Mahindra Scorpio VLX Mist Silver: 1,00,000 Kms & Counting

Re: Mahindra Scorpio VLX Mist Silver - 75,000 Kms and Counting

Hi All its close to an year, I had last updated this thread.

The hawk is doing 76,89x kms currently and in its 7th year.

Major updates to hawk, changed the tyres to Michelins LTX AT2 @ 68,850 kms.
Nice to see an update here, Mukesh. My Scorp to into it's 7th year and is inching close to the big 1 L km.

Btw, my Yoko Geolandars too need a replacement soon, having seen a small little crack on one of them. I am also considering Michelins LTX AT. What was the damage per tyre for you ?

Thread Starter #738

Nice to see an update here, Mukesh. My Scorp to into it's 7th year and is inching close to the big 1 L km.

Btw, my Yoko Geolandars too need a replacement soon, having seen a small little crack on one of them. I am also considering Michelins LTX AT. What was the damage per tyre for you ?
Hi Manoj sorry for the delayed response.

I paid 8200/- tyre for LTX AT2 Michelins. + 950 for alignment and sticker weights.

Other tyre shop was quoting 8650/- per tyre.

Hawk has clocked 77777 kms exactly as of now.

In one word tyres are excellent in what ever conditions they go through.

I love driving them in rainy conditions.

Thread Starter #740

Sacrilege Mukesh Sir, Sacrilege![frustration]

Why Saar ! Why no regular updates! why this injustice!
Hi IR.
Got busy with office work and home.
I have many trips to pen down, a lot of updates on hawk too.
Minor update, removed the carrier from hawk and oh boy it behaves differently now.
I have switched over to synthetic oil and hawk is getting serviced these days in Bosch center. The SA from earlier Chrome Motors working in Mahindra is the manager, who knows in and out of Scorpio and all other vehicles.
Happy with their service.
Major work that would be carried upon is the AC coil cleaning by removing the dashboard. Cleaning near the radiator would be required.
AC still works well, but as a precautionary measure getting them checked.
Engine belts were changed at 60,000 kms on 6th year of ownership.
Recently at 75,000 kms got the brake pads changed with bosch make which was the second change, after the OEM variant was changed at 42,000 kms.

Re: Mahindra Scorpio VLX Mist Silver - 77777 Kms and Counting

got a quote of service estimation from other dealer (SKS AUTO).

For the 20000kms (4th paid service) charges as below
*I. Spares & consumables needs to be replaced*
01) Engine oil 6Ltrs (215*6) Rs 1290.00
02) Oil Filter 1no. Rs 151.00
03) Fuel filter 1no. Rs 1626.00 *Total* *Rs 3067.00

Thread Starter #742

got a quote of service estimation from other dealer (SKS AUTO).

For the 20000kms (4th paid service) charges as below
*I. Spares & consumables needs to be replaced*
01) Engine oil 6Ltrs (215*6) Rs 1290.00
02) Oil Filter 1no. Rs 151.00
03) Fuel filter 1no. Rs 1626.00 *Total* *Rs 3067.00
Hi Ambrose
I am now getting my vehicle serviced at Bosch Service center.
I have switched over to synthetic oil from Bosch. The oil 7 litres costed me around 6850/-

Thread Starter #743

Hey guys my Hawk completed its 80,000 kms in the 7th year.

The latest pic of hawk.

The pics were during Goa trip.

171.JPG

095.JPG

089.JPG

Last Dec switched to Michelins Ltx AT2
IMG_5824.JPG

IMG_5821.JPG

Hi Ambrose
I am now getting my vehicle serviced at Bosch Service center.
I have switched over to synthetic oil from Bosch. The oil 7 litres costed me around 6850/-
Hi Mukesh,

What difference do you feel after switchin to synthetic oil ,even i was thinking of changing to synthetic .Can you please put some light

Thread Starter #745

Hi Mukesh,

What difference do you feel after switchin to synthetic oil ,even i was thinking of changing to synthetic .Can you please put some light
Hi there.
First thing is refinement, better average and pickup difference you can feel on ghat driving. The oil lasts longer up to 15 k kms. The vibration of engine in cold start has reduced considerably.
There are also semi synthetic in the market. But once you stick to full synthetic better to continue with it. The components of engine gets better lubrication. And in colder conditions of weather the engine oil doesn't harden.

Thread Starter #746
Re: Mahindra Scorpio VLX Mist Silver - 80,000 Kms and Counting

8 Years and 90,000 kms Update:

Wanted to post a closing note for year 2016.
Hey guys my Hawk completed 8 years and currently clocking 91,xxx kms.
Missed to post it here during the cars 8th year anniversary in November.

Recently at 90,000 kms the clutch pedal rested on the floor.
Got the entire clutch components replaced at SKS Karzone (Bosch Centre). Costed around 20,566/-
The clutch is smooth as that of a petrol vehicle.
And I have moved to full synthetic oil of transmission and engine oil, so the oil replacement is taking place yearly or 10k kms.
The vehicle is used only for highway drives now.
The engine oil was replaced last November. The running has been less, so going for oil change only by 95k kms.

Also got the battery replaced second time, 2nd replacement after the OEM.
This time went with Amaron battery 65 ah costing 6200/-

Want to clock 2 lacs km.
image.png

Thread Starter #747
Re: Mahindra Scorpio VLX Mist Silver: 97,000 Kms & Counting

Before reading the update.... No, i am not parting away with the vehicle.:tongue:
Intend to do another 1 lac kms on this vehicle.

Update 97000 kms and Counting.

Hey All,
Hawk has clocked, 97,000 kms.
The vehicle is running fine, during the previous service at 93 k kms got all the bushes changed.
Also the check engine lamp was glowing due to the vaccum hose pipe rupturing due to the vehicle ageing.
After a gap of 3 years hawk visited an authorized M&M dealership at Tumkur, as the Check engine started glowing.
Later the Vaccum hose pipes were replaced.
Hopefully will complete 1 lac kms in its 9th year.
Recently drove Hawk to Tirumala.
Things that require immediate attention are the stock brake discs, which are nearing the end of life. Along with the stock front disc, rear drums are being changed as a preventive measure.
The last brake pad (third set) was changed at 80k kms.
AC is still going strong, but marginally the throw of air has been less but cools really well.

8.5 Years and Counting - Michelin's Ltx AT/2 are amazing even after 28k kms.
IMG_2540.JPG

Following the 5k kms tyre rotation.
But no one ready for TPMS re-learning.

IMG_2543.JPG

Currently doing 97,XXX kms. I don't spew any Puff.....
IMG_2544.JPG

Somewhere near Kolar on the way to Tirumala
IMG_3414.JPG

Service Breakup @ Bosch
IMG_2373.JPG

M&M Visit after a gap of 3 Years.
IMG_3478[1].PNG
Wheel Balancing Using Hunter Machine
IMG_1873.JPG

Highway Drives are a Breeze - Hawk Passes through the effortless Fastag Lane
IMG_1346.JPG

Various Pics of Highway Drives
Sporting a Fastag since its Inception in Bangalore
IMG_6977.JPG

During a trip to Mantralayam
IMG_2036.JPG

Returning back from Mangalore drive
IMG_2671.JPG

Returning from Golden Temple - Sripuram
IMG_2708.JPG
Its Terrain:tongue:
IMG_2714.JPG

Do check the ac cabin filters for reduced AC flow.

Thread Starter #749

1 lakh kms:
Finally an important milestone.
Clocked 1,00,000 kms on the ODO.
Vehicle still feels the same way it has been all these years.

It was a nervous 90's for Hawk, had some major repairs done for hawk.

Brake discs, rear drums replaced, rear liners were all replaced.

All the rubber components, hose pipes of turbo intercooler. Coolant hose pipes were replaced irrespective of their conditions.

The engine bay was repainted and rust at few places were removed.
Within a week of these repairs, the AC conked off without any signs. Finally the cooling coil, evaporator and all the components of AC were replaced, after stripping the dashboard for first time in 9 years.
I was lucky enough that compressor was saved.

Totally spent around 65,000/- in a span of 2 months.
My Hawk:
pp.jpg

1lac.jpg

Hmm
That was a lots of expense. But its nice to see the beast is back for more adventure.

So is the scorpio prone to rusting? Can you post pics what was repainted?