My Red Highway King: Mahindra XUV500 W8 Ownership Review

Thread Starter #166

Elder brother XUV is welcoming the younger brother NEXON
this is their first meet.
Both have 5 spoke alloys.I find both of them beautiful!!
IMG-20171111-WA0021.jpg

checking all is good??
IMG-20171111-WA0020.jpg

both side by side
IMG-20171111-WA0014.jpg

IMG-20171111-WA0016.jpg

Thread Starter #167

I need to get the A.C problem rectified soon.There is one more problem of wiper washer motor(not the wiper motor,its different).I went to retailer for a new one as it was malfunctioning.On installing the new one still no water jet!!Its either the fuse or a rat bite in the wires.Now I have to make a visit to the dealer,which I was avoiding for so long.Its 22 kms away ,one way.Sigh!
Well, I had to bite the bullet sometime,so I took out time to go to the dealer today.They opened up the fuse box,then the right front bumper.Then they opened up the nuts holding the coolant bottle.Below there they found the wiring for the wiper washer motor had been chewed off by rats. Damn!!It started the jets on joining them back.
Regarding A.C,there was only 112 gms of gas left.I got it filled up to specs,but if there is a leak still,it will go down to its old self non cooling state.Lets see..

Thread Starter #168

This time I was not satisfied with the service,because they went on a wild goose chase dismantling every part they can think of. It was very painful to see my bumper holes/attachments got broken because they pulled out the right side of the bumper outwards,to check the wiring.I oversaw all that took place.It took 4 long and tiring hours to get to the root fault!!There was no need to dismantle the whole goddamn ECU for it!!
At Least now the wiper works.I am happy to see that even the old as well as the new motor was alright.Now I have one spare working washer motor for the future.

Here are some pics from the recent service.
IMG-20171220-WA0031.jpg

IMG-20171220-WA0033.jpg

IMG-20171220-WA0034.jpg

IMG-20171220-WA0035.jpg

IMG-20171220-WA0036.jpg

IMG-20171220-WA0037.jpg

IMG-20171220-WA0038.jpg

IMG-20171220-WA0039.jpg

IMG-20171220-WA0044.jpg

IMG-20171220-WA0045.jpg

IMG-20171220-WA0027.jpg

Thread Starter #169

After 5 years of usage the rear wiper of XUV gave away.The rubber lining just came apart yesterday. I opened up the whole wiper assembly.The spring is so tight that if one is not careful,one might crack the rear windshield by suddenly snapping the wiper against it.But what pissed me off was the realisation,that mahindra does not sell the child parts of wiper assembly separately. This is done by maruti,and can easily be done by Mahindra.I was forced to purchase the whole wiper arm+spring as well the wiper cap,all of which were already with me in perfect working condition.I only needed the wiper length which has the rubber attached with it. It was costing 220 rs in the open market.Instead I paid twice that amount.

the bad wiper
IMG-20180119-WA0006.jpg

after disassembly of the wiper
IMG-20180119-WA0005.jpg

the old and hard rubber
IMG-20180119-WA0007.jpg

wiper nut cap
IMG-20180119-WA0002.jpg

new wiper assembly
IMG-20180119-WA0003.jpg

new wiper assembly
IMG-20180119-WA0004.jpg

old wiper assembly
IMG-20180119-WA0011.jpg

new wiper installed

IMG-20180119-WA0009.jpg

new wiper installed
IMG-20180119-WA0010.jpg

IMG-20180119-WA0008.jpg
that was all.Till next update.Thanks

Thread Starter #172

Somehow my single post on XUV birthday,got fragmented into two!!

IMG-20180122-WA0004.jpg

IMG-20180122-WA0002.jpg

IMG-20180122-WA0003.jpg

Today XUV completed 5 years with us.I am very happy. And contented too. Nobody would believe me,but the truth is XUV costed me less(per km)on running,had less niggles and was less of a headache,when compared to my swift vxi,as well as ritz vxi(when both had crossed 5 years with us).I can't tell about the future but so far XUV needed lesser care and gave more returns(joy and travel comfort) compared to both my erstwhile cars,viz swift and ritz. Both had weaker build too.And swift started rattling quite early.One may say I am comparing apples and oranges.NO, I'm just comparing 3 cars which I had the pleasure to own for close to a decade.

IMG-20180122-WA0003.jpg

Wow. Happy Birthday xuv!
the cheetah is looking fresh as ever. glad to know you've had less issues. keep enjoying & revving!

I believe you are planning to keep her Atleast 7-10 years.

Thread Starter #174

Wow. Happy Birthday xuv!
the cheetah is looking fresh as ever. glad to know you've had less issues. keep enjoying & revving!I believe you are planning to keep her At Least 7-10 years.
Thanks bhvm,for your wishes.
Yes, I do not intend to repeat the mistake I commited(selling of swift and ritz in one stroke,all of a sudden,just because missus said so). Kya karoon yaar,mein Nexon par phisal gaya tha. She said.. if nexon comes get rid of these two..I don't want to slip up now,under any circumstance, and will keep it for as long as possible.

p.s to be honest,my lower back is thanking my wifes decision.It was( in reality),getting more and more difficult to maintain the two.I only realised it when my gallery became sort of empty.I feel more relaxed now.I only have to take care of these two.

Thread Starter #175

pics of my RED HIGHWAY KING today

Its 5 years old and counting.
It's still on original BRAKE PADS,front and back.
Original TYRES.
Original Amaron Battery.

IMG-20180223-WA0030.jpg

IMG-20180223-WA0031.jpg

IMG-20180223-WA0032.jpg

IMG-20180223-WA0033.jpg

IMG-20180223-WA0034.jpg

IMG-20180223-WA0035.jpg

IMG-20180223-WA0036.jpg

IMG-20180223-WA0037.jpg

IMG-20180223-WA0038.jpg

IMG-20180223-WA0039.jpg

IMG-20180223-WA0040.jpg

IMG-20180223-WA0041.jpg

IMG-20180223-WA0042.jpg

IMG-20180223-WA0043.jpg

IMG-20180223-WA0044.jpg

IMG-20180223-WA0045.jpg

IMG-20180223-WA0046.jpg

IMG-20180223-WA0047.jpg

IMG-20180223-WA0050.jpg

IMG-20180223-WA0049.jpg

IMG-20180223-WA0051.jpg

IMG-20180223-WA0052.jpg

IMG-20180223-WA0053.jpg

IMG-20180223-WA0055.jpg

IMG-20180223-WA0056.jpg

IMG-20180223-WA0048.jpg

IMG-20180223-WA0054.jpg

@bhvm.Man I am still in the process of editing my post and working around to resize the pics etc,and your thumbs up has already reached me 5 min ago!!YOu are lightning fast or what !! Thanx.

Beautiful Pics. The car still looks 1 year and not 5 year aged. Even tyres have lot of thread left. What is the ODO?
Original Brake pads huh? Perhaps I should take a tip from you how to drive sedately (Still I won't improve, Ha ha!)

My rear brake pads lasted 65k Kms, highest till date in Entire Nashik SVC. Fronts lasted 20k I think. Tyres lasted 60k.

Thread Starter #179

Decided to check the stepney tyre after many months.It was super dirty and covered with grime.Gave it a nice wash. It's all prim and proper now.

IMG-20180303-WA0000.jpg

IMG-20180303-WA0001.jpg

IMG-20180303-WA0002.jpg

IMG-20180303-WA0003.jpg

IMG-20180303-WA0004.jpg