Riding manner and usage of ORVM's

Thread Starter #1
guys, i have been driving two wheelers since 15 years now.there has been lots of changes in style, behaviour, specs and performance of these bikes, scooters, mopeds.When i started driving i learned to use the side rear view mirrors placed on sides of bikes, scooters to judge the side lines, side ways and for turns.Now a days what i see is that rarely people use these mirrors atleast while taking side turns or side ways,instead bend themselves while driving to see if someone's coming from the back, or just turn their head to look back before doing this and have ended up banging themselves with other vehicles or loosing balance and falling down.My question is why does people dont use those mirrors given by companies for specific usage, we dont look out of window to see someone's at the back or not from our car and do use ORVM's in four wheels perfectly, then why is two wheelers users dont follow this?

Bikes' mirrors are kind of useless in close traffic. It don't cover much. I can't even see the car in next lane. You need to look around the mirror for full view. Looking over shoulders is far better and quicker too.

Thread Starter #5
Bikes' mirrors are kind of useless in close traffic. It don't cover much. I can't even see the car in next lane. You need to look around the mirror for full view. Looking over shoulders is far better and quicker too.
well i am driving my bikes from last 15 years and never have felt they are useless.Looking over shoulder isnt safe i believe when you have option to look into the given RVM.

maybe but i still prefer using mirrors over actually turning my head around all the time..
absolutely mate, the same way we use out cars RVM.If it was useless company wouldnt have given those with two wheelers.All about getting used to it.