Optimus: Mahindra XUV500 W8 FWD. Long Term Ownership Review

Thread Starter #422
I don't know much about lights and all .But they are indeed very pricey.Or is it a typo?
Its twenty thousands for the lights,right?
Yeah it is 20k for a pair of lights and it is pricey, the price is the factor because of which I was on the fence from the past 8-9 months. but now during night I can see upto a distance of around 300-400meters, but it should last me a life time if I dont hit something from the front.

Thread Starter #423
Insurance query: Getting a quote of 24k for an IDV of 7.3 lakhs from tata aig with zero dep cover. the non zero dep cover is 15k. Not sure if that 9k is worth or not. any suggestions or opinions?

Thread Starter #424
Got the 70000km done over the weekend. Total cost 9800rs, in this they changed the AC filters and put in some AC refresher not sure what it was. Since I had complained of a slightly hard steering they have changed the Tension Adjustor and the acc belt (these 2 items costed 4500)

I also had a problem with the Washer motor in the front, it was also changed for 750INR.
rest is service cost + labour charges + Taxes.

The 4500Rs spent on slightly loosening the power steering seems a waste of money now. there is a difference and the power steering is lighter than before but not worth the amount.

Also planning to get thicker brackets made for the Hellas over the weekend something as thick as 5 mm or so.

Need to get the alignment check as well, as the vehicle has started pulling slightly left on highways.

Optimus has completed 74000kms now.

Thread Starter #425
Optimus is doing fine except for some minor niggles like, Driver side window gets stuck while opening and closing, rear wiper needs a change.
It has completed 78000km.
Gave it a small wash and wax coat one weekend. Kindly ignore the browned out tyres, didnt get the time to wash and dress them up this time,
66721400_10156454223038997_7144181525662138368_n.jpg
66775394_10156454223093997_6559536038866321408_n.jpg
67055235_10156474365578997_5922215518374199296_o.jpg
67269297_10156454223168997_2760116803848896512_n.jpg

Thread Starter #427
Well done Kinshuk,well done indeed.It looks like I am looking at my very own Red Highway King.
Only the fog lights in front make the difference. Very Nicely maintained ride.
Thanks Mayank, but it somehow misses the shine it had on the day of delivery. I wish I could restore it to that level.

Thread Starter #429
When do you plan to change the tyres? You have certainly used them to the maximum.78000 kms.
A friend of mine works for Continental tyres, I sent him the pic of my tyres including the tyre wear indicator and the side walls, he showed it to his quality person, as per them my tyres are good for another 10-15k km. in the tyres the tyre wear indicator is still approx 2-3 mm below the tyre surface and there are no cracks on the side walls.

Dont go by kms age. Go by years age. Dont push it too far. Ideally it must be changed. +5years already.

Thread Starter #431
Dont go by kms age. Go by years age. Dont push it too far. Ideally it must be changed. +5years already.
I asked the same question to those guys also, as per them the tyre is fine as long as there are no frequent punctures, no cracks on the side walls and there is still rubber over the thread wear indicator, one of them used to work in JK Tyres as well and had worked on the quality control of Elanzo. Moreover, my usage is pretty easy, no hard accelerations, no hard braking except emergencies, max cruising speed is never more than 90-100kmph even on expressways.

Thread Starter #432
We have restarted our trip from Pune on 17th Morning @430AM. will try to update here about the trip.

today we are planning to reach Chittorgarh for the night.

Thread Starter #435
we have reached manali after the trip, will start the return journey from tomorrow. will start working on the travelogue sometime next week.