My Ford EcoSport Titanium Plus [White] [Diesel] [MT] [2018]

Thread Starter #1
I recently bought a new Ford Ecosport Titanium Plus Diesel MT. This is my review. I am not an expert with cars or writing reviews, so please bear with me.

The Need

I live at Kochi/Ernakulam in Kerala. My work requires a lot of travel. I did not have a car before. I did not really drive before either. Most of my travels were with a two wheeler and rest in public transportation. I had calculated my monthly minimum running to be atleast 1500km. My travel would be mostly in Ernakulam, Kottayam and Idukki District with occasional trips to Thrissur, with several areas having bad roads that require a bit of ground clearance.

I needed a car, preferably diesel, with medium to high ground clrearence, good safety and low maintenance cost. I wanted basic stuff like power windows, reverse parking sensors/camera, decent enough music system. I preffered them to be in the car right from the dealer, rather than getting it done outside. From safety point of view, I wanted minimum of 2 Airbags, ABS and EBD.

Features that were not really important for me to reject models were projector headlamps, DRLs, keyless entry etc. As I did not plan to drive very fast and aggressively, having massive power or torque wasn't a big thing either.

My initial budget was something in the 5-6 lakh range.

I plan to use it for 8-10 years if it doesn't give any problems.

The Search

So the first thing was to download apps like carwale and cardekho etc and researching all cars and removing the cars that don't fit my need. Since I give big importance to safety, after seeing lots of crash tests / photos and getting expert opinions, I decided to not pursue Maruti cars. It was a personal decision for me even though I would get everything I wanted at probably lowest cost than the competitors along with resale values etc.

The initial list had the following cars.
  • Tata Tiago.
  • Honda Amaze
  • Ford Freestyle