Volkswagen India's Compact Sedan Called Ameo (Priced at ₹5.14 Lacs)

Re: Volkswagen India's Compact Sedan Called Ameo (Priced at Rs.5.14 Lacs)

Checked out the Diesel VW AMEO with MT and DSG at dealer in Delhi today. The cars landed yesterday night and the PDI was in progress. The Test Drives will be offered by Saturday as I am told. Here are few pics and Diesel Engine Sound Video of AMEO Diesel.

VW Ameo Diesel with Manual Transmission

20161013_124229.jpg

20161013_123822.jpg

20161013_123751.jpg

VW AMEO Diesel with DSG Transmission.

20161013_124123.jpg

20161013_124017.jpg

20161013_124054.jpg

20161013_124134.jpg

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iTo2XUyxXSY

Sharing of the above video and pics needs full credit to The Automotive India.​

Dear TAIgers,

Does anyone know if Ameo uses the same DQ200 DSG that does duty on the superb 1.8 TSI? I understand that this GB was totally unreliable in the past. Has this been fixed? I see that the superb 1.8 TSI and Ameo has similar torque figures. Am I by any chance Simply thinking too much [;)]?

Warm regards,
Arun.
Superb and Ameo share the same notorious DQ200 gear box with max torque at 250Nm. Totally unreliable and plagued with issues. I own a Vento Tsi, 8 months old, driven 30000kms and I can vouch for that.

Are you saying that your Vento TSI also has gearbox issues?

In case of vento, the torque figure is only around 175 NM.
For Ameo the 250NM is available from a very small RPM. Hence the concern. Now after localisations it can only become worse. Hence my initial conversation. We can even forget about performance mods.

Arun

Akash is that white wrapping on the bonnet and the roof? It looks odd. I can understand the blacked out roof. But whited out top and bonnet?

Mods - Can I humbly request you to merge this post with my previous post? Apologies for multiple posts.

Akash is that white wrapping on the bonnet and the roof? It looks odd. I can understand the blacked out roof. But whited out top and bonnet?

Mods - Can I humbly request you to merge this post with my previous post? Apologies for multiple posts.
Those are not wraps but the paint protection covering put on the cars under transit. Once the car reaches the dealership at the time of delivery these white paper are removed. this prevents the swirl marks and other minor scratches appearing on the most prominent area of the car.

Oh ok. Just as I suspected. Thank you very much for the clarification.

Oh yeah. I'm fed up of the visits to the service centers. I have updated the software to latest version. 9503 and still continue to face jerks whilst downshifting. I also experience engine knocking issues. VW had no solutions so far. And I happen to know most of the management at the dealer level yet no resolution. The violent jerks are no more but still at annoying levels.

A few reasons why this may not hold:
1) The Aspire is a better car in terms of cabin space. You cant seat 4 large adults in a Polo/Ameo very comfortably-in fact, its the least comfortable amongst the sub 4 m sedans.
2) Ford TDCI engine will find favour with taxi cab operators.
3) Ford engine is mechanically a bit more reliable and rugged, and the cloud of emission recalls has not entirely lifted off VW's head yet.
I totally agree as I own 1.5 Fiesta with 60k run and a 284k run 2010 Figo. The engine would be more reliable. The Figo looks set for another 150k. VW diesels are costly to maintain. My few cents on the cost of spares of Vento.
Turbo charger costs 2.20 lakhs
Cost of engine 4.00 lakhs
EGR costs 54000 rs
Fuel Injectors cost 25000 each.
Gear box cost 1.75 lakhs
Head lamp costs 22000
Steering wheel costs 39000
Each regular service would average 12k at the minimum.
The mere nos. are astounding.

Comparatively Fiesta is cheaper to maintain. 10k service 1400rs
20k service 4319rs.
30k service 4800rs
40k service 2700rs
50k service 4200rs
These are one of the lowest in the industry much cheaper than Maruti. Figo or Aspire would be cheaper by 300 to 400 Rs. Ford Tdci wins on ride, space, safety, mileage and cost of ownership. Ameo diesel's suspension is tuned stiffer from Polo and not many would like it. It creates a wallowing effect on eneven roads and craters but could perform better on smooth roads.

Ameo would cannibalise Vento and polo sales as we already see from their sales performance. Polo used to sell 2500 to 3000 on its own and combined they sell the same volume now. Vento sales are now to 3 digits and it's very hard to justify cost difference of 3 to 4 lakh rs between a Ameo and Vento. By the way, I'll be test driving the Ameo tomorrow for 200 kms and will report my experience.

I understand Ameo is heavily localised. So spare cost will be a lot Lesser than say a vento or a Skoda or even polo.

Akash Ji,

Were you able to test drive Ameo TDI? How does it fare against polo and vento. I think Vento has been silently upgraded to the new Diesel engine and they have also introduced the silk blue. Hope Ameo gets the Skoda Red. I am in awe of the color itself.

Akash Ji,

Were you able to test drive Ameo TDI?
Hi Arun, I did check out the TDI AMEO long back. Have posted the engine video too. Once I complete the Rapid review, will surely place my hands on AMEO diesel. November-2016 for TAI is quite busy with lots of events lined up in 2nd half of the month including a very special experience too in our schedule.

Stay Tuned![:D]

Votes
Undo
VW India has started on offer Care Plus Package for Ameo which includes
> 4 Year Warranty (2 year Extended Warranty on offer subject to maximum 1 Lakh Km s)
> 4 Year / 60K Kms Prepaid Service Package which include all scheduled service replacements (protecting against Inflationary Factor)
> 4 Year Road Side Assistance Cover (2 Year Add on RSA Package)
> One Free Body Wash is also offered anytime
> Additionally - apart from 4 Year Scheduled Service - 2 add on labor free inspection offered in 3rd and 4th year

The Price of same is Rs 51000
You can find more details on Volkswagen Care Plus Package

From Carhelpline Website

Service Interval
> Free Inspection at 7500 Kms / 6 month
> Then Paid Service at every 15000 KMs / 12 month - whichever earlier

Here's Service Cost can estimate from VW Ameo

>> Every Annual Paid Service or 15K Kms
1. Engine OIl + Oil Filter (with Taxes) - Rs 3500
2. Air Filter - Rs 400
3. Cabin AC Pollen Filter - Rs 650
4. Wheel Alignment & Balancing - Rs 1200
5. Paid Labor Charges with Taxes - Rs 1800 - 2000

Can estimate a bill of Rs 7500 - 8000 including Labor and consumables

>> Additional Work at 30K KMs
> Spark Plug set (3 spark Plug) - Rs 1000 with taxes
> Fuel Filter (Petrol) - Rs 450
So - can estimate bill of Rs 9000 approx at 30K Kms

>> Other replacements
> Brake Fluid - Rs 350 at every 45K Kms
> Coolant, Gear Oil - No need for replacement till 1 Lakh Kms

>> Other Common Work
> Front Brake Pads (wear & tear) - Rs 3000
> Clutch Plate Replacement (wear & tear) - Rs 10000 (Rs 3000 (Clutch Plate), Rs 3000 (Pressure Plate), Rs 900 (Release Bearing), Rs 3000 (Labor)
> Front and Rear Brake Cleaning with Caliper Greasing - Rs 900
> Wiper Blade Set (wear & tear)- Rs 500
> AC Disinfectant - Rs 650
> AC Servicing with Gas refill - Rs 3000

Disclaimer - Above are tentative Indicative costs

Update as in November 2016 - You can now check details on Ameo Petrol and Diesel Service cost including Spare Part Prices.
Get Details on VW Ameo Maintenance Cost

From Carhelpline Website

Service Interval
> Free Inspection at 7500 Kms / 6 month
> Then Paid Service at every 15000 KMs / 12 month - whichever earlier

Here's Service Cost can estimate from VW Ameo

>> Every Annual Paid Service or 15K Kms
1. Engine OIl + Oil Filter (with Taxes) - Rs 3500
2. Air Filter - Rs 400
3. Cabin AC Pollen Filter - Rs 650
4. Wheel Alignment & Balancing - Rs 1200
5. Paid Labor Charges with Taxes - Rs 1800 - 2000

Can estimate a bill of Rs 7500 - 8000 including Labor and consumables

>> Additional Work at 30K KMs
> Spark Plug set (3 spark Plug) - Rs 1000 with taxes
> Fuel Filter (Petrol) - Rs 450
So - can estimate bill of Rs 9000 approx at 30K Kms

>> Other replacements
> Brake Fluid - Rs 350 at every 45K Kms
> Coolant, Gear Oil - No need for replacement till 1 Lakh Kms

>> Other Common Work
> Front Brake Pads (wear & tear) - Rs 3000
> Clutch Plate Replacement (wear & tear) - Rs 10000 (Rs 3000 (Clutch Plate), Rs 3000 (Pressure Plate), Rs 900 (Release Bearing), Rs 3000 (Labor)
> Front and Rear Brake Cleaning with Caliper Greasing - Rs 900
> Wiper Blade Set (wear & tear)- Rs 500
> AC Disinfectant - Rs 650
> AC Servicing with Gas refill - Rs 3000

Disclaimer - Above are tentative Indicative costs

Update as in November 2016 - You can now check details on Ameo Petrol and Diesel Service cost including Spare Part Prices.
Get Details on VW Ameo Maintenance Cost

From Carhelpline Website
These are indeed the right costs. The point is that dealers just put add ons from their end, else the service bills don't exceed the mentioned numbers.
My Polo diesel first service costed me 7,700 bucks and second costed me 10,700 bucks and in this 10,700; there is a 2,500 worth extra horn. So it was also around 8,000 only.

And who wrote that Vento's headlamp costs 22,000? With due respect, sirji please present the source of this info.

I have just checked with the sales head at VW Erode and he confirmed that the new twin head lamps cost 22000 rs.

These are indeed the right costs. The point is that dealers just put add ons from their end, else the service bills don't exceed the mentioned numbers.
My Polo diesel first service costed me 7,700 bucks and second costed me 10,700 bucks and in this 10,700; there is a 2,500 worth extra horn. So it was also around 8,000 only.

And who wrote that Vento's headlamp costs 22,000? With due respect, sirji please present the source of this info.

Source

Concerned on Volkswagen Ameo Service Cost. Is it too high