , you may still get many more interesting cars popping out.

my personal advice sit with HINDU CLASSIFIEDS paper which comes on sunday and surf for the cars . dont hesitate to call up and ask all the details of all the cars which grab your attention!!you may end up with a good car by doing this!!

ALL THE BEST!!!

Hi Biker,

If you are opting for sedan than these are the choices.

Hyundai Accent CRDI - Good VFM & very Fuel Efficient

Ford Ikon - You can get it for 2.5Lakhs Maintenance will be on higher side if Kms are clocked more than 30K.

I think you should seriously see the Fiat Palio as an option. If you find in good condition, i am sure it will be in your budget.

Hi Biker,
Can you please go through this thread first and answer the questions asked? It would become easier for us to guide you towards the right vehicle.

Drive Safe!

Thank You People!

Hi Biker,
Can you please go through this thread first and answer the questions asked? It would become easier for us to guide you towards the right vehicle.
Drive Safe!
Hey ,thanks @350Z and all other members.

Firstly ,I am willing to wait till 2010 January-February too(A Dealer told Me, Prices are usually forced to reduce ,since Another Year is added to the Age of Used Car!).So ,In Other Words ,Not At all Hurry.

I agree that ,Getting a Indigo CS LS TDi is not easy,Since it is Hardly 2 Years Since it's Launch(?).But ,Let Me Try as well,Here in Cochin.

Another Option I have is Vista Aqua/Terra TDi(ofcourse ,Used!!!).

Pardon Me- But ,somehow I am not ready for a new car(even if I have the budget) and go through the free services,periodic workshop visits etc.I have My Indica DLE well maintained outside TATA Authorized Service Stations(including a Engine Overhaul). [roll]

My Priorities are Cheap to Maintain car,Cheaper Spares(Maruti,TATA) and of course Simpler Engines(NA,TDi Diesels).Moreover Vehicles Less than 3 years old Preferably.

Please Note that I will not go for Fiat palio,petra,siena or Indica/Indigo Dicor Models etc.[thumbswink]

I Hope it is Clear now.Thanks Again For the Support from TAI Members.

Here is My Answers.My Answers is Bold and Underlined:
--
1) Your Budget

How much approx. budget you have got for the purchase of your new vehicle?

Me: Used Vehicle Here.I have no intentions to go for a new Vehicle.My Budget is upto 3lakhs and May be If Parent's willing- I can stretch a 25 more.that is 3.25 Lakhs not any penny more!.

2) Where Do You Live?

Knowing your location will help us to give you better idea of vehicle's price and dealership networks.

Me:Near Cochin,Kerala.

3) Top 5 Priorities

Please mention the top 5 priorites which you need in your vehicle.

Me:
1)Fuel Efficiency
2)Good A/C or HVAC
3)Preferably Sedan Type
4)Turbo Diesel(Made Up My Mind ,Since CRDI is not in My List)
5)Less Maintenance ,If not Cheaper Spares

4) Monthly Running

How much Kilometers vehicle will be used in a month?

Me:Approximates at 1000kms;Some Month's it has gone upto 1500kms or so

5) For Which Purpose?

For which purpose you will be using the vehicle?
For Example: Cargo, Family, Long Trips, Off-Roading etc.

Me:Mainly for daily/alternate days 30-50kms of running.and Some Long Trips ,Family Use too.Some time Chauffeur Driven.

6) Max. People it should accommodate?

How much maximum of people your vehicle should accommodate? (Including Driver)

Me:I am 5ft9(almost) and Obese.So ,Will Like to have Lot of Space.Hence I liked Indica/Indigo's.Possibly 5 People of above average built accommodating.

7) Priority of Fuel Type

Which Type of fuel your vehicle should be running with?
For Example : Petrol, Diesel, CNG, LPG, Electricity etc.

Me:Diesel Only.

8) Body Type?

Which type of vehicle you would more prefer?
For Example, Sedan [3 Box], Hatchback [2 Box], Van, Pick-Up Truck, SUV/MUV etc.

Me:I will prefer a Sedan,MUV ,But Not Allergic to Hatchbacks either(particularly Indica,Vista models).

Thank You All.

Hey biker,
If you're keen on a diesel sedan then currently Indigo CS is the best bet in budget you have. You can even consider a used Hyundai Accent CRDi but as the car is discontinued, Spare parts etc can be an issue. I suggest you to check the cars on reliable sellers like First Choice etc. Do keep us updated on your car buy.

Drive Safe!

Hi Biker!

You can try to bet on Indigo CS.

I can even suggest a better option of Accent. Dont worry about spares as Hyundai has its plant in Chennai & i am sure they haven't discontinued the spares for any models including (Accent CRDI & Terracan)

Accent is bigger & better than Indigo & more reliable & more fuel efficient!

The spares of Accent are still available, But they won't be available as long as of Indigo's, I'm especially talking about Accent CRDi here.

Drive Safe!

tata, diesel and secondhand................ worst combination!!!
----------Next Post------------
i strongly feel find good palio diesel.best VFM.if you want sedan i think accent is good.

Yes, There are quite a few options available in hatchbacks, But if you're considering a sedan in the mentioned requirements, The range is limited.

Drive Safe!

I don't think Accent is good option. My friend has one, and the car is cramped from inside. It looks nice from outside though. FE is poor.

i would suggest you to source a used indigo or indigo CS, which would be relatively available within that budget.Tdi engines are good and easy to maintain compared to crdi's on old accent which are proun for higher maintainence, had cluch assembly problems on earlier cars, lots of vibrations too, so depends on what kind of accent crdi you come across, and for indigo tdi, spares would be available for longer time as well cause tata is no longer planning to stop its CS version with Tdi engine, so no problem of services as well as spares.

As your not a big fan of CRDI engines then the indigo or indigo cs is a good choice.

But check the car's condition and maintenance records of the car you buy , you will get to know the reliability of the car!!

Thank You Friends for the suggestions.I agree ,that used tata cars surely would have got beaten till the maximum possible mileage.I think ,mostly taxis will have such records.But ,In Rural Towns ,There are diesel cars which are used as personal drive with some care and attention.I am seeking such a car.
Currently ,I got an offer for 2009 Indica Vista Aqua(quadrajet) for 4.25 lakhs which is way out of My Budget.

My Prefernce as of now is ,If Possible get hold of a used Vista Tdi or Indigo CS.Else ,Go for Indica Turbo(non-dicor) or Indigo's.

I will sure Update this thread to Let You Everyone Know My Choice.

regards.