Need Advise on Used Car Under Rs.2.5 Lakhs

Are you sure you want a ten year old diesel? Diesel vehicles are big on maintenance and at ten year old will be a bomb to maintain.

found a 2001 model Ford Ikon Diesel 1.8
asking price 1.5
would it be a good idea to buy such old diesel engine
it is the same diesel engine used in Ford Escort Diesel,I felt it was out dated for the Ikon itself,go for someother car

Keep away from a decade old Diesel Ikon, will leave a big hole in your pocket.

If you are not in a hurry to buy, hard hunt would get you Verna / Fiesta / Logan / NHC with your budget around 50k on odo.

Lancer will be the best choice if you could find a decent specimen with low mileage (which is hard).
Esteem looks outdated, my suggestion would be keep away.

PS: Saw an ad for 2006 Petrol Verna (chennai) in carwale for 2.5 lakhs today with low miles and single owner. Look for such cars.

thanks for advises again...
what im thinking is to buy a old honda city for around 1 lack with good engine
Paint it new with new Low profile tyres and alloys
which will cost me around 50 k
means fantastic looking car in 1.5 k
what say guys whats ur openion???

what im thinking is to buy a old honda city for around 1 lack with good engine
Paint it new with new Low profile tyres and alloys
which will cost me around 50k
Idea seems good, but finding a OHC with good engine condition within your budget is mere impossible. Almost all cheap OHC in market are abused / crossed 100k km.

yah u r right Mr. Boss , its quiet difficult to find OHC in 1-1.25k bracket ...
can u suggest which sedan i can get in this price bracket in good condition ...

Its very difficult to get a well maintained sedan in that price bracket bro maybe you can try Esteem

resale value of swift is very high so you have to work very hard to find a good condition swift in your budget. never go for optra. accent is a good choice. and my personal experience with lancer diesel is very good. i was having a 2004 model and sold it last week. i have hardly spend anything on maintenance of this car. you can easily find a good condition lancer in your budget.

my final words :- go for accent or lancer. swift is good but not a sedan and not easy to find in your budget

Finding a 'good sedan' with 1.25lakhs budget is difficult. Better to spend your entire budget (2.5lakhs) for the car and add 50k for repairs and upgrades.

Here are the choices,
1) OHC: Virgin specimen vtec are availble within this budget (but you should have patience to find the right choice)
2) NHC: 2004~2005 models will fit in this budget. Go for some after market alloys + basic service + repair in another 50k INR
3) Lancer (Petrol): You can get a well maintained beauty for less than 2.5 lakhs. Spend some money for nice alloys and shoes will make the looking killer
4) Lancer (Diesel): Well maintained Lancer D within this budget requires a lot more patience and hunt. Most of the cars have already crossed 100k km.
5) Optra: Post 2006 models (1.6) are good buy. But maintenance will be higher than the above said models.
6) Ikon: Post 2006 Flair models will fit within the budget (even with low miles) But the car looks very outdated. But a TD (of a well maintained car) will steal your heart and force you to buy one
7) Accent: Nice car with average maintenance and FE, but IMO not a fun to drive car (no offense, just my personal opinion)
8) Fiesta (P): You are luckly if you could find in good condition

Other choices are Logan, Indigo.

Today one of my frd told me about a Ford Ikon 2006 , diesel model
with alloy wheels , silver in colour and in good condition.
asking price is about 1.8 lack
whats your openion on this , what is the right price
is it good to buy ikon diesel

Today one of my frd told me about a Ford Ikon 2006 , diesel model
with alloy wheels , silver in colour and in good condition.
asking price is about 1.8 lack
whats your openion on this , what is the right price
is it good to buy ikon diesel
I think you need to check out how many km it has done,hoping its not been tampered with,but no one really goes for these cars anymore as it would lack peace of mind. Many have given there suggestions on the 2011 ikon diesel you mentioned a while ago,so if this thing has run 80,000 km above,expect the same replies.

+1, Raj it is strongly recommended that you show the car to the Ford service guys to verify the kms done if you are interested in the model.

experts i am not able to find any used car in my budget in good condition
cars which are in good condition are priced too high
now what i have thought of is to buy a new Hyundai Eon
howss the car??
will it be a good idea to buy a new entrant ???

Yes Hyundai Eon is much better when you consider used options,Besides it has made decent sales in the past months right when it was launched.

If your buying a new one and particularly at 3-3.5 lacs budget then its better for Alto 800cc,K10 (both LXI).