Optimal Tyre Pressure For Better Mileage?

Thread Starter #1
I am getting very low mileage on my Nexon. The car is giving 12Km/L on highways. Car tyre pressure is at 30 Psi. Will there be any problem if I increase it to 34-35 Psi?

mayankdixit

Honoured Member
I am getting very low mileage on my Nexon. The car is giving 12Km/L on highways. Car tyre pressure is at 30 Psi. Will there be any problem if I increase it to 34-35 Psi?
1) Car will become more bouncy.
2) Tyre life will be decreased.
3) Road grip of tyres will decrease.Driving Dynamics is changed(worsened).

Thread Starter #3
At 30Psi front tyres look under inflated. One of my friends drives a duster with same tyre configuration as my nexon uses 33psi for front and 34 for rear. Is it safe? I am a doctor with no knowledge on cars [cry]

mayankdixit

Honoured Member
At 30Psi front tyres look under inflated. One of my friends drives a duster with same tyre configuration as my nexon uses 33psi for front and 34 for rear. Is it safe? I am a doctor with no knowledge on cars [cry]
I am a doctor too,but with little bit knowledge about cars. [;)] So Dont worry,10% variation in air pressure wont harm the car. 33 psi is alright,and within safe limit.
But still its always safer to maintain manufacturer's recommendation.

Hi guys,
Recently I checked tyre pressure, and I see all tyres had 35 psi (looks like A.S.S had made it 35 as it was recently serviced). Also many a times I see when I ask to check pressure anywhere they make it 35. This time I checked manufacturers recommendation (its fluidic Verna), it was 32 for all tyres and so I told them to make it 32.

My question is did I do right thing by reducing it to 32? Or should I keep it 35 ?

What is the optimum tyre pressure for a sedan in normal city driving? Do we need to change it according to the weather conditions?
Is Nitrogen really good for tyres as advertised? I am thinking to get a tyre inflator from a good brand. Are they worth it? thank you.