VW-Suzuki To Roll Out Rs.2.5 Lakh Car!

The Volkswagen-Suzuki alliance plans to develop a brand new small car for the Indian market in the Rs 2-2.5 lakh range, which could replace the Alto when the Indian arm of Suzuki decides to retire its top-selling model.

Maruti Suzuki chairman RC Bhargava told
We will need a car in the Rs 2.5-lakh apiece range. First we had the M800, then the Alto. At some point we will need a replacement for the Alto. That price range is the entry level for Indian customers today, so we can't leave that segment open.
Fabian Mannecke, the spokesman for Volkswagen
Volkswagen will be greatly interested in a car below the price segment of the Up, which we have already displayed in India, and that is something we will need to check in our future together with Suzuki. Suzuki does not have diesel technology and that is one of the main things that will interest them in the future.
Manish Mathur, principal at AT Kearney said
The cross-pollination of technology, product architecture and product development will mean both Suzuki and VW will now be able to bring in more diesel options, especially in small cars.
Details - Economictimes

If that car mixes up VW's solid build, ride, handling and stability and Suzuki's reliability, efficiency, and price with a diesel engine and decent space, it could be an ultimate city car.

You are asking for a lot at 2.5 lakhs CC!

Only Nano Europa can serve all your above needs [lol]

@ALL,

This is the move i expected from VW as soon as its bought 20% shares from Suzuki!

Well, they will establish very soon that FIAT in India if these JVs work fine!

You are asking for a lot at 2.5 lakhs CC!

Only Nano Europa can serve all your above needs [lol]

@ALL,

This is the move i expected from VW as soon as its bought 20% shares from Suzuki!

Well, they will establish very soon that FIAT in India if these JVs work fine!
I'm not asking diesel for 2.5 lacs. If base petrol costs 2.5lacs, then a diesel option will be around 3.5-4 lacs on-road.

Anything better than current Alto is okay for me.

Volkswagen-Suzuki may use Maruti models in India

Volkswagen has asked its Indian operations to send proposals on Maruti’s models, which could be sold under Volkswagen brand. The proposals also would look at sourcing Maruti’s engines, components, aggregates for Volkswagen’s models in India.

Europe's largest car maker, Volkswagen, has bought a nearly 20 per cent stake in Suzuki Motor, which owns a majority stake in Maruti. (http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...kswagen-2-5-billion.html?highlight=Volkswagen)

According to the proposal, Volkswagen may sell Maruti’s Ritz-based car in India under its brand. The Maruti’s new WagonR and Ritz models are being considered for Skoda, and Volkswagen brands

The pricing of the Volkswagen models would stay 5-7 per cent higher than comparable Maruti models and the Volkswagen models cars to be assembled at its plant in Chakan.

They added that Volkswagen will use Maruti K series and DDIS engines for some of its models in India.

Under the proposal, Skoda, which is owned by Volkswagen, may use Maruti’s new Wagon platform for its budget car model.

But both the carmakers have to iron out some of the issues before a wide-ranging cooperation takes place: Maruti supplies A-Star to Nissan in Europe where is sold as Pixo and Maruti's diesel engines are licensed from Fiat. The Ritz model is also sold as Opel Agila in Europe.

Source - Volkswagen-Suzuki may use Maruti models in India - NDTV Profit

I don't think this move will make any good for VW unless they can offer visible 'advantages' over the same MSIL models. For example, OPEL Agila is not a success in the countries where Suzuki has the same model.

Volkswagen is trying to improve their services by using successful Suzuki models, which is not at all good thing. also maybe they will charge a hefty premium on them and sell to us! Even if MSIL cars are rebadged as VW, i dont think it will benifit VW In india anyways because people by Maruti Suzuki because it IS a Maruti Suzuki.

Maruti Suzuki has declined for sharing the platform with Volkswagen in India, this is what Shinzo Nakanishi, MD and CEO of Maruti Suzuki India had to say:

“There is no possibility of platform sharing (with Volkswagen) as the German company’s production and product development costs are very high and that could make our business unviable”

I won't mind a VW Maruti. VW and Maruti are supposed to be peoples' cars. But stick a skoda badge onto a WagonR, and the whole Auto. industry will puke.

I don’t want to get into Skoda debate though, but Skoda is not such a bad company as it has been termed recently, that too only on internet. They’re a renowned carmaker worldwide and just taking the example you have cited, into consideration, we all know Wagon–R is certainly a great car, but declining it just because it’d wear a badge of “another company” which has been made to appear bad would be utter biasness. Back to Volkswagen topic, Suzuki is mainly eyeing to get the small diesel engines from Volkswagen Auto. A little excerpt below from Carazoo;

Meanwhile Volkswagen has been putting into practise Suzuki’s production techniques to control costs. The small car market has been booming now and VW has learning to generate volumes in the segment. Mr Nakanishi said the European firm can learn a lesson or two in cost-effective manufacturing from Maruti. “Volkswagen’s cost of products is high whereas Maruti’s product management costs are very low; so they can learn from us,” he said. It’s going to be harder though. On the other hand, Maruti Suzuki has no plans of tapping Volkwagen India’s facilities to overcome its current capacity crunch. “They are too expensive,” said Mr Nakanishi. He, however, said Suzuki and Volkswagen may make some solid global announcements in the next six-to-eight months. Some project may come out by the end of this year or early next year. “It takes time as both companies are very big, so to find synergy is not easy. They are doing some discussions,” Mr Nakanishi said. Suzuki is eager to get its hands on Volkswagen’s technology, mainly smaller diesel engines, while VW wants to gain from Maruti Suzuki’s expertise in cost-effective and efficient high-volume production. Let’s wait and see what the future holds.