Toyota Yaris Launched in India [Discontinued]

re: Toyota To Launch Vios in India,Now Launched!

I will believe Toyota when I see the actual product offered. I have my doubts on Toyota's seriousness in tapping the sub-12 lac market. It is possible that they will once again bring a half baked , albeit spacious car. It is appalling that Toyota gives more preference to the ASEAN market, whose collective sales are far lesser than India's.

Well said.

I was salivating for the launch of Etios Sedan and felt ditched by Toyota, after the launch. The 1.4 liter Diesel in Corolla, is a pure Joke, even on a compact Sedan. But Toyota is not interested in giving anything bigger. After the Etios-Liva, I have understood their Game Plan for India. It is just "Corolla, Innova & Fortuner", which have huge profit margins.

Under 12 Lakhs (C2 Segment), Toyota can NOT match the "Fit-Finish-Features-Power" offered by both Hyundai & Honda. Doing so will reduce their profit margin and they are not gonna do THAT. Toyota Vios will be a (slightly above average) Product tailored for "Airport to Hotel Trips". Numbers wise, it will sell between Linea and Vento; Rapid will always outsell this one [;)]

With Toyota, I cannot be NOT biased... I expected MORE from the Global Leader. They have become like, "take my reliability and be done with that". Maruti, Hyundai and Honda too give us Indians that luxury of Reliability.

PS: Some day, Tata will look into this C2 Sedan segment and offer one with a set of 1.5 Lit engines. THAT car would be much more Premium and Fun than this Toyota Vios.

Toyota YARIS

Looks very promising and sure to upset the sales of top 3 segment leaders.

Loaded with Features for Comfort, Safety and Convenience with many 1st in the segment.

The Interior looks Smart, Stylish and well laid out.

The Exterior design looks Sleek and Elegant.

This looks like a promising sedan to me. However, for reason known to all, I am skeptical about the quality of interiors especially given the fact that its expensive cousins lack the lustre found on the European rivals.
Eagerly waiting for the launch of this car since I am going to pick up a VW Vento/Skoda Rapid (most likely) for my parents later this year. This could be worth the consideration.

It has got many segments first features & it looks promising. Hope Toyota goes right with the pricing. It should not be more than 17. 5 lakhs because City ZX is priced around 16.5 lakhs. Vios with added features should be max a lakh more than City. It will be successful if priced right with all bells n whistles but Toyota has never been aggressive on pricing, at least they should launch it with an introductory price. Definitely its not going be as free reving as IVtec or TSI so it boils down to its reliability ( its part of Toyota), features (it has it) & finally pricing.

Got a call from Toyota after registering online for the Yaris. Launch on April 24 confirmed. Test drives start from April 20.
Just got the call from Toyota... they gave the same timeframe for launch.. didn't mention when test drive will be available.

Toyota Yaris
Base Variant:
Seven airbags
ABS with EBD and Brake assist
Body-coloured wing mirrors and door handles
Halogen headlamps with projectors
Power mirrors
AC with manual control
Driver's seat height adjust
All four power windows
Keyless entry
A cooled glovebox
Instrument cluster with LCD multi info display
Four-speaker audio system
Rear armrest
Tilt steering

Thats a very impressive list for a base variant.
I am sure the car is gonna set ripples in the segment.
Already looks a Hit Car for me.

Toyota Yaris
Base Variant:
Seven airbags
Power mirrors
AC with manual control
All four power windows
Keyless entry
A cooled glovebox
Rear armrest
Tilt steering

Thats a very impressive list for a base variant.
I am sure the car is gonna set ripples in the segment.
Already looks a Hit Car for me.
Thats really impressive for a base variant. Let's see how the pricing goes.
Do you have the feature list for higher variants?

Thats really impressive for a base variant. Let's see how the pricing goes.
Do you have the feature list for higher variants?
Toyota Yaris J:

Seven airbags
Power mirrors
AC with manual control
All four power windows
Keyless entry
A cooled glovebox
Rear armrest
Tilt steering

Toyota Yaris G:

Power folding mirrors with integrated turn indicators
Chrome trim on grille
Instrument cluster with TFT multi info display
Push button start
7.0-inch infotainment system with four speakers
Steering-mounted audio controls
Fog lamps (Front and rear)
Dual rear parking sensors
Rear defogger

Toyota Yaris V:

Four wheel disc brakes
Automatic headlamps with follow me home feature
Rain sensing wipers
15-inch alloy wheels
Tail-lamps with LED inserts
7.0-inch infotainment system with six speakers
Dual front parking sensors
Quad rear parking sensors
Cruise control

Toyota Yaris VX:

Chrome trim on door handles
LED daytime running lamps
7.0-inch AVN infotainment system with six speakers
Leather seats
Powered driver's seat with eight-way adjustment
Paddle shifters (CVT only)
Hill-start assist
Tyre pressure monitoring system
Rear sunshade

I believe the Yaris will be the first C2 segment sedan with 7 airbags and ESP available. This is almost at par with the mature markets (barring Autonomous Braking and Lane Departure warning).
I really hope Toyota makes maximum virtue of this and provokes its rivals to atleast consider 7 airbags as standard. BTW, just checked the Corolla Altis webpage of Toyota India and that car too seems to now have 7 airbags as standard across variants, which was restricted to the top 2 versions earlier.

Toyota Yaris J:

Toyota Yaris V:

Four wheel disc brakes
Automatic headlamps with follow me home feature
Rain sensing wipers
15-inch alloy wheels
Tail-lamps with LED inserts
7.0-inch infotainment system with six speakers
Dual front parking sensors
Quad rear parking sensors
Cruise control
The feature list is quite impressive. From the base variant, its quite loaded features, and I feel the V variant may come out as the popular choice. It has all the safety as well as convenience features, and probably would be having a considerable price difference with the top end variant.

One question I always have, is how useful is the paddle shift for a CVT car? Is there anyone who uses it on the City? When ever I drive an automatic car, I just let the autobox do its job, and rarely try to take over manually. Automatic car owners, is not having a paddle shift a deal breaker?

Saw the car in flesh today. The car is well-built and made to last long.
It looks a size smaller than Honda City and Hyundai Verna..

The prices are to be announced tomorrow.. hope Toyota prices it well.
Some Pics..
Yaris_1.jpg

Yaris_3.jpg

Yaris_2.jpg

Here are the prices..

Variant

J

Rs 8,75,000/- (MT)

Rs 9,95,000/- (CVT)

G

Rs 10,56,000/- (MT)

Rs 11,76,000/- (CVT)

V

Rs 11,70,000/- (MT)

Rs 12,90,000/- (CVT)

VX

Rs 12,85,000/- (MT)

Rs 14,07,000/- (CVT)

Checked out the Yaris @ Dealership here today. Here are some pics of the same. Visually, it looks more stylish inside out than the Etios. Somehow there was bit of resemblance in the front profile of Yaris with that of the Altis Corolla.

20180425_111858.jpg

20180425_111912.jpg

20180425_111921.jpg

20180425_111928.jpg

20180425_111940.jpg