Maruti Suzuki Swift: Technical Issues & Solutions

Left or right pull caused by caster, front engine cars you can not adjust caster and even camber too. Only toe can be adjusted. Caster can not cause abnormal tyre wear and can not be adjusted, so it can be ignored even found out of limits . All the roads are inclined to 10 to 15 degrees left, new cars suspension is stiff even though road is slant until it becomes soft car will not lean to left once suspension becomes soft your car actually slightly angled as per road slant this leads to left pull.

Two drive shaft are not equal in length once car heavy on ODO inside drive shaft universal joint makes groove in the casing and this causes left pull.

Physical caster damage this can not be adjusted most of the cars except some body on frame SUVs.

You can refer my post on alignment with pictures in my older posts.

Note: Small correction to post 507

As I told you if you car's Toe and camber values are fine then you will not get uneven tyre wear.

Swift 2009 - Steering Assembly Issues - Workshop Suggestions in Bangalore

Hello Everyone,

I am going through an ethical dilemma at the moment. I have a 2009 Swift Vxi, which is my daily drive. I have taken impeccable care of the ride all the way from, ASS maintenance, Synthetic Oil, same fuel quality, etc,.

The swift has touched 70K on the odo now and I was planning on selling/ exchanging the vehicle for a new one. I have been noticing a noise coming from the steering assembly and got it diagnosed at ASS. They are recommending a complete replacement of the steering assembly at a cost of 27K. When the topic of exchange came up, the service adviser proposed an alternative of doing a half baked job of tightening up the assembly to muffle the noise till exchanging it.

I do not intend to cheat a poor soul into buying a car with mechanical problems. So I am looking forward to getting the work done before selling/ exchanging. As the ASS rates are exorbitant, seeking out recommendations of trusted Workshops in Bangalore.

Guys
My car had its alignment yesterday at 21000km, all the parameters were set to normal (Had a slight alignment issue ,as it was pulling slightly to left side ,when steering was in normal position)
After alignment too the problem persisted and it became more prominent .
Tyres were rotated still the pull was concentrated to left side itself.(Normally ,if its the issue with Tyres the direction of pull should change).All combination of rotation was carried out still no change.
Finally concluded it to be linked with mechanical element ,maybe Lower arm or Wheel bearing.
Experts suggest the same .
Will it be serviced under warranty?
A big thanks and love to Mr.Suryaputhra ,who had spend his valuable time in helping me out.
The car after the misaligned diagnosis was taken to my MASS here.The issue was checked there by changing the tyre out of the rims and flipped the inside-out(Not possible in case of tyres like MICHELIN,NANKANG,etc).The issue didn't resolve.
The tie rod ends,lower arm joints,ball joints,stabiliser bushes.boot bushes,everything was checked-All were fine.
Finally concluded to Steering play .
Challenge was as the system is EPS,if some calliberation goes out of hand ,the sensor can konk off,and EPS assembly needs a change.So only a slight mechanical tweak was given in steering to shift the steering position (i think it was tightened,as steering now feels a slight bit heavier ,personally i love steering to be with weight)
As my service advisor knows that i do alignment outside,he insisted me to take it to alignment centre ,and recaliberate the alignment .
The car was taken to alignment centre ,and as expected the alignment configuration had changed ,and now it was set to stock specifications.
Now the car is doing as it should be.(No pulls )

Adding expert comment from Mr.Suryaputhra-
1.Never do alignment ,as it can be more prone to wear than doing good.
2.As mine was with Steering play ,i did this,sometimes it can be with Caster also as Suryaji had told ,so if its so ,no need for doing anything,as it won't do harm and it won't cause uneven wear.
3.Steering play won't cause tyre wear ,as its not the tie rod or other components associated,only thing is you need to constantly keep your hands on wheel(Always [;)])

Faulty airbags: Forum orders car co to replace vehicle
PANAJI: The North Goa Consumer Disputes Redressal Forum has ordered a manufacturer to replace a consumer's Swift ZDI BS IV with a brand new equivalent car and pay Rs 2 lakh as compensation for selling the vehicle with faulty airbag system that didn't inflate during a collision.
https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/goa/faulty-airbags-forum-orders-car-co-to-replace-vehicle/articleshow/60932713.cms

Was not sure where to post this news. I hope this is right place.

My A/c when put into fan speed in 3rd-4th (In automatic climate control version),makes a slighlty higher noise than normal.My friend had adviced to clean the blower.Is the diagnosis right.If so ,can you mention the cost incurred for the same.Also as this is A/c work,is it better to do at outside A/c service centres or ASS?

Firstly scan BCM and ECM with MSIL specialised new scanner if any codes found related air conditioning then do the needful, otherwise do not do anything. Do not fill gas unless fault code detected in scanning.

Cleaning the blower is very easy and it is DIY too. I hope there is a filter so I don't think so there will be much dust on the blower. What exactly is the sound.

The noise is normal sound but very feebly elevated.(inside blower fan noise)
Suryaputhraji, Can you explain why you told to fill the Gas only after checking the Scan .
(I haven't topped up the gas till now,and was thinking to do so too)
Cabin filter is new one (replaced at 20k,now vehicle at 26k)

Try to guide me how to upload 40MB file I will upload Swift 1.4 service manual, 85% same with Swift 1.2, in that you can go through HVAC and how complex it is. Anyway I will explain you shortly.

Re: Swift 2009 - Steering Assembly Issues - Workshop Suggestions in Bangalore

I do not intend to cheat a poor soul into buying a car with mechanical problems. So I am looking forward to getting the work done before selling/ exchanging. As the ASS rates are exorbitant, seeking out recommendations of trusted Workshops in Bangalore.
Unless you sell the car to any known person or keep using it there is no point investing so much. You can try out in Local Workshops for other options.

There was a check up camp recently at service centre here,(Monsoon checkup),so had given the ride and just made them grease the Calliper Pins (I had installed new pins at 23k),now KM was 28K. There was slight play in pins ,as it came off with a pretty single pull.Inserted Copper shims and greased it with Orange Grease(Vegetable oil based ,which proves to be durable for longer time ,with rubber rather than regular ones).Got the A/c Blowers cleaned,cabin filters cleaned,Engine Air filters cleaned.Checked all fluids and checked Suspension setups,Lower arm joints,Tie rod and Tie rod ends,everything was fine (Touchwood).Rear coil spring and arms were lubed.

Costed - 450/- (Fog bulb replaced-30rs, calliper pin labour).I had complained when service feedback was asked,as for Verna i had paid 250-300rs for calliper pin lubing,while for the same job i found this amount quite high.
Next service due at 33k- Recommended to replace Brake Pads,and i will also insist to change Spark Plugs as mileage has dropped by 1-2kmpl.

Update - 28500km

Issue- A/c vents seen with dust particles .

Suspected issue by myself - A/c reconditioning ( There's a sponge like layer beneath the dashboard which gets degraded overtime , and this degrading can cause dust in vents)
A/c cooling slightly reduced , say normally cabin cools completely in 24deg , but now 22 is required

Taken to Indus service centre , TVM ( Where i have my contact)

First level diagnosis - A/c Gas topped up ( Only normal diff in levels)

Charges- Nil

If at all level drops up again , will go for A/c overhaul