Toyota Corolla Altis vs Chevrolet Cruze vs Volkswagen Vento

Fazer

Comparing the prices of the two, It is obvious that Vento would lack somewhere in high end performance(Top Speed) as compared to Cruze/laura. But, Even that small car is enough with all basic features that corolla offers+ it has got better looks.

I think Verna SX 1.6 Crdi would be a better choice than Rapid and Vento! Right?
It is blessed with Good After Sales Value, Features, Looks and Space and, above all, its a Hyundai!
Why has Billion$kid's friend not considered the Verna? Any reason?

Buddy Vento is faster than the Corolla and is nearly as fast as the Laura M/T is.

Issue is with the high speed stability of Vento,which has been overcame by Rapid and hence Rapid is accurate like a dart.Typical Skoda car with great dynamics.

BTW,how many people are going to do even 150 kph everyday in any of the cars mentioned in this thread?Rest for the speeds upto 120-130 kph,Vento is great and upto 140-150 kph its the Rapid.For going above this speed,strictly Laura only,none else.

Verna is not as per my taste,its neither that responsive,nor it has that comfy rear seat and with the added disadvantage of unresolved dynamics(soft suspension results in unsettled high speed ride+body roll).This car is not for me at least.

Fazer

The thing is not to do 150kph, HOW YOU DO THAT 150, which matters.

Yes, Yes, I agree. Hyundai has embedded most of its cars with feather soft suspension which results in bumpy ride.

BTW, The requirements are not clear I think.
Where is Billion$Kid?

Vento diesel is a seriously good car.That engine can produce a serious amount of torque and the 105 horses enough to do even 180.It's not safe to do more than 140 on Indian roads.And Vento can reach that mark quite easily unlike the Altis.And like Vipul said,Verna is a big no no.

Vipul thanks again for the help.The only difference is that your car is the TSI and my friend is looking at the TDI as he needs diesels only.

He is getting advises from all corners[:D]. Somebody has told him to spend a bit more and get a superb which is a great combination of performance and comfort. It is difficult to recommend a car for someone who is looking at many segments[:D].He should first decide on the segment.All the 3 cars that he shortlisted are not in his mind now.The good thing is that both the Laura and Superb are Skodas.So he can td both at the showroom.

He has a Fortuner. That's why I said earlier that he wont be taking the sedan to the hilly areas often.He needs a sedan.He sold his old fiesta a few weeks ago.So he needs a car for basic daily use(this guy travels a lot) and some highway trips.This is all I know about his requirements.

Ah,it is some coincidence or what,I can't understand.But I was also about to buy a Superb some 4 months back,but due to some circumstances I had to transfer the booking to my uncle and make it with the Laura and Corolla only.

Rest ask him to give exact requirements of him+money he wanna spend.
Still,instead of Superb TDI,I'd recommend a Laura TDI L&K.We haven't bought this car because we had a Laura else it was the L&K only which really stole my heart.

His requirements I have already mentioned. His initial budget was 18 but he can stretch it quite easily.
He's not just looking at performance. Riding comfort and safety comes first to him. @ 19 lakhs the Laura L&K AT is not so appealing. But the problem he's now going to face is the FE. Diesel Superb starts @ 22 lakhs with the same engine in the L&K with a poor FE. FE is the reason why he needs a diesel car.

Cars like Superb are not meant for every day rough use. It will not return a decent FE either. Here's my suggestion for him : Get a rapid diesel now. Good FE, good looks(better than Vento) etc. It doesn't look cheap. It is more suitable for daily usage. Then, after some time (or even now) buy another car for the long trips. If he needs something not so pricey, he can go for the Laura TDI. That or the Fortuner should be enough for most long trips. If he's ready to spend some money, he should go for a Beemer. If he can spend 22lakhs on a Superb, why not spend three lakhs more and get a BMW 320D. What do you guys think?

It's all up to him now. Will update the thread soon after knowing his decision.
Thanks for your suggestions guys.

Fazer

Would Skoda Superb TDI fit in his budget? I think you said that he is willing to spend 18Lacs.
Maybe he can get a used one.

Also consider, VW Jetta and Renault Fluence.
If i was in your friend's place and would have got 18L budget, I would have gone for VW Jetta Comfortline. It has killer looks,140BHP 2L engine 320nm of torque,6 speed manual transmission and costs around 16.5L ex-showroom.
I bet it is the best car your friend can find!

He can stretch that budget if the car is worth that extra money. I think the Laura TDI Elegance MT has many more features than than the Comfortline Jetta TDI. Laura seems to be the better option. Thanks for the input. Will tell him about the Jetta too.

Fazer

I feel the Jetta would be much better. Tell your friend to take a TD of both the vehicles and then decide.
The Jetta has got Power and Exteriors while the Skoda has got Safety and Interiors. If your friend is chauffered most of the time, get the Laura, else get the Jetta.[;)]

Here's a list of Jetta TDI Comfortline MT's features-
Comfort
Rake & Reach Adjustment for Steering Wheel
Vanity Mirrors with illumination
Front Seats with height adjustment
Exterior mirrors, electircally adjustable, foldable and heated
Multi Function Steering Wheel with control for MFD, Audio System
Light and Sight Package with Rain Sensor
Park Distance Control (front and rear) with acoustic warning
RCD 300 Plus" music system with CD player, Aux-in & 8 speakers
"Climatic" Air conditioner
Exterior
Body Coloured exteriors (door handles and mirrors)
Daytime Running Lights
Dual Exhaust pipes
Side Turn Signal lights integrated in exterior mirrors
Shark Fin Diversity antenna
Full Size Spare Wheel (Steel)
Rear Fog Light
Front Fog Light
Chrome Finish on Radiator Grille
16 inch "Navarra" Alloy Wheels (Set of 4)
Interior
Small Leather package (steering wheel, gear shift knob, hand brake grip)
Front Center Armrest with Storage Box
Rear AC Vents
Storage compartment on headliner
60/ 40 Split folding rear seat backrest
Lockable and illuminated glove compartment
Chrome Interior package
Decorative wood inserts for dashboard and doors
Rear Center Armrest
Auto - Dimming Interior Mirror
Plus Multi Function Display
Leatherette Upholstrey
Multi-function display
Safety
Disc Brakes, front and rear
Electronic Stabilisation Programme (ESP) including
ABS with Brake Assist, ASR and EDL
Hill Hold Control
Front Seat Belt with height adjustment and seat belt tensioner
3-point belt for center rear seat
ISOFIX points (mounting fixture for two child seats on rear seat bench)
3 rear headrests
Central Locking with 2 remote control folding keys
Electronic Engine Immobiliser
Engine and Transmission Guard
Driver and Front passenger airbags with Front Passenger airbag deactivation
Curtain Airbag system for front and rear passengers
Side Airbags, Front

The Laura TDI Elegance MT's features-
Comfort
Height adjustment for driver Seat
Lumbar support adjustment for driver and front passenger seats
Heated front seats
Front centre armrest, adjustable for length and height
Rear seat centre armrest
Škoda Swing audio player
Eight speakers
Auxiliary audio input for portable media players
Climatronic - automatic air conditioning with electronic regulation of cabin temperature
Dual-zone Climatronic
Adjustable rear air conditioning vents on rear centre console
Rear air conditioning vents under front seats
Dual Climatronic display
Odour filter and pollen filter
Front and rear electrically adjustable windows
One-touch operation
Bounce-back system
Tinted windows
Leather seat upholstery
Leather wrapped steering wheel
Leather wrapped gear-shift selector
Leather wrapped hand-brake lever
Electrically adjustable external mirrors
Electrically foldable external mirrors
Height adjustable steering wheel
Length adjustable steering wheel
Textile floor mats
Gear change indicator (for manual transmission)
Multi function display (MFD) of Travelling time, Distance travelled, Average speed, Immediate consumption, Average consumption
Travel distance before refuelling, Service Interval, Outside temperature, Clock
Height adjustment for front passenger seats
Automatic air circulation, including AQS (Air Quality Sensor)
Exterior
Chrome surround for radiator grille
Chrome trim on controls for infotainment system and air conditioning
Chrome ring on instrument cluster dials
Body colour protective side door strips
Body colour bumpers, external mirrors, and door handles
Turn indicator in external mirrors
Boarding spot lamps
Chrome trim on steering wheel, interior door handles, gear-shift selector
Alloy wheels 16, Proxima
Chrome trim on storage compartment lids on dashboard, front console and rear console
Interior
Central infotainment system
Automatic front wiper system with rain sensor
Reading lamps at the front and rear
Illumination of cabin storage spaces including front glovebox and compartment in front centre console
Illumination of luggage compartment with two boot lamps
12V power socket in centre console
Front sun visors with vanity mirrors
Two foldable roof handles, at front and rear
Lights-on acoustic signal
Trim on loading sill in luggage compartment
Rear mud flaps
560 litres luggage compartment space
Foldable baggage hook in luggage compartment
Six load anchoring points in luggage compartment
Rear seat centre armrest with through-loading
60:40 split and completely folding rear seat backrest
Storage compartment under the front passenger seat
Rear seat centre armrest with storage compartment
Storage compartment on the top of central dashboard, closed
Jumbo box – storage compartment under front centre armrest, with cooling
Front glovebox with cooling
Bottle holders in the front doors
Cup holders
Storage compartments in the front and rear doors
Storage compartments on the side of the front seat
Eyewear compartment
Storage compartment under the steering wheel
Storage compartments in the front and rear centre console
Storage pockets on the backrest of the front seats
1430 litres of total luggage space with rear seatbacks folded
Coat hook on rear roof handles and B pillars
Ticket holder on A pillar
Retaining strip on front sun visors
Removable rear parcel shelf
Wood design décor on front dashboard, centre console and door panels
Dual tone Onyx-Ivory front dashboard, centre console and door panels
Ivory colour upholstery
Front glovebox with illumination
Safety
Halogen projector headlights with manual levelling
Front fog lights
Warning lights on front doors
Rear fog light
Automatically dimming interior rear view mirror
Automatically dimming external rear view mirror
External mirror defogger with timer
Rear windscreen defogger with timer
ABS (Anti-lock Braking System)
EBD (Electronic Brakeforce Distribution)
MBA (Mechanical Brake Assistant)
ASR (Anti Slip Regulation)
TCS (Traction Control System)
Parktronic sensors at rear
Parktronic speaker at rear
Parktronic display on central infotainment system
Dual front airbags
Active front head restraints
Seatbelt pre-tensioners for front seats
Height-adjustable three-point seatbelts at front
Three three-point seatbelts at rear
Height adjustable head restraints at front
Three height adjustable head restraints at rear
Two Isofix child-seat preparations on outer rear seats
Underbody protective cover
Rough road package
Security code for central infotainment system
Remote control locking and unlocking of doors and boot lid
Engine immobiliser with floating code system
Remote control with foldable key, two
Remote control opening and closing of windows
Remote control closing of door mirrors
Acoustic warning signal for overrun speed
Fuel supply cut-off in a crash
Side door protective strips
Door-open indicator
Dual-tone warning horn
Child-proof rear window and door locking
High level third brake light
Emergency triangle in the luggage compartment

Engine Specs of both cars-

Jetta:
Engine Type/Model : 4-cylinder diesel engine In line CR, Turbocharged
Displacement cc : 1968
Power (PS@rpm) : 140PS @4200rpm
Torque (Nm@rpm) : 320Nm @1750rpm

Laura:
Engine Type/Model : turbocharged diesel engine, turbocharger with self-aligning blades, in-line, liquid cooling system, high-pressure direct injection system, 16V DOHC, transverse in front
Displacement cc : 1968
Power (PS@rpm) : 110PS @4200rpm
Torque (Nm@rpm) : 250Nm @1500rpm

Ex-Showroom price for Laura is Rs.16.5 L and for Jetta is 16.6 L. Almost the same.

Now, SEE AND DECIDE FOR YOURSELF, which one is better.[;)]
You all must be thinking I am MAD, The thing is, I love VW and Jetta!
Also consider Maruti Suzuki Kizashi.[lol]

You can see the difference in the features list. Look at the safety & comfort features in the Laura. And I'm of the opinion that one should go for the top variant if possible. In this case Laura is and Jetta isn't.

Skoda is a subsidiary of VW. But they have always produced great cars understanding the needs of the Indian consumer. Compare the Vento and Rapid for example.

Kizashi was ruled out in the initial stage itself due to many reasons.

Fazer

But, Your friend wants power, because of which Altis is out, and JETTA has it.
Ask your friend to TD Jetta once.
If he likes Laura, no matter, both are good cars, atleast to me.

He said he expects decent performance from the car. Altis is a bit slower than even the cars in lower segments. You wont feel it's underpowered in the city but at times on the highways you feel it. It's not actually underpowered but when you spend 17-18 lakhs, you expect much better performance. Since the Laura has enough power and features, he thinks it's a better choice. Vipul's comment on the Altis didn't inspire much confidence either.

Update:Told him about the Jetta also. He might go to the Skoda showroom today itself to TD Laura and Superb.

Fazer

Very nice. Do share some about his TD experiences.
I bet, He would like the Superb.
Do keep us updated.

Update
Current pick:Skoda Laura TDI Elegance (MT). Good for daily usage and also for occasional long trips. Decent FE, comfort, performance and good brand image. For everything else, he has the T-Fort.

Just read about the Skoda Laura on the internet.Everybody has great things to say about that car.Only worry is the after sales service.I told him about the Elegance 2.0 MT.
Laura is having overall more comfort and better ride and handling than the Corolla.The Corolla has the space advantage and Laura has the dynamics,high speed stability etc etc.
I haven't mentioned Laura because you said Vento or Cruze or Corolla,else definitely Laura TDI is the car to go for,and go for A/T,if possible(M/T is also great) as it has higher power and is really a very fun to drive car.
I would suggest the Laura Elegance AT. The DSG gearbox is a real pleasure. Has the convenience of AT in traffic and can be used in manual mode when you want to have fun.

About maintenance part:Buddy my car is about 65k kms old in just 16 months(not sure if its 65k only as the car is in Allahabad now)but we are still to face any serious maintenance issues,simply we are satisfied with the car and the Skoda A.S.S. and hence I don't believe any such rumors about the horrifying Skoda A.S.S.
The A.S.S. is not as made out to be in some forums. The best feedback is from owners on this forum itself.

Word of caution:Don't expect Cruze or Laura to be as easy on the pocket as the Corolla is,still there is a difference of just double when it comes to maintenance costs.
Quality comes at a price but it's worth it.

Kizashi was ruled out in the initial stage itself due to many reasons.
That was a wise decision. The Kizashi is not worth the money they are asking for it.

Update
Current pick:Skoda Laura TDI Elegance (MT). Good for daily usage and also for occasional long trips. Decent FE, comfort, performance and good brand image. For everything else, he has the T-Fort.
Again ask him to test the AT version.