The Mammoth GT - Royal Enfield Continental GT - November 2014

Thread Starter #61

deville_56

Hi Deville,

Nice post buddy! Hey I have booked by GT last week & would like to install the dual seat with cowl. Can you guide me on how to get this one for me please?

Antony
Order the seat at dealer itself. (It's insanely overpriced for what its worth, 4.5k, quality not even worth 1k). Swapping is 2 min job. Use key to open battery box, pull cable inside to release seat like in normal bikes, put in new seat. You have to buy grab rail and rear foot peg also, which costs around 500 bucks all together.

I'm a RE Continental GT owner. I own a 2016 model.

I was going thru various threads.

I would suggest every GT owners to change the spark plug 1st. Recommended is a NGK Iridium BPR5EIX sparkplug.

Modifications I done on my GT

1. Handlebar - Upright himalayan handlebar bar cost 1000 rupees.
Thunderbird handlebar mount bottom. cost 300 rupees.
Himalayan handlebar mount top clamp. cost 254 rupees.
KTM handlebar mount allen key bolts cost 60 rupees.
after market front break hose longer than stock. cost 2500 rupees. I recommend himalayan break hose. it will cost 2900 from RE dealer.

2. IndiMotard Greasehouse Megaphone exhaust cost 3600 rupees from local dealer. direct buy from indimotard will cost 4400 rupees.

3. motul 5100 15w50 semi synthetic engine oil.

4. NGK Iridium Spark Plug BPR5EIX. cost 700 rupees from local dealer.

5. Split Fire spark plug cable. cost 650 rupees from a local dealer.

if anyone need any suggestions or ideas mail me

recontinentalgt at gmail dot com

hey man. bro i really liked the posts you have made on the conti gt. giving every single detail of the ownership experience you have with the gt. awsom stuff bro. and the pics are treat to watch.
Bro we have a conti gt club in chandigarh called chd cafe racer. check us out on facebook
we have made a owners prospective video review of the conti gt.
check it out -
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1IhaPE7_KUE
our main focus with the review was to show the possible performance and aesthetic mods that are possible on the gt.
list of mods we have done -
performance -
1. k and n filter
2. airbox removal
3. free flow header and exhaust [ the full system exhaust just weighs 3.5 kgs the stock system weighs 9kgs]
4. ngk iridium spark plugs
5. splitfire high performance spark plug cable
6. lighter 38 teeth sprocket [ stock one is 36]
7. power commander 5 ecu re map

making the gt lightweight
removal of -
1. center stand
2. meters
3. horns
4. mudguards
5. cutting the chassis from behind
6. much lighter exhaust
etc

check our page on Facebook for regular updates on performance and aesthetic mods and cafe racer culture. cheers mate
can you explain how did you guys fixed the split fire sparkplug cable? I have already purchased NGK Iridium Spark Plug and split fire performance cable. already changed the spark plug but haven't changed the cable yet

I need this bro how to get

Price details:
Dual Seat Assembly with Backrest & Cowl - 585555/C - ₹ 4,150.00
Pillion Foot Rest RH - 585656/A - ₹ 219.00
Pillion Foot Rest LH - 585282/A - ₹ 219

Thread Starter #66

deville_56

April 2017:

Finally got one. Not for GT, but C500 or TB. By the time of writing this post, it has already started cracking, just over 8 months [frustration]

Air Filter PAV Hose - 584666/A - ₹ 211.00

2017-04-22 22-09-16.JPG
2017-04-22 22-13-17.JPG

October 2017:

2017-10-20 09-39-35.jpg
2017-10-27 07-35-02.JPG

December 2017:

Finally gets custom LED tail lamps. Superflux/Pirahna LEDs. Bought from Kwality Photonics. Ultra Red.

60 red + 3 white SMD for tail lamp. Connectors for plug and play.

2017-12-22 20-53-46.JPG

Park

2017-12-22 00-54-05_3.JPG

Brake

2017-12-22 00-54-05_4.JPG

After install:

Park.

2017-12-22 21-54-45_2.JPG

Brake. [evil]

2017-12-22 21-54-46.JPG

Tailgaters POV:

Park

2017-12-22 21-56-04.JPG

Brake. That turned out to be super insane.

2017-12-22 21-56-05_1.JPG

That premium look [:D]

2017-12-22 21-57-33_2.JPG

Solution: Tilted a bit and put a flap.

2018-01-03 22-05-18.JPG

Now easy on eyes.

2018-01-03 22-10-43.JPG

January 2018:

Got it serviced at FNG. Ran only 2.4k since last oil change in almost a year. Paid ₹ 1,800.00 spares + labor + a spanking wash. Cleaned brakes and charged the battery properly.

Removed the Greasehouse exhaust. Kerala cops loves loud pipes. Exhaust wrap starts disintegrating.

2018-01-15 07-36-43.JPG

Fresh oil. Always dark when done at ASC. Liquid Gun.

2018-01-15 07-37-44.JPG

Tyre not fully bald, but hard to control now, swerving badly. Searching for Pirelli's.

2018-01-15 07-39-28.JPG

Leaking fork. Oil seal not available and not shared with other RE models. Parts ordered. Waiting.

2018-01-15 07-39-42.JPG

Thread Starter #69

deville_56

Fork Overhaul

February 2018:

Checked with Concept Motors and they had the Fork Oil Seal in stock. Bought a pair.
According to them same as Thunderbird;s, but part number different.

Fork Oil Seal - 594406 - ₹ 315.00 x 2

2018-02-04 09-00-06.JPG
2018-02-04 09-00-25.JPG
2018-02-04 09-00-29.JPG

Gave to usual mech, but ended up taking the fork to lathe and back ourselves. Paid ₹ 600.00 for just removal and reinstall, which we could have done outselves [frustration]

2018-02-12 13-32-48.jpg
2018-02-12 13-33-24.jpg

Got Motul Fork Oil. Each side needs 430 ml. Total 860 ml. Bought 350+350+175 (875 ml). MRP ₹ 135 + 135 +70. Got for ₹ 250.00 from Ex-Jawan Lube Shop.

2018-02-12 14-02-19.JPG
2018-02-12 14-02-42.JPG

Got it changed at BS Engineering, run by Mr. Baiju. Left the fork and seal and oil there. Asked to return after an hour. Gave 2 hours. Like most guys, it was untouched. But he did it in some 20 minutes flat [clap]. Charged ₹ 400.00

2018-02-12 16-14-01.jpg
2018-02-12 16-30-43.jpg

Fork ready for install.

2018-02-12 18-24-24.jpg

Total Damage - ₹ 1000.00 labor + ₹ 880.00 parts = ₹ 1880.00 (Plus diesel cost)

Re: Fork Overhaul

Gave to usual mech, but ended up taking the fork to lathe and back ourselves. Paid ₹ 600.00 for just removal and reinstall, which we could have done outselves
Is there any need for special tools to remove the fork seals in RE ??
My FNG does the fork oil seal replacements himself and charges 300 for a pair of shocks last time

Thread Starter #71

deville_56

Re: Fork Overhaul

Is there any need for special tools to remove the fork seals in RE ??
My FNG does the fork oil seal replacements himself and charges 300 for a pair of shocks last time
Just same tools for removing FZ and Gixxer. Nothing special. I paid 250 for changing them for FZ.

Typical RE owner notion is more costlier, the better service and spends extravagantly. It's the regular guys like us ending up overpaying for the same job.

Next time on giving to FNG only.

Thread Starter #72

deville_56

Battery Replacement

Stock Exide konked off without warning at Red light [frustration]. Pushed, kicked, homed.

New battery. AMCO Maxx Last AB14L-A. MRP ₹ 3,100.00. Final price after exchanging old battery - ₹ 2,700.00

2018-02-07 22-55-06.JPG
2018-02-07 22-55-58.JPG
2018-02-16 07-43-36.JPG
2018-02-16 07-43-42.JPG

Mistook old Exide as maintenance free. Still it served good 3 years. Was always wondering why battery indicator was glowing below ~2k rpm.

AMCO is not MF. Recommended topping up every 3 months.

Impressed with your DIY skills,Mr,Deville. Just thought of adding a suggestion, for service jobs(ones you think which needs more expertise than that you have),you can go to Mr.Murugan aka Murugan mesthri(Near Rajiv Gandhi Centre for Biotech,Jagathy-Melaranoor stretch).He's known among many bike enthusiats,but issue many says is he's not getting time to attend to normal ones.
Also one of my friends give his RE,classic 350 to a guy at Killipalam(Back side of PRS,Attukal Bundroad stretch),he said he's very reasonable and skilled. He takes only 3-4 bikes a day ,and also he says openly if the job is beyond is expertise.

am no expert with bikes,as myself doesn't have one ,if its with Cars,you can PM me ,i will try to do the needful,esp with Hyundai & Maruti .

Thread Starter #74

deville_56

Impressed with your DIY skills,Mr,Deville. Just thought of adding a suggestion, for service jobs(ones you think which needs more expertise than that you have),you can go to Mr.Murugan aka Murugan mesthri(Near Rajiv Gandhi Centre for Biotech,Jagathy-Melaranoor stretch).He's known among many bike enthusiats,but issue many says is he's not getting time to attend to normal ones.
Also one of my friends give his RE,classic 350 to a guy at Killipalam(Back side of PRS,Attukal Bundroad stretch),he said he's very reasonable and skilled. He takes only 3-4 bikes a day ,and also he says openly if the job is beyond is expertise.

am no expert with bikes,as myself doesn't have one ,if its with Cars,you can PM me ,i will try to do the needful,esp with Hyundai & Maruti .
He got skills, but more of a hype. Used to go there before the RE boom. Workmanship solely depends on his mood. Many times turned out to be shoddy. There are many RE mechs, some even better.

The current guy got 18 years of experience just on RE.
The thing is getting overcharged for the job solely because it's a RE bike.

Thread Starter #75

deville_56

Clear Lens Headlight

After a long search, got 7 inch clear lens assembly. After the Amby era, no one is actually stocking these. Only normal ones are available.

Got Lumax made ones for Ambassador Grand. ₹ 395.00

2018-02-09 19-52-09.JPG
2018-02-09 19-51-00.JPG
2018-02-09 19-51-11.JPG

Installed on stock rim.
2018-02-13 21-58-40.JPG
2018-02-13 21-59-10.JPG
with stock clips.
2018-02-13 21-59-24.JPG

MFR vs old

2018-02-13 22-00-43.JPG

Park light connector. So cheap that not even sleeves.

2018-02-13 22-07-22.JPG

Installed.

2018-02-13 22-22-54.JPG

Park light. Gets regular T10 holder instead of the old school one.

2018-02-13 22-24-04.JPG

The glow.

2018-02-13 22-24-32.JPG

Looks way better.

2018-02-16 07-52-06.JPG

2018-02-16 09-11-30.jpg