My Tata Nano Gen-X XT: My Best Buddy, Now Modified

A quick coverage on the detailing service I did for my Nano at Moto38 car and bike care in Coimbatore.
People around Coimbatore and Tirupur can avail their good quality services.
I got foam wash and wax coating done for ₹999.

Hello folks!

As of today, January 21st, it's been 4 years since the Nano became a part of my family.

Nearing 38,000kms, just got the tyres rotated and alignment checked.

Last week found out that the driveshaft boot was leaking and got that replaced for ₹650 at TAFE. Apart from a few runs to the grandpa's house at Dharapuram, the months have been largely uneventful.

However, plans for some long trips are in progress. Will update soon.

Here are some photos on the occasion of my Nano-versary!

IMG_20210121_190232_951.jpg

IMG_20201225_202317_860-01.jpeg

PicsArt_12-21-07.55.17.jpg

Forgot to mention that by mid-December, I got a few interior panels Hydro-dipped in carbon fiber design. The quality is really good and seems to suit my Nano really well.

IMG-20201206-WA0006.jpg

IMG-20201210-WA0023.jpg

IMG_20201210_161626-min.jpg

IMG_20201210_161641-min.jpg

IMG_20201210_161604-min.jpg

December first week:
On December 1st
I had been to Chennai for the review of the Nissan Magnite. It was the Nano's first long drive with the upsized wheels and modified interior.
Started by 5:15 am from home. It was a 501km journey to the room I had booked in Chennai. I had calculated an 8 hour drive.
Since I was the only person in the car, I enjoyed the drive with the music turned up.
I had selected the safe and smooth Coimbatore - Salem - Chinnasalem - Ulundurpet - Chennai route which has 4 lane highways for more than 70% of the route. I maintained a steady 80-85kmph speed for the most part.
Yes, the modifications I had done were really paying off. The cruising comfort has so much improved, with less road noise. The seat comfort with the armrest is so much like a luxury car. After setting off, the first stop I made was at Chinnasalem by 8:30 am, which is exactly halfway of the drive. 250kms in just over 3 hours is really impressive for a Nano, right? Spent some 15 mins clicking photos and updating status and then set off again to Ulundurpet, where I had decided to have breakfast.
IMG_20201201_083058-min.jpg
IMG_20201201_083139-min.jpg

It was a proper 1 hour break at the hotel in Ulundurpet, after which I set off again to the final destination. On the way I happened to encounter the upcoming next gen Mahindra XUV500 testing at high speeds.
It was 12:30 by the time I reached the outskirts of Chennai. Due to the terrible traffic and some political issue, I had to go around another way and then enter the city. Reached the hotel by 2:10pm with the fuel tank displaying just one bar.
It was on this trip that the Phone Mount came in really handy for navigation. With Google assistant I could give navigation instructions and the screen itself being right in front of me with real time speed was really so convenient.
The next day morning was spent with the Magnite and the evening at the hotel. I had tanked up the Nano after the review, resulting in an economy figure of 23kmpl.
The third day we set off back to Coimbatore by 1:30pm after catching up with a friend and visiting relatives. It was a rainy drive throughout. Reached Chinnasalem by 5:00pm after having a break on the way. After a break with a friend there, I resumed the journey and reached home at Coimbatore by 10:00pm.
IMG_20201203_172658-min.jpg

IMG-20201203-WA0055.jpg
The Nano performed great as usual and so did the modifications. The chances of driver fatigue has reduced drastically, making any journey a pleasant one. I am now looking forward to do more long drives this new year.

@DJ bro Your Nano is among the most subtle yet tastefully done up examples. I really love your attachment and respect towards it. Apart from your car, the other example of long drive in a nano which I still remember was a trip from Mumbai to Delhi by one of the most respected and loved audio maverick, Sir Sam Kapasi along with one of his friend. Nano for the money its priced at, serves the purpose well. You'll know better, but, isn't the nano production stopped now? How are you managing the spare parts arrangements etc?

BTW, the unparalleled passion with which you do the reviews, I really like it and admire your level of knowledge[cheers] God Bless your car with a long life. It is blessed to have a owner like you!!

@DJ bro Your Nano is among the most subtle yet tastefully done up examples. I really love your attachment and respect towards it. Apart from your car, the other example of long drive in a nano which I still remember was a trip from Mumbai to Delhi by one of the most respected and loved audio maverick, Sir Sam Kapasi along with one of his friend. Nano for the money its priced at, serves the purpose well. You'll know better, but, isn't the nano production stopped now? How are you managing the spare parts arrangements etc?

BTW, the unparalleled passion with which you do the reviews, I really like it and admire your level of knowledge[cheers] God Bless your car with a long life. It is blessed to have a owner like you!!

Thanks a lot for the encouraging words bro. Regarding spares I never found any hassle till date. Service is taken care of by TAFE ACCESS LTD and any other small parts are available on boodmo as well. Till date I have spent just around ₹7000 in total for service and spares for the past 4 years. Hope it stays that way.
Tata motors promise is that spares for any discontinued car will be available for the next 10-15 years. So no worry.
Glad you like my videos. I try to give my best and gain as much knowledge as possible. Still improving and realising mistakes.
The Magnite reviews really turned everyone's attention towards me and my channel and yes, the trip was worth it.
Thanks a cheers![cheers]

Update after a long time.
December 2020:
The rest of the month went uneventful with just a few short trips to Dharapuram and other local areas. The Nano crossed 36,000km mark by the second week itself.
January 2021:
The most of January too went uneventful till we decided to go on a long trip to Tirunelveli to visit my then fiance. Started on the 29th to Tirunelveli via Manjanaickenpatti near Palani to pickup a friend and his wife. As I exited the city, the Nano was already crossing 37,000kms on the odo. It was a good 391km driive to Tirunelveli in total. Visited Nellaiappar temple in the evening and we had planned to visit Kanniyakumari the next morning for sunrise.
IMG_20210129_074938-min.jpg
IMG_20210129_075044.jpg

IMG-20210201-WA0017-min.jpg
IMG_20210131_084512-min.jpg
After visiting Kanniyakumari, we went to Nagercoil to visit my fiance's sister. Then later returned to Tirunelveli that evening. Next day we left to Coimbatore via the longer, interior route through Papanasam, Thenkasi and Srivilliputthur; visiting the temples. Also visited and had a dip at Manimuthaar dam. However, since My friend's wife's home is at Dindigul, we decided to stay there for the night. Exactly 326kms from Tirunelveli.
IMG_20210131_102614-min.jpg

IMG_20210131_104501-min.jpg
IMG_20210131_120446-min.jpg
IMG_20210131_131700-min.jpg
IMG_20210131_131939-min.jpg
IMG_20210131_132046-min.jpg
IMG_20210131_113254-min.jpg

FB_IMG_1619331196957.jpg

February 2021:
On the 1st of February we tanked up at Dharapuram after crossing 38,000kms and reached home by 2:00pm. The total Round trip was 1141kms and this was easily one among the best trips we had ever been to. Loved every bit.
InShot_20210314_181139530-min.jpg

The rest of the month went pretty uneventful for the Nano with couple tank fills and local trips. The Megapixel constantly returning impressive 21kmpl without ac.
March 2021:
My wedding was fixed on 24th of March, so the little star hardly had any work till the end of the month. Just one Tank full on the 31st of March and crossed 39,000kms.

April 2021:
Earlier this month, us two couples decided to go to Valparai. On the 9th of April, we Started To Manjanaickenpatti and stayed for the night. The next morning we started to Valparai via Neykkarapatti. This is a beautiful village where most of the Tamil movies are shot. Here are a few pics.
IMG_20210410_072441-min.jpg

IMG_20210410_072649-min.jpg
Tanked up near Udumalapettai and reached Valparai by 12:30pm. Enjoyed the 40 hairpin curves filled uphill drive. After a nice cool dip in the stream on the top of the Hill range, we visited the famous Balaji temple on top after a sumptuous roadside meal of Maggi and Yippee noodles. The upsized tyres really helped on the Lunar surface-like road to the hill top temple. Even with full load on board, the Nano is so very capable to take on every surface.
Here are a few memories and pics:
IMG_20210410_103031-min.jpg

IMG_20210418_231321_977.jpg
IMG_20210410_112547-min.jpg
IMG_20210410_180926-min.jpg
IMG_20210410_184831-min.jpg
IMG_20210410_184930-min.jpg
The next day we thought we could visit the Athirapally waterfalls in Kerala and drove till the border. However, since we couldn't get our E pass approved we decided to turn back. But yes, the great scenery meant that not taking photos was not an option.
IMG_20210411_102748-min.jpg
IMG_20210411_103730-min.jpg
IMG_20210412_230643_649-min.jpg
IMG_20210411_105248-min.jpg
PicsArt_04-12-11.24.23-min.jpg
IMG_20210412_182951_142.jpg

On the 12th of April, we reached Coimbatore by 2:15pm with 39,975km on the odo.
The total Round trip was 639kms and even for such a hill drive with full load, the Megapixel returned 19.3kmpl!
IMG_20210411_135935-min.jpg
IMG_20210411_152218-min.jpg

Later on the 22nd of April, as it was already one month since the wedding, we went to Tirunelveli. 371kms covered in 6 hours. The little star had already crossed 40,000km by mid-April.
When we started to Nagercoil the next day, faced an issue with poor quality fuel. The car started stalling and stuttering. So we decided to return home instead of proceeding to Nagercoil. However when we went to movie that evening, the issue has solved by itself.
The next day though, came to Nagercoil. Had a dip in a nearby lake and took a few cool pics. The Nano has now covered 40612km.
IMG_20210424_161943-min.jpg
PicsArt_04-24-04.57.14-min.jpg
IMG_20210424_181636_902.jpg

Will be returning to Coimbatore on Monday. Will update on the trip and mileage later.

I am also a part of few Nano owners groups. A very good friend from this group, Mr.Santosh from Pollachi has been visiting sometimes before and after these modifications. His is also a differently modified Nano Gen X. Here are some pics since our friendship.
IMG-20200618-WA0009.jpg
IMG-20200702-WA0041.jpg
IMG_20200613_151027-min.jpg
IMG_20200613_151323-min.jpg
IMG_20210420_162626-min(1).jpg
IMG_20210418_172340-min.jpg
IMG_20210418_180720-min.jpg
IMG_20210418_180621-min.jpg
IMG_20210418_180554-min.jpg
PicsArt_04-25-02.25.09.jpg

June 2020:

In the month of June, the Nano was due for his first paid service after 3 and a half years. Got it done neatly by the second week of June and just as before the service work was satisfactory, if not exceptional. Cost ₹4001 though. During this time I had ordered a rear fog lamp assembly unit for my Nano on boodmo. All GenX Nanos have this empty slot on the rear bumper which would perfectly fit the OEM rear fog lamp offered on the Zest, Nexon, Altroz and even the original Nano LX. It costed me just around ₹500 was a perfect fit in that slot. I asked the Nano Zone guys to make it work in tandem with the brake lights. Till date it works perfectly.

View attachment 282544 View attachment 282545 View attachment 282546

Upgrading wheels:

Since it was becoming impossible to travel to Chennai at that time, I asked my cousin to send me the wheels via parcel service. The wheels were received on 22nd June by paying a transport charge of ₹500. Meanwhile I had enquired about the cheap and best tire brands for 13 inch wheels, shortlisting CEAT and Firestone. Firestone seemed the cheapest at ₹2600 per tire whereas a CEAT would cost ₹2750. After considering the fact that Firestone indeed was owned by Bridgestone and is the OEM tire offered on the Jeep compass, I decided to go ahead with it. However after couple days when I went to get the new wheels fitted, Firestone was out of stock. I had to go ahead with CEAT, with a bargain of ₹2700 per tire.

The larger wheels and 155/65 R13 tires were a perfect fit on the hubs. However I had to remove the front mud flaps as they were rubbing on the tires every time I turned the wheel. Since there were only 4 tires in stock, I had to return a couple days later for the spare tire. Every Nano owner, including the Nano Zone shop owner warned me that the 13” tire wound never fit in the small bonnet of the Nano. However it was an easy cakewalk. The new spare tire was fitted to the new wheel and in no time was inside the bonnet of the Nano. The old tires were almost worn out and were given as exchange for ₹700 only.

View attachment 282548 View attachment 282549 View attachment 282550 View attachment 282551

Fitting these larger wheels drastically improved the feel of the Nano. Here are the observations after a few days running:

• Road noise is non existent
• Ground clearance increased by 15mm approx
• Grip is excellent
• Braking feel improved, although needs slightly more effort.
• Ride quality significantly improved
• Feels confident at higher speeds

On the flip side, there were a few down points:

• Increased body roll
• Front mud flaps can't be fitted
• Fuel economy reduced by approx 0.2kmpl
• Speedo error of -3kmph
Overall, I was happy with the modification and so was my mother. I sold and couriered the stock 12” rims and wheel covers to another Nano owner in Bangalore for ₹3550 including shipping. (The courier service idea was a mistake as the transport charge itself was 70% of the total cost of the wheels) The next thing the Nano needed was good looking wheel covers. However I wasn’t able to find the right design suitable for my future modifications.

I asked the Nano Zone owner to help get the right design. One of the available designs from PRIGAN seemed to impress me. Though it was a plain design, it seemed ideal for the re-design I had in mind. So I started working on a custom design based on the plain one.

View attachment 282552

This was the custom redesign I had rendered.

View attachment 282553 View attachment 282554

Since repainting was not a good idea on the plastic surface as suggested by Mr Faqih, I asked him to do it using stickers. Gloss black and red reflectors were used to create this design and after couple days, on the 1st of July I got them ready my Nano was ready to cruise.

View attachment 282555 View attachment 282556 View attachment 282557

These custom wheel covers cost me ₹1000. Impressive? Let me know.

I also got the Probus mobile holder for ₹650 from Amazon and did some DIY to get that stuck on the steering column panel. It doesn't hamper road visibility and also works like a jugaad version of the Digital cluster navigation screens seen on premium cars.

View attachment 282558
This is without doubt the happiest & most affectionate owner's review of the Nano I have read. Congratulations DJ bro, and I wish you many more years with your beloved Nano!
There was a period when we too seriously considered going in for the Nano, but had to drop the idea since we had two boxers as close family members at the time, and they usually accompanied us on our road trips (Naukuchiatal : Our home away from home, 16th Mar. 2017).

There is something about small rear-engined twin/four-cylinder cars that speaks to the deeps in many of us, taking us down nostalgia lane. The Renault Dauphin, Fiat 600/500 were hugely popular for their times (60s & 70s). We were schoolboys at the time and remember seeing these lovely run-abouts & envying the owners as we cycled to school. And Tata Motors deserve all the kudos for developing & launching the gorgeous Nano. I hope that the Nano (electric version) proves to be a hit too.
Once again I congratulate you for this warm review and wish you many more years of touring on this great car!

This is without doubt the happiest & most affectionate owner's review of the Nano I have read. Congratulations DJ bro, and I wish you many more years with your beloved Nano!
There was a period when we too seriously considered going in for the Nano, but had to drop the idea since we had two boxers as close family members at the time, and they usually accompanied us on our road trips (Naukuchiatal : Our home away from home, 16th Mar. 2017).

There is something about small rear-engined twin/four-cylinder cars that speaks to the deeps in many of us, taking us down nostalgia lane. The Renault Dauphin, Fiat 600/500 were hugely popular for their times (60s & 70s). We were schoolboys at the time and remember seeing these lovely run-abouts & envying the owners as we cycled to school. And Tata Motors deserve all the kudos for developing & launching the gorgeous Nano. I hope that the Nano (electric version) proves to be a hit too.
Once again I congratulate you for this warm review and wish you many more years of touring on this great car!
Thanks a lot. Yes truly the Nano is a gem and a marvel of engineering and I'm looking forward to the millions of happy miles with it.

Firstly, let me congratulate you on your marriage. A big milestone in both of your lives.
And, your updates create more interest in Nano.
I am still toying with idea of buying Nano. Here in Bangalore Dealers have monopolized seconds car trade and they jack up prices including their fat margins and now individual sellers also quoting same price as dealers. You will not believe a 2015 model with 2nd owner 20K run Nano; seller is not willing to go down below 1.6 Lakhs and hence stopped looking at it now. Even other models are also overpriced by 20k than their market rates. Toying with idea of buying from Delhi... have to see how it turns out.

Firstly, let me congratulate you on your marriage. A big milestone in both of your lives.
And, your updates create more interest in Nano.
I am still toying with idea of buying Nano. Here in Bangalore Dealers have monopolized seconds car trade and they jack up prices including their fat margins and now individual sellers also quoting same price as dealers. You will not believe a 2015 model with 2nd owner 20K run Nano; seller is not willing to go down below 1.6 Lakhs and hence stopped looking at it now. Even other models are also overpriced by 20k than their market rates. Toying with idea of buying from Delhi... have to see how it turns out.
The Nano is hard to find with low miles. And the price you quoted is the same as in TN. Trust me, you won't go wrong with the buy regarding reliability and quality. Since it's a 2nd owner vehicle, you can try negotiating to 1.5L.
Thanks for the wishes brother.

It was a good review. I too had a 2011/12 model Nano and i havent got 20plus mileage even in case of sedate driving.
May be the newer models got tuned by tata?

Seeing 24kmpl is a big surprise for me.

It was a good review. I too had a 2011/12 model Nano and i havent got 20plus mileage even in case of sedate driving.
May be the newer models got tuned by tata?

Seeing 24kmpl is a big surprise for me.
The old Nanos easily managed 22kmpl in City without AC. I'm surprised you couldn't get more than 20kmpl! I still get 19-20kmpl in moderate traffic usage inspite of the heavier body and 13"wheels.

Wow what a wonderful onwership thread. Your nano does look very smart and with New Forever design language its look modern as well. Wish you wonderful happy miles with your megapixel.